We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Devil's in the Details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda
Ranked #86 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2012

I live in Istanbul, and my boyfriend and I chose to do a staycation at the Hilton Garden Inn Moda this August (mostly to enjoy air conditioning). The positives: great location (5-minute walk from the ferry station and 10-15 minute walk from restaurants and cafes of Moda), and the building is nice and new. Oh, and they give you warm cookies upon arrival. The bar on the ground floor had a nice TV for watching the Olympics and good service. The sea view over Sultanahmet is beautiful.

The negatives greatly outweighed these however. The experience began in a mediocre fashion when we walked up to our room and discovered that it had not been cleaned since the last guests checked out (trash all over the place, hair on the bed, etc.). We had to abandon the room for a while to get it cleaned, during which time we checked out 360 East, the restaurant/bar on top of the hotel. 360 is always an overpriced, overly trendy affair, but my boyfriend's 27 TL cocktail was truly subpar.

That evening we discovered that the hotel has a minimum temperature for the AC which was about 80 degrees farenheit--not cold enough for me to sleep comfortably, and not able to be changed. When touring the hotel, we saw that whole hallways (including that leading to the gym) were pitch black and thus difficult to navigate (giving the hotel a sketchy feel), and that the temperature varied radically in different parts of the hotel. Just outside our room was sweltering. We called down for towels, a wine bottle opener, and a few other things which either never came or required multiple calls to procure. The room service menu looked reasonably priced for breakfast, so I ordered "American style pancakes with real maple syrup"...what came were three tiny, freezing cold pancakes served with nutella and some type of cream. The "French press" coffee my boyfriend ordered was drip coffee which was simply poured into a French press. The hotel still falsely advertises an 'infinity pool' which was actually changed over a year ago to be a regular pool which is pretty small (we decided not to use it because was so crowded with rambunctious kids).

On Sunday, while we were attempting to sleep in, we were assaulted by the sounds of the Saadet Party political rally down at the Kadikoy harbor. We were on the 2nd floor facing the water, and there appeared to be very little insulation from the racket. I imagine this must be a frequent issue as the Kadikoy harbor is a common place for political and other demonstrations, concerts, etc.

Overall I would say that this hotel has the potential to be very good, but that the staff really need to pay better attention to details and particularly improve the quality of food before it can be called a good value.

Room Tip: Stay higher up to avoid the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmanDaAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

764 - 768 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel is located on the Asian side of Istanbul that is not so attractive. To go to the European side you can use the ferry which takes 30 minutes (5 min walking from the hotel) or a taxi (absolutely not recommended during the day).
Good service
Beautiful rooms
Amazing swimming pool on the roof with a breathtaking view of the European side of Istanbul
Nice Spa

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annettte82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I loved the room! The bed is so comfortable, the bathroom has a glass wall on the room side so u can watch TV or admire the view from there. All rooms amenities are there. The AC is silent.
The service is also good. The food at the restaurant is also good.
At the rooftop you have the 360 club, practical for drinks.
The Hotel is located on the Asian side of Istanbul, it's a hassle to cross to the European side with all the traffic, but u can use the ferry, and be there in 15mn.
The Hotel area is not very attractive. But if you are on business in the Asian side, it's the perfect hotel. Not practical for Tourism though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RanaC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Those staying frequently in the Hilton chain would know that the Double Tree brand is perhaps the most inconsistent among their brands - you are not sure of what to expect from a DT as opposed to, say, a Garden Inn.

DT Moda is one of the better DTs I have experienced. Good service, clean and modern rooms and a ferry + tram ride away from the Old Town. I do not knw about the in house restaurants but there are various nice dining options nearby. (Ciya is one of the best among them.) All in all, this is a relatively new establishment and would meet yor expectations from a DT - if you expect top service and old grandeur head to Hilton Istanbul, but be prepared to pay the price.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
3  Thank erteke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Located on the nice part of Asian Side and facing to Old City and Bosphorus. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Great view on sea side rooms, facing to Bosphorus and Old City.
But there is one thing which is pretty strange. There is a night club on the top of the hotel. Until 4 in the morning it goes crazy, no chance to sleep at all. I mean I really wanna congratulate the person who came with this idea. Really strange. Generally hotel is cool, located on nice area but they need to think about that night club thing seriously.

Room Tip: Sea side rooms have great view but do not stay on high floors if you are planning to sleep. Sounds i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maddoginthefog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Kadıköy
Hilton Istanbul Kozyatagi
Hilton Istanbul Kozyatagi
#114 of 1,163 in Istanbul
592 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#106 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
Conrad Istanbul Bosphorus
#62 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,305 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda

Address: Caferaga Mah. Albay Faik Sozdener Cad. No: 31 | Kadikoy, Istanbul 34710, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Kadıköy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#36 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#63 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#71 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: ₹ 5,602 - ₹ 11,203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Istanbul - Moda is a contemporary hotel with a prime coastal location on the Marmara seashore in the cosmopolitan Moda - Kadikoy districts. Explore the Asian side of Istanbul, an area of traditional bazaars, tea gardens, Ottoman architecture, historic churches, and shopping. The modern tower features floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Old City Peninsula. If you are visiting Istanbul for business or vacation, enjoy proximity to the Kadikoy Ferry Docks, with continuous service to Istanbul's European side. Take the underground, just blocks from the hotel, for convenient access to the eastern parts of the Asian side. Experience the first Hilton Worldwide five-star hotel on the Asian side of the Bosphorus. You'll be greeted with our signature warm Chocolate Chip Cookie as you arrive in the sleek lobby. Convenience, elegance and adventure await you. Enjoy views of Bosphorus Strait and Old Town from our guest rooms and suites. Plan an event in one of twelve meeting rooms with views of the Bosphorus. Choose from a variety of dining options, from rooftop dining with Mediterranean specialties at 360 Istanbul East Restaurant Café & Bar to international favorites at The Doubles Restaurant. La Gazetta Café and Bar serves light meals, cocktails and spirits, wine, coffee and tea. Relax with a cocktail or cold drink at the rooftop pool and bar. Experience hammam, 'the traditional Turkish steam bath,' or indulge in a revitalizing treatment at the spa. Highlights • 245 rooms on 10 floors, consisting of 70 guest rooms, 101 deluxe rooms, 36 executive deluxe rooms, 10 corner rooms, 24 junior suites, 3 suites and 1 presidential suite, most of them has spectacular sea views with connecting, non-smoking and accessible rooms. • Free Wifi in rooms and public areas • Easy access to the European side by Marmaray Tube tunnel, walking distance to ferry port • In the heart of the Kadikoy district on the Asian coast of Istanbul • 30 minutes from Istanbul's airports • Near underground station to the Eastern parts of Istanbul • Rooftop pool and sparkling seasonal indoor pool and spa with Turkish hammam • Executive Lounge for executive rooms with complimentary breakfast, light snacks, hors d'oevres and beverages throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Istanbul - Moda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Istanbul - Moda Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing