We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst customer care ever!”
Review of Gumusyan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gumusyan Hotel
Ranked #642 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed 23 May 2015

We'd booked a long weekend (5 women), and we're well seasoned travellers. On arrival at the hotel, around 8pm, we were informed that they had no booking for us. We had booked through a travel agent and had all the paperwork on us, including receipt of payment, but they still said we didn't have a booking. We were informed we could stay for one night as they had spare rooms, but one of us had to sleep in a staff room. Once we got into our rooms, we phoned the agents 24 hour helpline (there was no offer from the hotel staff to do this), and they phoned the hotel. And then, oh yes, they did have a booking for us... The next day we negotiated a free taxi back to the airport for when we departed, and they agreed and shook hands on this. We thought this was as some sort of apology for the hassle (couple of wasted hours), phone calls to the UK, and one of us having to stay the first night in a staff room (in which someone tried to get in in the early hours of the morning). However, when we spoke to them about this, they denied all knowledge. The rudeness, dismissiveness and disorganisation was unbelievable - was this because we are female?? We got the metro back to the airport. If you want a smooth trip, and even the most basic customer care, really don't bother with this hotel!

Room Tip: Very noisy bar, go for the rooms furthest away. Noise goes on until around 2am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kay1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2015

We booked the cheapest - we get the cheapest room but it is ok for city trips.

We had the room directly over the bar, it was not that loud an workdays, on the weekend it was very full and loud but we only know this because we where on the way going out too.... (;

Its something for couples and friends who love to go out on weekends.

Our Bathroom was small but nice. (The tile's are only half of the room so you make the wall wet while you are in the shower, but its normal in turkey)

For breakfast you get a menu and can choose. Normal coffee and orange juice is included. You also can say you want no mushrooms or more vegetables.

The Hotel is reallllllly good located, you have the Istiklal Cd., Metro, the Tünel-Taksim Old Train and the Tünel-Karaköy Train.

We can say it was ok - next time we will pay a little bit more and maybe we will get a room not next to the reception and the office.

Room Tip: good located, city, city near, istiklal, A/C,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Stereoelfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2015 via mobile

Noisy - loud music and people in the bar downstairs make it impossible to sleep and complaining about it dosen't result in anything, bad service, uncomfortable beds, weird breakfast with very limited choices. Only positive thing about the hotel is the decoration and look of the rooms, but unfortunately this becomes an unimportant factor. Don't book here if you want a good nights sleep!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Mo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2015

Cozy, clean, perfect stuff, very nice room, design is lovely. I enjoyed my time there.
The location is 10 meters from Istiklal street))) 5 minutes walk to the metro station. 20 minutes sloooowly - and you are on Taksim)
There is a bar on the first floor of the building and the hotel is on 2-4 floors. its about 15 rooms total. Very comfort, stuff is helpfull.
And you can enjoy complimentary breakfast in the bar in the morning - choose as much as you can eat from the menu.
Im very satisfied with this hotel and keep it in mind for my next Istanbul trip.

Room Tip: ask for the room on a street side - otherwise no view at all)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yulia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2015 via mobile

perfekt! !!!!!!!!!
Great hotel in the best place! !!!
extrem modern ,clean and big room! !! perfekt people, very polite, very helpful! !!!
interesting breakfast until 11:30 in the bar!!!!!
free mini bar. ...
very close to everything. ..metro, tram, tunel...live. .
I loved it! !!!!!


Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Natasa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
#255 of 1,175 in Istanbul
354 reviews
Beyoglu
Sanat Hotel Pera
Sanat Hotel Pera
#377 of 1,175 in Istanbul
45 reviews
Beyoglu
Tulip City Hotel
Tulip City Hotel
#1,000 of 1,175 in Istanbul
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Purl Hotel
The Purl Hotel
#619 of 1,175 in Istanbul
30 reviews
Beyoglu
Elan Hotel
Elan Hotel
#664 of 1,175 in Istanbul
60 reviews
Beyoglu
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
Villa Pera Suite Hotel
#181 of 1,175 in Istanbul
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumusyan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumusyan Hotel

Address: Asmali Mescit Cad. No.9, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #642 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: ₹ 2,915 - ₹ 3,109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gumusyan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GUMUSHIAN Hotel was built in the 19th century by Ohannes Gumushian, a after serving as a family residence for over a century.The GUMUSHIAN has reopened as a magnificent boutique hotel with 15 rooms and restaurant after complete restoration and modernization.The location of the hotel is in the heart of Istanbul,are the center of the cultural,shopping and night life districts of the city.All the GUMUSHIAN’s bedrooms are furnished in beautiful materials and fabrics.All rooms are also spacious and well decorated.Suites contain their own bedroom,lounge and large balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your Gumusyan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing