We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an excellent tour which enables you learn about Jewish Heritage in Istanbul.”

Istanbul Life Jewish Heritage Tours - Senguler Travel
Ranked #121 of 412 Tours in Istanbul
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are doing Jewish Heritage Tours since 2007.and we are ready to help you.We have more than one tour options about Jewish Heritage Tour .Our agency is recommended in TripAdvisor by our clients
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is an excellent tour which enables you learn about Jewish Heritage in Istanbul.”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I was initially hesitant about taking this tour because of the amount of paperwork involved to comply with security measures. This is in fact absolutely necessary and the only way to access the tight security at each synagogue. We were very privileged to attend a morning service at the Ashkenazi synagogue and had our excellent guide Alp to inform us about the history of all three synagogues. We walked a little in the Jewish quarter and then went on to visit a mosque and the spice market. Alp brought his invaluable life experience which really enriched the tour and gave us an experience of local Istanbul life which otherwise we would never have enjoyed.We were impressed enought to book the Bosporous Tour the following day!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    7
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb guided tour to synagogues”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I started asking Hakan about this tour many months ago. I was quite nervous about picking a company through the internet. I should not have been nervous. Hakan answered all my questions and made all the arrangements with the rabbinate. Alp was our guide. He was excellent--extremely knowledgeable. He also took us to the spice market. We used many forms of public transportation which we probably would have been too nervous to do on our own. Alp took us for tea to a local coffee shop as well as lunch.
We also booked with this company for a Bosporus cruise and a visit to the monastery and services of the Whirling Dervishes. I highly recommend all of these trips.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“worth the paperwork”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Alp was a knowledgeable and friendly guide, working through the paperwork and security needed to access several synagogues in Istanbul. We walked and took public transportation, which was just I wanted, getting to see more of the City along the way (and discounting the tour since we had no car or driver needed). Learning more about the Jewish heritage and history in Turkey was easy, since Alp had all the answers to my questions. Although we don't often take organized tours, this one is highly recommended.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauries1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longwood, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day In Istanbul with Senguler Tourism Co.”
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We arrived in Istanbul Monday, September 19Th. We were penny wise and pound foolish. Monday and Tuesday we toured Istanbul on our own and did not accomplish much. We had made arrangements with Senguler Tourism Co and Hakan Hacibekiroglu for Wednesday to do the Jewish Heritage tour and Topkapi Palace in the morning and the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque in the afternoon. Our guide was fantastic. His knowledge of the Jewish history of Turkey was "right on" . He got us in and out of all the sights with out a hitch. He took us for lunch to one of our best meals ever at the Matbah Restaurant in the Ottoman Palace Hotel. The Ottoman Palace Hotel is in the same area as the Hagia Sophia. If you are in Istanbul put the Matbah on top of your list. Our BIG MISTAKE was not using Senguler Tourisim for all of our sight seeing. We had them take us to the airport to catch our flight home.. They were prompt and the charge was more than fair.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Fred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It's an experience I will always treasure.”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

The tour was very special for me and my family. We got a glimpse of a world that may not exist in another generation. Seeing synagogues in use and those open only as historical sites gave a real perspective on Jewish life in Turkey both today and during the last 500 years. Don't miss this opportunity. The guide was excellent and very knowledgeable. They handled everything in a very professional manner.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Istanbul Life Jewish Heritage Tours - Senguler Travel also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul Life Jewish Heritage Tours - Senguler Travel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
75
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing