We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“The most welcoming place in Istanbul” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sultans Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sultans Royal Hotel
Ranked #50 of 1,108 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The most welcoming place in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

My partner an I stayed in the most welcoming hotel in Istanbul. The room was of a reasonable size, very pretty and bathroom was large as well. The hotel is located only a couple of streets away from the Hippodrome and the Blue Mosque hotels in Sultanahmet, so great location. The breakfast room, like many hotels in that area, is in the basement but here they have put sky lights to bring in natural lighting which is great. Cute tables and chairs and a wonderful, vast selection of foods to choose from. Price is very good and we look forward to staying here again. The windows have double pane glass and it was silent, silent, silent. lovely to sleep here.

But the most impressive part of this hotel were the staff, especially the front of house, Ahment. Very helpful and nice, enthusiastic about the hotel and the city... and on our final day in Istanbul (it rained so hard that we were soaked through, mush like drown rats), Ahmet helped out by offering us rooms to change and dry off, provided hot Turkish tea. He even helped out when our taxi arrived to take us back to the airport, helping us with our bags and luggage whilst the rain continued to pour.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smtoomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    195
    21
    1
    2
See reviews for
216
376
83
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This was our first trip to Istanbul. My wife wanted something special for her 60th birthday. After researching on the web we booked here. First of all the staff. Ersin, Ahmet, & Servas were excellent hosts. Any questions we had they more than helped with. Even getting us a can of the cheese they serve at breakfast. The breakfast every morning was simple but delicious. Being vegetarian we were more than accomodated. The room was nice and clean. We then upgraded the 2nd week to the 3rd floor with an outside terrace looking out on the Sea of Mamara. They were very accomodating about upgrading & moving our things. By the end of the week Ersin & Ahmet were like family. Such great hosts. Strongly recommend this hotel. Also, the Sultanamet is centrally located to a lot of historical sites.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

lovely small hotel. wonderful, kind people at the desk, very welcoming. the room was large, very pretty and bathroom was large as well. It is a bit further afield than some of the hotels in Sultanahmet but that shouldn't put you off. The breakfast room, like many hotels in that area, is in the basement but here they have put sky lights to bring in natural lighting which is great. Cute tables and chairs and a wonderful, vast selection of foods to choose from. Price is very good and we look forward to staying here again. The windows have double pane glass and it was silent, silent, silent. lovely to sleep here.

Room Tip: our room was a regular double and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mjwrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen S 2300
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Very friendly staff combined with a decent and interesting breakfast is only part of the charm. Centrally placed and with nice, clean rooms is the rest. Very thin walls and a lack of interesting views are really the only gripes - and they are minor.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed one night between flights to try a new Sultanahmet area hotel. The price was very attractive and so is the property, clean and well run. A very good value; like some other area hotels a discount was offered for up front in cash payment which we did. Location is good, a bit away from main Sultanahmet area towards the Little Aya Sofya mosque but a short walk to the Hippodrome and on to the tramway. Room was a good size as was the bathroom, everything worked. Double glazed windows, quiet. Typically steep sided bath shower entry. Breakfast on a sub level is in an attractive room with skylights, and breakfast options were ample, both hot and cold. Staff was friendly and helpful. Definitely would return. Alas there are no great views, but it is instead a very economic and pleasant choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank traintraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,108 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Sultanahmet
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
Rose Garden Suites Istanbul
#54 of 1,108 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#25 of 1,108 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#32 of 1,108 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#33 of 1,108 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultans Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultans Royal Hotel

Property: Sultans Royal Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafa Pasa Sok.No: 29 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 1,108 Hotels in Istanbul
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,885 - ₹ 6,671
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultans Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sultans Royal Hotel Istanbul is not just another new hotel on Istanbul’s historic peninsular. Situated 5 minutes walking distance to Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, Topkapi Palace Musem, Underground Cistern and other historical, cultural monuments in Sultanahmet. Sultans Royal small but classic, elegant, recently restored 3 story hotel is ideally located for exploring and discovering this enchanting city and the perfect place to relax while planning your next day’s expedition into Istanbul’s colourful and exciting history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HRS, Expedia, Ostrovok and Agoda so you can book your Sultans Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing