We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a friendly, clean and large room for the price”
Review of Basileus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Basileus Hotel
Ranked #23 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We were only in Istanbul for 3 days/nights and stayed mostly in the Old Town area. Right across from this hotel is a former Turkish bath/now ruin, a lovely cafe, and a pretty quiet street. Ten minute walk up a steep road and you are at the Blue Mosque. This was a nice hotel. WARNING, no elevator (lift), so if you can't walk up stairs, don't stay here. The breakfast is served in the basement and it is expansive for a Turkish breakfast. Tried many of their platters, and enjoyed very much the taste. Salim was working most of the time we were there and advised us for directions to where we wished to tour each day. We were visiting during Ramadan and he also was so nice to explain some of what was going on in the city, how and why they fast, and when they break the fast. The room was very quiet, had a view of the Hammam (old Turkish bath), and a really nice size bathroom for European standards. The beds were very comfortable, air conditioning worked like a charm, coffee and tea available all day. This was the best wifi in our room we experienced the entire trip (we had been in Greece).

Room Tip: We were on the third (top) floor and really liked the space, and the view from our corner balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Katherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,822)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

54 - 58 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2017

For budget hotels, I want clean, comfortable, security, value for the money, friendly and helpful staff, and convenient location. Sometimes I have to settle for merely satisfactory on one or more of my criteria, but the Basileus, with brothers Selim and Ekrem managing, actually exceeded my hopes for all categories. My wife and I stayed there for three nights (6-9 May 2017) on our way to south Africa at a rate of $41 per night, including tax and a very fine buffet breakfast, and one night on our return. We were delighted with our stay. The Basileus is not a luxury hotel, but our rooms were a good size and very comfortable. The location is within an easy 5-10 minute walk from the Blue Mosque and the magnificent Hagia Sophia, Topkapi palace, and so much more, and there is a good restaurant right across the street. We bought the Istanbulkart ($6), which provides easy access to the tram, buses, and funicular. Hotel staff were ready to help with maps and directions, and I had them arrange pick up and return to Ataturk Airport.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly for reservations. It's easy to find on Google.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DavidColorado_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2017

Today, in Canada, I received, by registered mail, my money belt containing the full amount of currency it held when I accidentally left it at Basileus a month ago. Here’s what happened.

Our three nights at Basileus Hotel ended well having experienced the staff’s friendliness and the comfort and convenient location of the accommodation. We were charmed by the personal, caring vibe and delighted with the opportunity to speak with other travellers from around the world in an atmosphere that fostered interaction. Breakfast was extraordinary.

At the airport, awaiting a departing flight from Istanbul, I realized my money belt was missing and emailed the hotel asking them to check the room we had occupied. As I waited for the reply, I suppressed any hope that it would be reported found. Realistically, what were the chances? To my relief and delight, the return email indicated yes, the housekeeper had found it. How would they arrange to get it back to me?

So here I am now, sitting in awe with my recovered money belt and exceedingly grateful to the staff and management at Basileus for their inspiring display of integrity and for the kindness and effort they made in ensuring my money was returned to me. It is people such as you that make this world a little brighter.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank LornaAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

This is our fourth stay at Basileus Hotel in Istanbul and this place continues to amaze and impress. It's easily the best hotel in Istanbul and we fell in love with this city in large part because of our experience at Basileus.

Let's start with the location : close to all the major attractions nestled in the Old Town district of Sultanahmet. Most spots like Aya Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Grand Bazaar, Basilica Cistern (not to be missed), and many more are 10-15 minutes max by foot. The Sultanahmet area is charming with plenty of other mosques and sites along the way amid narrow cobblestone streets. Don't miss it.

The breakfast spread : every morning from 7-10 am you can feast on an amazing buffet of traditional Turkish breakfast or Western style. It's incredible that the breakfast is included in the rate. Delicious and attentive service and the coffee is good and hot. Don't miss the eggplant dishes and eggs made-to-order

The staff: Salim and his staff treat you like family. They are so welcoming, kind, and knowledgeable. Every time we visit, they tell us about a new place to try and offer helpful tips and insights on this incredible city. The staff at Basileus is why we keep coming back.

Overall: For the price, you won't find anything better than Basileus. Comfort is the key and they really take care of you and cater to your every need. The rooms are clean and charming and include all those extra amenities: safe-box, blow dryer, soaps and shampoos, mini-bar, LG TVs, etc. In short, all the perks of a great hotel without the heavy price tag. They even take your bags up to the room if all you're carrying is a Jansport backpack. The service is delightful.

If you're planning a trip to Istanbul soon, look no further than Basileus.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Zach H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

We have stayed in a lot of hotels in this area, Some had tiny rooms, others had loud street noise and were close to the call to prayer loudspeakers, others had paper thin walls. This hotel was the opposite- no street noise, a pleasant room (we got a superior room- the upgrade) because we had a lot of luggage. We could not hear our neighbors, the room was clean and attractive, the help and service from the staff was excellent, and the breakfast was great. No complaints, no criticisms. We are very satisfied customers, and the room rate was super. The wifi is strong and fast! Lots of hot water.

Room Tip: Top floor was excellent, but there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank suede31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#29 of 1,173 in Istanbul
857 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,173 in Istanbul
3,158 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#837 of 1,173 in Istanbul
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,173 in Istanbul
803 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,173 in Istanbul
717 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#15 of 1,173 in Istanbul
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basileus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basileus Hotel

Address: Kadirga Liman Cad. Sehit Mehmet Pasa Sok. No:1 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: ₹ 1,716 - ₹ 4,369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Basileus Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Basileus Hotel will be the good choice as it is located footsteps from to Byzatine and Ottoman monuments such as St.Sophia (Ayasofya), Blue Mosque (Sultanahmet Camii), Grand Bazaar, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Basilica Cistern, Turkish & Islamic Museum, Archaelogic Museum , Old Traditional Baths and it is also very closed to Taksim , modern part of the city . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Basileus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing