We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkish bath for couples”
Review of Suleymaniye Hamami

Suleymaniye Hamami
Ranked #4 of 133 Spas & Wellness in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Suleymaniye Hamam is a traditional Turkish bath that continues to operate today. The building, commissioned by Sultan Suleyman and designed by the Turkish architect Mimar Sinan, was built in 1557. It features dramatic archways and domes and is decorated with elaborate marble inlay. It is the only hamam in Istanbul where men and women bathe together. 40 Euro per person.The entire hamam experience will last between 60-90 minutes.
High Point, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Turkish bath for couples”
Reviewed 9 July 2016

To the best of my knowledge, this is the only Turkish bath that allows couples. It is the only bath I visited, so my opinion is based on limited experience. It is a beautiful, historic Hamam which added to our experience. We had been warned that some of the old hamam's were in disrepair but Suleymaniye was in good shape. The staff was very nice. We went first thing in the morning and were the only people there (tourism is way down in 2016). Suleymaniye Hamam was much cheaper than many others - particularly in the historic area. We would recommend this Hamam.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank brokerdt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    346
    76
    42
    64
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A nice experience, but nothing to write home about.”
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We were recommended this hammam by our hotel concierge as they did couples hammam. Most hammams in Istanbul have set times for men and women. We arrived and were given very clear instructions on how the hammam process worked. A locker is given and you wear the key on your wrist throughout the massage/scrubbing. The room is very hot where you are left to sweat, we had to leave the room a couple of times as it got so hot! The scrubbing/massage part was quite tame to what I've had before, but the male masseuse was very professional. The 'massaging' part was too fast and more of rough rub than anything. You can stay in the hot room after your treatment and then you're taken back to your locker/change room. It was a nice experience and fine for a couple which is what we wanted, but I probably wouldn't recommend or come back to this particular hammam again.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Loodyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“relax and enjoy”
Reviewed 1 July 2016

wow what a stunning atmosphere absolutely peaceful and relaxing...loved the culture.. have recommended this to all my friends! xx

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank 123sareena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An amazing experience for couples, worthy of a sultan, plus NO forced tipping”
Reviewed 22 June 2016

My greatest concern was tipping. Coming from a non tipping culture, I was concerned about the long line of people expecting a tip at the end of the bath but not here.
At the end of the bath, if you wish to put some money in the tip box, it is up to you. (I was happy to).
I have to warn you that it is hot, seriously hot. We sweated for approx 30 mins on the hot table. There are taps everywhere and if you let them run long enough, cold water will come out. The scrub and massage were good, lengthy and certainly not painful. After we got out, they could have charged us a fortune for the cold freshly squeezed orange juice but it was a reasonably 6 TL.
It was an amazing and unforgettable experience.
PS It is after the bath that you feel amazing.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Desiree H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 7 June 2016

My boyfriend and I chose the Suleymaniye Hamam because they are mixed (i.e. we could go together). The building is magnificent, like the mosque beside it, and it so great to think that sultans came here to bath...
The experience starts by an explanation of what to expect, then 20ish minutes in the hamam followed by a peeling and a soap massage. The masseurs are all men. The foam massage is such a weird but enjoyable experience! To finish, we rinsed ourselves, got dried and enjoyed a Turkish tea in the rest area. Definitely would do it again, and highly recommend it!

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank Camille M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suleymaniye Hamami also viewed

 

Been to Suleymaniye Hamami? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing