We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best thing we did in Istanbul!”
Review of Suleymaniye Hamami

Suleymaniye Hamami
Ranked #4 of 133 Spas & Wellness in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Suleymaniye Hamam is a traditional Turkish bath that continues to operate today. The building, commissioned by Sultan Suleyman and designed by the Turkish architect Mimar Sinan, was built in 1557. It features dramatic archways and domes and is decorated with elaborate marble inlay. It is the only hamam in Istanbul where men and women bathe together. 40 Euro per person.The entire hamam experience will last between 60-90 minutes.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best thing we did in Istanbul!”
Reviewed 8 March 2017

My fiance and I were traveling for 4 weeks though Eastern Europe and we started our journey in Istanbul. Our first day, we talked to other travelers at our hostel about what they had done so far, and they recommended we go to a Hammam. It costs more than other attractions (we were on a seriously tight budget) but we decided to splurge a little bit and go! We are SO happy we did - what a blast! It was just so different than other massages/treatments and experiences - truly unique. The staff was great and made us feel very comfortable, and provided us with the apparel we needed. I wish I could do this every day!!! SO worth the price. Go!!!

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Sarahellend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    346
    76
    42
    64
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great for couples”
Reviewed 27 November 2016

On the advice from someone on the Istanbul forums we booked ahead online to go to this hamam and I'm so glad we did. From start to finish everything was easy from the booking online before we'd even travelled out to Turkey to the end where they had brushes, combs and hairdryers to dry your hair with. I do though think there should always be someone around who speaks English as we were trying to ask a few people if they had any kind of moisturiser we could use afterwards but no one understand what we meant but other than that a memorable experience and very good value for money.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank peacemakerukuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Unsure about the whole Hamam experience, we opted to try the Suleymaniye Hamam as it is the only one that offers appointments for mixed couples - all others are single sex at different times. we were made very welcome and given a comprehensive briefing plus towels and slippers prior to going into the heat room. We were fully relaxed by the time our masseurs came in to provide the rub-down and massage and were suitably impressed by their professionalism and skill. Post-massage, we drank tea while we cooled down and recovered. we will certainly go back again.

Visited September 2016
Helpful?
Thank ANSGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must Experience”
Reviewed 20 October 2016

So the actual experience of the Hamam is amazing, if you haven't had one before then definitely do it if you have then this one wont disappoint. The building is incredible and the Hamam itself is all original and very impressive.

My girlfriend and I left feeling very clean and rejuvenated.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“An expreience I am glad we did not miss”
Reviewed 18 September 2016

During our visit in March 2016 we visited the bath as it was recommended and organized by our hotel and we are glad we did. We did not know exactly what to expect but had a fabulous time. The staff were very friendly and went through the procedure when we first arrived. They told our taxi driver where he could wait and contacted him when we were finished so he was waiting at the door when we walked out.
It was hilarious watching my husband and his size 13 feet (AUS sizing) trying to walk in the wooden shoes provided that were not really larger enough.
We would do it all again if we ever get the chance to visit Istanbul again and would again visit this historic venue. It was surreal sitting there thinking about the Hamam's history.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank Bronwyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suleymaniye Hamami also viewed

 

Been to Suleymaniye Hamami? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing