We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Sultania

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sultania
Ranked #11 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Spring, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming boutique hotel”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Sultania just overnight after a long cruise. We were very pleased . The staff was wonderful and efficient. Bed & linens were extremely comfortable and clean. It had a very unique shower door. We loved it! There are two restarants on the premises. We had lunch in the downstairs one and dinner on the rooftop. Lovely views from the top of hotel. I frankly enjoyed the downstairs restaurant more. It was very friendly. After waiting quite awhile for our steak sandwiches, we found out they had to go buy the meat. The sandwich was delicious. We laughed at this as it reminded us of an old movie. We got some DVDs from the lobby and settled in for the night. The electric went off and we started the movie again, after a little while the electric went off again. We just cracked up laughing and went to sleep. Breakfast was just downstairs and had a great variety of foods. I had rose jelly for the first time and I loved it. Walking outside was a little hard on the uneven cobblestones. There were no cars on our street. That was a pleasure. No stinky exhaust! The decor of the room is just what you see on the website. Very unique indeed. We loved it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie715298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,533
    353
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
554
1,521
156
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Second time in this hotel and sure i will be back third fourth etc
Is a must stay hotel that you must visit
All the people are wonderful and with a big smile!!!!!!
Eylul and Boris are the new friends we make!!!!!!
See you again

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prodromos-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The Hotel Sultania is a terrific hotel. Upmarket but not ridicuously priced and the staff without exception cannot do enough for you.

Their courtesy was apparent as we walked through the door ready to spend the last two nights of our big Turkey trip. It was also my 50th birthday during our stay and Eylui and all the restaurant staff were very helptul to my husband in organising some treats for me. The room was exquisite with lots of little Turkish detail and courtesy Turkish Delight! My husbabd took advantage of the Health & Wellbeing Centre and was delighted with his massage from Mustafah - perfect after 100s of miles driving around Turkey! The breakfast buffet includes everything you could want from traditional Turkish to European continental - you can even order your own bespoke omelette!

In practical terms the location is perfect too. In the middle of some good restaurants but more importantly 5 minutes from the Topkapi Palace and 10 minutes from the Aya Sofia & Blue Mosque. We also walked over the bridge to the Galata Tower and Taksim Sq which only took us 30 minutes.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for its facilities, decoration and hospitality. Thank you Sultania - a birthday never to forget!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori_83_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Can't praise this hotel highly enough, we were made to feel so welcome from the moment we stepped through the doors. Our room was stunning and very clean. All of the staff without exception were friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for all the tourist attractions.We ate a couple of times in the Cafe Bistro the service was excellent and good value for money, on our last night we went to the Olive Restaurant on the roof top which was throughly enjoyable with lovely views. Would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of going to Istanbul. Hopefully we will return one day.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HampshireKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This hotel deserves all the praise it gets from previous reviews. From the moment of arrival and an invitation to sit down at the desk for registration, accompanied by a delicious Turkish coffee, to the felicitous farewell and staff pulling our suitcases up the road to the taxi - this place has to be experienced to be believed. The staff are superb, never failing to respond to a request for help or information. The room was spacious and had all the creature comforts - including a fascinating TV/DVD screen in the main mirror! The bathroom was big and everything worked. The breakfast was a paradise of choice. The location was ideal for walking to all the main historical sites of Istanbul, near to public transport and restaurants and shops. It is difficult to think of any negative reactions. We were there from 25 - 29 February 2012 and would not hesitate to go there again.

Room Tip: It did not worry us being near the lift but it might bother a lighter sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#3 of 1,156 in Istanbul
3,005 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,156 in Istanbul
3,358 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#5 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,981 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#19 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,091 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#30 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sultania? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sultania

Property: Hotel Sultania
Address: Ebusuud Cad. Mehmet Murat Sok. No:4 | Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,051 - ₹ 23,295
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Sultania 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sultania is a deluxe boutique hotel with a harem design and located at the heart of the old city and within walking distance to Saint Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sultania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing