We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very affordable cosy and clean hotel in the best neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Portus House Istanbul
Ranked #13 of 1,237 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Without falling into the trap to repeat the many very positive reviews of this hotel, I would just like to mention that Lutfi is a excellent host. The hotel is very centrally located in a very hip neighborhood which lots of bars and restaurants. Despite this, nights are quiet. Rooms are clean with a/c and a simple all day breakfast is served in a small common area. Excellent value for money. Some rooms have bathroom in the room others have a shared bathroom. Those with shared bathrooms have no TV (who needs one anyway?)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thung673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Portus house feels like a cosy little place. They have some rooms that are hostel-like (with shared bathroom etc), however we stayed in the normal room w attached bathroom and our stay was perfect. Room was clean and cosy. They have a little pantry area where they serve breakfast and snacks all day and where you can just hang out.

The hotel is located very centrally. We walked Everyday to the other side of the bridge (Sultan Ahmet area + spice markets) and it's a 20 minutes leisurely walk. The view of the Bosphorus is breathtaking so walking there is highly recommended.

The hotel is also close to other 'fun areas' like the Galata Tower and Taksim.

There's a bunch off really hip and cool restaurants and cafe on the same lane as the Portus House so finding food is not an issue.

The Staff at the Portus house were friendly and helpful. We would like to thank Lutfi for being so accommodating to our needs to for being extremely helpful.

We'd highly recommend Portus House and would definitely come back and they here again.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank veronica a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Superb location with very reasonable prices and excellent, attentive staff. It is a small hotel with high standards, very nicely decorated rooms and immaculately clean. As it has steep stairs and no elevator, like many hotels in Amsterdam, if you have much luggage request a room on the first or second floors. Some rooms have private bathrooms and in some you have to share the bathroom & shower with one other room on the same floor. I chose that option and never had to wait in line. Every morning you are treated to freshly brewed coffee or tea, cornflakes and tasty sandwiches. There is a market acrosss the street and you are welcome to buy eggs, cheese etc.. and make your own breakfast or other meal of the day. An excellent soup vendor, with over a dozen fresh and delicious soups is less than 50 feet away and is open 24/7. All the staff were friendly, cared to make you feel welcome and very efficient. Mr. Lütfi is a delight to meet and made sure my three day stay with my 10 year old son was pleasant. Great area and very close to public transportation and ferries. A wide variety of popular restaurants and hipster clubs in the area and the Modern Art Museum is less that 15 minutes by foot. Highly recommended small hotel that is sure to please and be easy on your wallet. A great find!

Room Tip: No elevator, so choose 1st or 2nd floor if you have much to carry.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindThrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

We felt at our home and the housekeeping lady cleaned our rooms everyday. She was always smiling and seems to love her work. The hotel is located very central and easy to reach all sightseeings and public transport. Around the hotel you will find the local restaurants and bars. Friday and Saturday, get ready for street parties till early mornings. The manager is always available even on whatsapp :)) so don't hesitate to contact to him. He is very professional and really knows how to save your time. Grab your free tea&coffee from the 24hours open kitchen and ask for the best advice. When we back to hotel every night, we felt at our home.

Thanks for all, we will be back soon:-)

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank John_LF15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Each time I visit this hotel I like my stay.
Good service : since my arrival I get all information and help I needed.
location is nice : many pubs and restaurant are around, lively place around hotel.
Excellent place.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gtrotter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Karakoy
Ada Karakoy Hotel
Ada Karakoy Hotel
#94 of 1,159 in Istanbul
207 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#38 of 1,159 in Istanbul
743 reviews
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#43 of 1,159 in Istanbul
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
SuB Karakoy
#39 of 1,159 in Istanbul
577 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Rooms
Karakoy Rooms
#160 of 1,159 in Istanbul
174 reviews
Beyoglu
Bankerhan Hotel
Bankerhan Hotel
#10 of 1,159 in Istanbul
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portus House Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portus House Istanbul

Address: Mumhane Cad. 31 | Karaköy, Istanbul 34340, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Karakoy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,237 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: ₹ 2,016 - ₹ 4,964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Portus House Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in an Art-Nouveau building in Beyoglu, Portus Hotel Istanbul is a unique establishment designed and managed by travellers just like its guests. The main idea is to provide a feeling of comfort and safety. This comfortable hotel features 10 rooms with iPod docks and some flat-screen TVs. Portus Hotel is located in a quiet street by the lively Galata Port, in Istanbul’s prime starting point for tours in all directions by foot, by ship, by metro-tram and by bus. The Karakoy Ferry Terminal and the Galata Bridge are a 2-minute walk away. Free tea and coffee can be enjoyed throughout the day. Guest can also make use of the fully equipped, modern communal kitchen, where usually travelers like to mingle and exchange experiences. There is a supermarket across the hotel as well as plenty of good breakfast houses and restaurants. Decorated with modern art, all air-conditioned rooms offer free Wi-Fi. Some rooms feature a private bathroom with a hairdryer. At the 24-hour front desk, you can find luggage storage and book a shuttle service to Ataturk or Sabiha Gokçen Airport. Private parking is also available. Come and enjoy a fresh, friendly and fun environment, the entry Port for your adventures in Istanbul… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Portus House Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing