We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location, A Staff That's Other-worldly”
Review of Esans Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Esans Hotel
Ranked #31 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Amman
2 reviews
“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location, A Staff That's Other-worldly”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My family and I loved our stay at Esans Hotel; it definitely made our visit to Istanbul memorable. The location of the hotel is fantastic - just a three minute walk to Topkapi Palace and a five minute walk to the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia, as well as the nearest tram stop. Even if the hotel was lacking it's fantastic location, I would still be giving it 5 stars for 1. it's super, super, super helpful staff (especially Engin!!!) 2. its tasteful decor 3. how clean it is!! 4. its delicious morning breakfast, which is buffet-style and which features a bunch of mezze and other dishes and which is really more than a buffet; you're served a glass of fresh-squeezed OJ at breakfast and are also offered an omelet if the egg dish has run low! Really what makes this hotel so special is its staff who go out of their way to help give you directions, book tours and tickets for you, recommend Turkish baths or Bosphorus cruises, etc. This is the best small hotel I've ever stayed at and would not recommend that anyone stay anywhere else during their visit to Istanbul!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    156
    16
    0
    1
See reviews for
162
386
84
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Great location. Situated in the Sultanahmet district which is the heart of historic Old Istanbul. All the major tourist desinations are just a short walk away. We covered all the places mostly walking as the location of hotel was really convenient. It is at a walking distance to one of the quite and peaceful shores of bosphorus sea. Just the next lane to the back side of the hotel is a street full of eating joints. Nice rooms, furnished and decorated in traditional Ottomanian style. Hotel staff is very helpful and courteous. They are ready to help you with every small thing. Because of our hectic travel plans, we slept a bit longer and got late for the breakfast next day. They still waited for us and did not stop the breakfast buffet that they have with the room package.

The only small issue is the noise that comes from the street. The rooms here are not sound proof, so you get a lot of noise from the streets. This also is not a major one, as if you are touring throughout the day and get tired, you are just fast asleep at night. Overall a very nice stay :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for five nights in early March and had a wonderful experience. We decided on the hotel based on previous TripAdvisor reviews and weren't disappointed. The place is quaint and quiet, on a side street a short walk from the main touristy area of Sultanahmet. More than that, it's a 10-minute walk from Aya Sofia and the Blue Mosque - two stunning buildings a short walk away. The terrace is lovely, though it was too chilly to linger too long. You can see the Marmara on one side and Aya Sofia on the other. Topkapi Palace is an even shorter walk away. The tram to get to other parts of the city is a bit longer walk - maybe 15 mins, longer if you're a slower walker. The room was very nice - comfortable, nicely decorated, comfy bed, enough space, and a good view. Free wifi was much appreciated. Breakfast was great - lovely cheeses, breads, and veggies - though it doesn't change much day to day. Most of all, the staff are amazing. Each one is great in their own way, from Maher to Engin and Cinzag. Terrific guys who help you with anything, from ordering an in-room late night kebap to suggesting which Bosphorus cruise to take. Can't recommend them highly enough. Especially since I left my debit card in my room safe and they speedily mailed it to me in a handwritten envelope. Can't wait to return to Istanbul!

Room Tip: We didn't get one, but there are rooms bigger than ours with direct sea views, so you may want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here for a week in February 2012 and really could not fault the place. Lovely well decorated rooms and staff eager and willing to help. It is within a few minutes walk of The blue Mosque, Topkapi palace, Aya Sofia and the tram network. Plenty of restaurants close by but I would recommend the Mosaik a little further away for excellent local cuisine. Free internet available. They organised a two day excursion to Gallipoli and Troy which was an amazing experience. Thanks to all at the hotel for an amazing holiday

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkLeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Esans Hotel is without a doubt the best hotel that I've ever stayed at, especially for the price. The staff here are truly exceptional and go above and beyond to make sure that your stay is a pleasant one. One particularly nice amenity that they offer is free international calls home from the lobby. Whenever we found ourselves in the lobby we were offered tea or coffee and we had great conversations with the staff. On our last night, they even upgraded us to a superior room free of charge just because it was available!

The hotel itself is in an awesome location with relatively big, beautifully-decorated rooms. The street that the hotel is on is quiet and we slept great while we were there. We also really enjoyed the breakfast selection, especially the freshly-squeezed orange juice, cookies, and Turkish tea.

I really can't speak highly enough of our stay at this hotel. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennKopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#24 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#19 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#43 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#21 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Esans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esans Hotel

Property: Esans Hotel
Address: Ishakpasa Cad Yenisarachane Sok. No:4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,814 - ₹ 4,354
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Esans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a 19th-century, wooden mansion, offers Ottoman-style spacious rooms with free Wi-Fi in the Sultanahmet Old City Istanbul District.The location is on silent street under the foot of Topkapi palace and 4 minutes walking to Saint Sophia and Blue mosque. The terrace offers wonderfull Hagia Sophia and Marmara Sea views.Esans Hotel’s air-conditioned rooms are individually decorated, and feature wooden furnishing and rich fabrics. Each room also includes a flat-screen TV, a full-length mirror and a dressing table. Some offer views of the Bosphorus.A Home made open buffet breakfast is served daily in the Esans’s restaurant or on the terrace. Room service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Esans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing