We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not bad for an old prison!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Ranked #15 of 1,108 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Kalaheo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not bad for an old prison!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with all aspects of our 3 night stay at the Four Seasons. Our original concern was that this was just another pricey, impersonal, big-city hotel. It may be pricey but it is worth every lira. As mentioned by most other reviewers, the location in the heart of historic Sultanahmet is perfect for the tourist. The building may once have been a prison but it is now somewhere I would gladly take a life sentence! After the hustle and bustle of the bazaars, mosques and museums, the Four Seasons is like an oasis in paradise, especially the central courtyard where we sat in the sun drinking beer and smelling the grape hyacinths. The staff was welcoming, most professional and able to meet all needs, from currency exchange to restaurant bookings to arranging our purchase of the carpet in our bath (best deal of the trip). We were not able to partake of dinner in the restaurant (which we now regret) but the breakfast boufet was excellent. The Friday night Turkish wine tasting with cheese actually took the place of dinner that night (make sure you book in advance). Due to the season, the rooftop terrace was not available but we could tell it would be the place to be later in the year. I just realized this review sounds just like most of the others so I better stop.

Shopping hints: The nearby Arasta Bazaar is worth a visit and is like a mini-Grand Bazaar without the tourist junk and hassle. Jennifer's Haman is the place for linens. Also close by is Iznik Classics for tiles and Mehmet Cetinkaya Gallery for art and a professional, no pressure exposure to carpets.

Room Tip: We had a Double-Deluxe. The seating area is somewhat limited (only one comfortable chair).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KauaiRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,232
    134
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
291
691
60
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

This hotel is a true gem. The welcome by the staff was one of genuine warmth and immediately there was an expression that they would do anything within their powers to make their guests' stay special. The converted prison has a central garden with a stream running down one side, manicured grass and a an enchanting smell of hyacynths. The restaurant is situated in this courtyard and looks out onto the garden. From the roof terrace there are magnifienct views of the Bosphorus, Blue Mosque, Aghia Sophia and of the Topkapi Palace. These sites are therefore only a few minutes walk away but as soon as you return to the hotel from the hustle and bustle of Istanbul there is an immediate atmosphere of peace and tranquility.
The only downside is that the hotel does not have a swimming pool. However after a short conversation with the concierge he had rung the sister Four Seasons Hotel on the Bosphorus and arrangements were made for us to enjoy the pool and spa facilities at that hotel. Indeed we were greeted at this hotel as if we were special guests and of course there was no extra charge. What a special and unforgettable weekend my wife and i had.

Room Tip: Facing the courtyard garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
springfield,ma
Level Contributor
166 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I just returned from a week in Istanbul. First of all, it is a wonderful city, a definite must see. It is clean, the people are friendly, there is so much to see and do. I have never seen so many flowers!!!!

We had the great good fortune of staying at the Four Seasons Sultanahmet. The location can't be beat, but beyond that, the hotel is simply lovely. It is comfortable, well designed, and staffed with caring individuals who see to it that you have a wonderful visit to their little bit of paradise. Many early mornings after breakfast, we would spend time in the courtyard just enjoying its beauty. The fragrant flowers just added to its ambiance. After a long day, we had a galss of wine on the rooftop terrace with the views that are unsurpassed anywhere.

I absolutely love this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmmcq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

A beautiful hotel in a perfect location - close to everything but on a quiet back street. Every detail has been considered and the amazing staff was attentive at all times. I have never felt so taken care of. Beautiful rooms, lovely courtyard where we enjoyed our breakfast each morning - the only thing I could have wished for was hotter water in my shower. The food was okay, not bad, but not exceptional either. The spa on the other hand was an added bonus. They wash your feet with rose water in a beautiful candle lit room! Great massage. This is the way to travel.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms have a lovely view. All rooms were beautiful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherylNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelixMurillo, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear CherylNS,

My name is Felix Murillo, I am the General Manager of the Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.

Thank you very much for your review. The title is very special. I am sorry to hear that the water temperature was not hot enough, thank you very much for telling me so we can review the temperature of all the rooms.

CherylNS please let me know how I may be of assistance at any time.

Yours Cordially,

Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern california
Level Contributor
167 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

The Four Seasons has done something quite unique with their beautiful property in Sultanahmet in the heart of the old city in Istanbul. A small, boutique feel along with the Four Seasons brand of quality and service combine and the result is a property that provides an island of serenity and comfort in the middle of the bustling of one of the great crossroad cities in the world.

The layout is an old prison, but you have to wildly stretch the imagination to conjure up any of that past. Highlights include having a drink on the rooftop terrace, the Bosphorous behind you and the Hagia Sofia right in front of you. You can feel the history and commerce all around you.

The staff is meticulous, and beyond what you can experience at other five star hotels, it almost feels like each of the staff are hosting you in their own place. That feeling is helped by the small size, with less than 70 rooms. The courtyard is a flowered garden to rest and recharge.

I was unfortunately there for a brief work visit of one day/night, but if you want a great location to settle in and explore Istanbul, this is a super spot to base out of for a few days

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard facing room but not on the first floor. That way you can keep a window open and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Socalicouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelixMurillo, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Socalicouple,

My name is Felix Murillo, I am the General Manager of the Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet.

I look forward to your return one day to stay with us a bit longer. Please let me know at any time if I may be of assistance.

On behalf of each and every employee thank you. Thank you very much for taking the time to write about the Hotel but more over about the team. With your permission I would love to share the review with them.

Yours cordially,

Felix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,108 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,874 reviews
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#2 of 1,108 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,108 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#12 of 1,108 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,108 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet

Property: Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Address: Teyfikhane Sok No 1 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#4 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#9 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#12 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,733 - ₹ 27,761
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Prestigia so you can book your Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Hotel Istanbul At Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Istanbul
Istanbul Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing