We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Kurdish Cuisine”

Siirt Seref Buryan Kebap Salonu
Ranked #297 of 15,622 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Fener & Balat
Description: This restaurant specialises in büryan kebab; a Turkish version of the Texas pit barbecue for Lamb (quote from the Guardian +90 212 635 8085)
Reviewed 26 October 2014

I visited this restaurant as it was included in a Culinary Backstreet Tour. Since there was one price for this awesome tour, I did not see a menu, so I do not know the prices of items. But the food was amazing.

We started with the perde pilav, which was rice, shredded chicken, raisins, pine nuts, salt and pepper and a bit of cinnamon. It was wrapped in some thin dough and baked in a very hot oven. The result is that it arrives in this crispy outer shell. When you cut into it, all the goodness tumbles out. It is moist, flavorful, and not greasy at all.

Next, we had the pit roasted lamb. Now I have to confess to not liking lamb at all. But for the sake of learning about new cultures, I tried it. They have an amazing way of preparing the pit, and lowering the lamb down into it, so that the fat runs off. The result is melt in your mouth lamb that falls off the bone. Really good. It is served on some thick bread that soaks up the juices from the lamb.

Lastly for desert we had irmik helva - a toasted semolina desert with ice cream in the center. When it arrives and you break it open, the ice cream pours out. It has a toasted, hazelnut-like flavor, and is drizzled with a bit of chocolate. The perfect ending to a meal.

The service was brisk and efficient. Warning: the men's bathroom is 1 floor up, the women's is 2 flights up. Very clean bathrooms.

It was very interesting to visit this Kurdish neighborhood, and taste their version of foods. Very eye-opening, and something I would never have experienced otherwise. Our tour guide did mention you should get there early, before the good cuts of meat run out. We got there about 1:00pm, and the place was full.

Date of visit: October 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank SBSCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2014

We had trotted off to Edirnekapi to have a look at Chora, to climb the walls and take a leisurely walk through Fener to see the sites. After a couple of hours walking around we came to Siirt Seref in the shadow of the aquaduct and found a little square of heaven in Istanbul.
I'm reviewing this restaurant and giving it 5 out of 5 but the truth is it is in a little square that is FULL of Buryan resaurants, the butchers that bring the famous highland lamb in from Diyarbakir, fruit stalls and chai shops.

MASSIVE TIP: for any of the Buryan restaurants you needto go for lunch, do not faff about, get there before 2pm or all the best meat will be gone. Locals will hate you for stealing their little secret but its truly worth it

Date of visit: September 2014
2  Thank JDougl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014

We were taken here for lunch at the end of our old city culinary tour. Small lamb is cooked over coals in a deep hole in the ground. The cut of lamb seems to be along the back bone so you are served "lamb on the bone" - very tender and tasty. We also had a Perde pilaf, another regional specialty - rice, almonds and currents wrapped in a thin pastry shell.
The lamb is cut into pieces and placed on round flat bread.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank fishnguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014 via mobile

It was a long way away from our hotel and there were few tourists in site on our way there but it was definitely worth the trek. On recommendation from the very welcoming staff we tried the house speciality dishes which were mentioned in the other posts. And we were not disappointed!

1  Thank maxine2791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous meal here with salad, their famous pilaf pastry, kebab and kanfe for dessert for $15 each. The portions were big and the food full of flavor. It's treat sitting next to the aqueduct as well.

2  Thank tkhazem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Siirt Seref Buryan Kebap Salonu also viewed

 

Been to Siirt Seref Buryan Kebap Salonu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing