We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to an amazing honeymoon...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Ranked #7 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
the potteries
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect end to an amazing honeymoon...”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We arrived in Istanbul following ten nights honeymooning on the stunning mediteranean coast of Turkey...we wanted to end our special holiday in style, and the Amira Hotel was exactly that! After several days spent trawling the internet for the perfect hotel in the historic district of Sultanhamet, we stumbled across the fantastic tripadvisor reviews of the Amira. The reviews could not have been more accurate! We booked directly with the hotel and from the first email we received from Spencer, the service was impeccable. Our transfer, arranged by the hotel, was effortless, and we were met by the beautiful Tina, who welcomed us with refreshments and a guide to the best places to visit and how best to do this within our 3 day stay. We ate at a local recommended restaurant that evening, which was fantastic. Authentic, Ottoman cuisne and extremely good value with views of the Haghia Sofia. What more could we ask for....
We were upgraded to a suite, for our honeymoon stay, and once we entered the room we were greeted by a chocolate and strawberry fondue with a 'happy honeymoon' note for us. The rooms are elegant, spacious, spotlessly clean with robes, slippers and a well-stocked mini-bar - at reasonable prices. Even though we were on the second floor, overlooking the busy street below, once the windows are closed it's a beautiful haven of peace and quiet. In the day, we loved to open the windows wide, and watch the hustle and bustle below. The location is second to none for exploring the old centre of Istanbul; literally 5 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, Hippodrome and Haghia Sofia. The 'call for prayer' is just a dream to listen to from here. Easy access to trams, but we even found Istanbul easily accesible by foot.
The service at this hotel is second to none; all of the team without exception, were superb. Friendly, genuinely pleased to help, and eager to ensure you enjoy your holiday. Both my husband and I commented that hotels in the UK could learn much from the team at the Amira. One evening, we chose to stay at the hotel for the evening. We ordered a bottle of red and were fetched a complimentary cheese and fruit board...which we enjoyed on the roof terrace, overlooking the spectacular views of the Blue Mosque, Bosphorous and Little Haghia Sofia. It is such a romantic spot. The staff were so lovely, we cannot say enough positive things about them. They are professional, without being 'stuffy', and how they create the ambience at the Amira, is quite oustanding! Both I and my husband are well travelled, but this hotel is a little gem in a spectacular city.
If you want a relaxing, beautiful, special, memorable holiday with a hint of style, then the Amira in Istanbul fits the bill perfectly. We cannot thank the team enough for helping us to end our honeymoon on a high! Istanbul...Turkey...Amira...we will be back!!!
Many kindest regards,
Karen & Mark Adams

Room Tip: Higher located rooms probably offer better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank oneday12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,637
    295
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
455
1,598
190
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Loved the hotel, room was great, staff could'nt be more helpful. Great location so many attractions within walking distance. Loved Istanbul what a vibrant city. Hope to visit again and would certainly stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a luxuary room, worth the extra,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We booked this hotel as my friend found this one on TripAdvisor when we were planning the trip. It sure was worth coming. Already when we booked, we got the confirmation and a PDF telling about the sightseeing - a perfect and slightly addictive trick. I looked at the tips and was waiting for the vacation really much, probably never as excited as this time as I already had a nice hotel to wait for.
When we got to the hotel, the guy opened the door and was taking our bags from the taxi trunk before we even had gotten out of the car. The inregistering was nice and right after that we were invited to hear som details. We got very good tips on what to do and what to avoid in Istanbul. Also a number to our own lady, which we could call 24/7. After the tips/instructions session, we were taken to the roof where we got drinks and advie to sit and rest for a while. After we were finished with our drinks, we went back downstairs to receprion desk, where we got escorted to our rooms and where the luggage had already been carried.
The room was beautiful, eventhough we didn't have the nicest view (it was towards inside of the building). The breakfast was nice as well. And every morning they had ona A5 telling about the weather, things to do and some Turkish frase to be learned.
There's always a tea moment in the afternoon, where they offer coffee/tea and some snacks + always a nice local treat.

The service level of this hotel is the best I have never ever seen anywhere. The attitude is positive and everything will be arranged. i centainly will come here again if I travel to Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Arrived in Istanbul after a long overnight bus journey from Permakulle (south of Istanbul); was exhausted and in dire need of a hot shower and comfy bed. Had emailed the hotel earlier in the week asking if I could check-in early - was told they would try, but did not guarantee early check-in (fair enough).

I arrived at about 10am or so - and, guess what, the room was ready. And what a great room and even better shower (love the two shower heads). Most of all I was quite impressed by the professionalism and service provided by all the staff members I encountered - polite, courteous, professional, and efficient.

The hotel also provides a complimentary breakfast - again, a most excellent breakfast with a wide variety of choices - enough to satisfy the most hungry guest. I had two helpings and several cups of coffee (awesome). Most definitly will stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psintrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We had a genuinely special experience staying at the Hotel Amira. The amount of care and attention to detail that the owner and management has invested is evident at every level. For starters, it is a beautiful hotel decorated in a fresh, modern neo-Baroque style that feels luxurious without being stuffy or generic. I'm a stickler for details, and very much appreciated all the special Turkish touches - from the pretty Istanbul skyline light fixtures, to the historic prints in the cafe/tea room, to the tea glasses and wonderful breakfast and tea time spread. Overall, the historic and cultural context of Sultanahmed and Ottoman Istanbul in which Hotel Amira is situated is infused tastefully and meaningfully without being heavy-handed or gimmicky, which is an admirable feat.

Okay....the daily newsletter is cute, the roof terrace is wow and I could easily down a plateful of simits and chocolate sandwiches -- but as other reviewers have pointed out, the people who work here are what really set Hotel Amira apart. Sim, Tina and the rest of the team were professional yet remarkably and genuinely warm, thoughtful and generous with their time. They seemed to be hand-picked for their sincere desire to impart a true customer service "experience" to everyone who stays at Hotel Amira, and I'm lucky to have been among them.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaK8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,141 in Istanbul
3,279 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#6 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,950 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#18 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#22 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#4 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,963 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,141 in Istanbul
2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amira Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amira Istanbul

Property: Hotel Amira Istanbul
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Mustafapasa Sok. No 43, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,044 - ₹ 9,171
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Amira Istanbul 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Amira Istanbul is a boutique hotel located at the heart of the centuries old empires' capital. Some remarkable neighbors of the Hotel Amira Istanbul are the great Hagia Sophia, the magnificent Blue Mosque, the mystic Basilica Cistern, the imperial Topkapi Palace and the colorful Grand Bazaar. Amira Hotel offers you spaciously designed 32 rooms in Sultanahmet area, featuring very comfortable visco mattresses, local touches like ottoman style hand-made ceiling paintings and high-tech amenities such as mobile wireless internet modem that you can use also outside the property while discovering Istanbul . Along with its world famous cordial guest services, Amira Hotel offers a rich , complimentary buffet breakfast and a tasty 5 O'clock tea treats, free Wi-Fi access, a business corner with featuring an iMac, in house ATM machine, a wellness center that includes a gym, jacuzzi, sauna and massage services. Also our concierge would be more than happy to assist you in every aspect of your stay, whether business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Amira Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing