We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice in real neighborhood”
Review of Topkapi Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Topkapi Apartments
Ranked #60 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great choice in real neighborhood”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is a clean and attractive small apartment hotel with very friendly and helpful management (they have a rug shop called Noah's Ark in the main Sultanahmet area). What we didn't know when we booked it, but consider a real benefit, is that it's slightly out of the main Sultanahmet area (just below the old city walls) in a real neighborhood. So you are not in the most touristy part of Sultanahmet and can avoid the most overpriced, noisy restaurants and bars, instead getting a feel for ordinary life in Istanbul-- yet it's a short walk up the street to the Hippodrome and other attractions. It was a great choice for our family and Yusuf also introduced us to the Tur-ista agency near his shop who did a great job setting up excursions in Cappadocia and elsewhere. It can be a little tough finding apartment-type accommodations for a family (and note that the top floor one doesn't have separate rooms, only separation by a curtain) but this worked out very well for us and our boys enjoyed the rooftop patio and its view.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelGebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    25
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
58
39
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Our daughter booked all this for us as a thank you for something we wont go into. She knows what we like - somewhere close to everything interesting where we can come and go as we please, cook if we want, relax. These appartments could not have been better. Petty much in the shadow of the Blue Mosque and round the corner from the Little Aya Sofia. Clean, nicely furnished, perfect little kitchen, everything worked just as it should and the roof terrace, even on a cold February night, was perfect.....and supermarket just up the road. The people running the place were lovely.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andwe49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2012

hello there,
we stayed in these aprtments last december (2011) and found them excellent. they have been newly reburbished and are quiet and clean. There is a double bedroom and a large sofa bed in the lounge, easily sleeping two people and up to four 9in total). We were warm enough in December and had enough space to unpack all our belongings. the area is quiet, yet within easy walking distance of the Hippodrome etc and there is a Pide shop round the corner. Some of the photos on the net are very out of date, the apartment is much nicer than these would suggest. Jusef is very helpful (he runs the rug and kilim place (Noah's Arc??) and can recommend good restaurants. We went to a fantastic fish restaurant for my birthday. All in all, we had a great trip! Also a fabulous roof terrace in the apartment for breakfast with views of the river!

Room Tip: Both rooms good in our (middle) apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

After touring for over a month by public bus we were relieved to finish part of our trip at the Topkapi Apartments in Istanbul. We had done some considerable research in Australia prior to leaving and all reviews of accommodation we chose based on trip adviser were accurate.

Hamza replied very quickly to emails we sent prior to leaving and the same when we were travelling within Turkey. Communication, as evident in the brochure and contact list adjacent to the free telephone, is a high priority and much appreciated.
All the positive comments and praise for these apartments about the perfect location and comfortable amenities are warranted. It was heavenly returning exhausted after a day's walking or touring to relax in Unit 4 on the top floor.

Having stayed in apartments during the past five years in the U.K., Netherlands, France, Germany, Czech Republic, Italy, Austria, Belgium and Denmark, we loved this place and can't speak highly enough of the warmth and kindness shown by Yusuf and Hamza. We will be returning to Turkey with our grandchildren from Bahrain in a few years and will certainly rebook.

A comment about Noah's Ark Carpet shop run by Hamza, Yusuf and Apo. We purchased three carpets along the way and were pleased with the advice, honesty and assistance we received. The three Sumaks and antique Teke Ensi tent door hanging purchased at Noah's Ark take pride of place in our collection and we are grateful for their guidance. We often called in and had tea with them and spent time admiring the extensive collection, especially of old rugs. If you are interested I can highly recommend magnificent carpets at realistic prices.

Room Tip: Apartment 4 on the top third floor is very quiet and comfortable and access to the rooftop easy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We were seven girls from Barcelona that stayed at Topkapi for six nights in two rooms. We really liked the place, was confortable and clean, we have everything we need and also the manager it was very friendly, he is always available for any question or problem. It's possible to arrive to Aya Sofia and the Hypodrom in a few minutes, also there are restaurants and supermarkets very near. We hire the transport to hotel and they were punctual, also it is very near (like 20 minutes). If we come back to Istanbul surely we will go to Topkapi Apartments.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#272 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#88 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Beyoglu
MySuite Istanbul
MySuite Istanbul
#6 of 1,194 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
No:11 Hotel & Apartments
No:11 Hotel & Apartments
#30 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Suites
Sultanahmet Suites
#35 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ekim Apartments
Ekim Apartments
#95 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topkapi Apartments? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topkapi Apartments

Property: Topkapi Apartments
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Demirci Resit Sok. No:11 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34440, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 1,194 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,875 - ₹ 5,689
Hotel Class:3 star — Topkapi Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family friendly apartment hotel in the heart of Sultanahmet, old Istanbul. Within 15 minutes to most major touristic sites. In a residential neighborhood. 4 units, all with private kitchen and bathrooms. Ocean view from common terrace. Rooms look out to a 5th-century colosseum wall. Additional discounts available for long-term stays. Breakfasts and airport transportation available. Reservations available in Japanese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Topkapi Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topkapi Apartments Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing