We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal and personable...”
Review of Osmanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Osmanhan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Personal and personable...”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My mother and I stayed mid-March for a few days. I wondered how such a small affordable hotel could have such a high ranking. Aside from the great location and breakfast buffet, this hotel is small and personable and extremely clean. The staff, Fatih and Vefa in particular were very friendly and most helpful, their recommendations were right on. Other reviewers have better described the details. But I would like to add that during our stay there was a break in main water pipe (due to street construction near the Palace) that left the entire area without water for a few hours,mid-morning. The owner offered a free 'bath' at a nearby hotel hammam to compensate for this. Also they kindly held our luggage between check out and our departure. Additionally, we were on the the second floor and had no problem with noise at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AnnGeewanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    883
    114
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
174
503
116
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We recently stayed at Osmanhan Hotel. It is a great hotel. First, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Second, the location is great, as you are right in Sultanahmet but aren't paying exorbitant prices. Third, the breakfast was very nice -- real Turkish breakfast with fresh simit (round bread with sesame) and delicious jams (such as rose, for example, which is very authentic). I recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GiannisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington dc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The week we spent at this hotel was terrific. It was calm, the people were friendly. The second they picked us up from the airport on our experience was great. Mr. Fatih, who works with the hotel, was incredibly nice and polite. My wife and I felt like we knew him for years. The room was cozy and elegant. The view was amazing, looking over the sea. Everything was spectacularly clean and the food was superb. We loved the Turkish style gourmet breakfast! The two people who serve breakfast on the terrace are amazing. You won't forget them.

If I ever have the privilege of visiting Istanbul again, I'd never hesitate to stay here again.

- Ziad and Najua from Washington DC

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ziad e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We booked this hotel for a 4 day trip to Istanbul on the recommendation of friends and it fully lived up to their recommendation and to the reviews on TA. Communication was excellent from before we arrived with prompt and helpful replies to e-mails. Fatih was very helpful throughout our stay as well. This is a small but definitely not cramped hotel. The room and ensuite shower room were both of a good size, but don't expect the acres of space in the chain hotels. This is an entirely different experience and the building is typical of those in the old town (Sultanamet area) The photos on the hotel website give an accurate flavour of the rooms and the standard of fittings is very good - comfortable bed, excellent shower, double-glazed windows.
The breakfast served on the roof terrace was a generous buffet with local cheeses, olives and homemade fried pastries as well as the usual muesli, fruit etc. When they found out that I was vegetarian, Hamid asked his wife to make pastries for me with only cheese and leek, leaving out the usual salami. There are views from the roof terrace of the tops of the minarets of the Blue Mosque, in one direction, and over the Sea of Marmara in the other. Everyone was helpful and friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Unless you have problems with stairs, it is good to be higher up as the streets nearby can be a litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SJ49-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronxville
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

My family loved the Osmanhan. The location in Sultanhmet can't be beat. The roof terrace has a lovely view out to the Sea of Marmara. The staff is friendly, helpful and proud of providing a high level if hospitality. I loved some of the homemade items they served at breakfast that were delicious and which the staff took obvious delight in my delight. In terms of value, the Osmanhan is easily a five-star. Potential guests should know that the hotel does not have an elevator (which the staff pointed out to me even before I'd booked the reservation). I only saw our room (41) - it was nicely furnished, impeccably clean, not large, but adequate. It was very quiet for sleeping. I don't know if there were mosques close by, but we never heard the early call to prayer which we heard in other places we stayed in Turkey. If you want super modern or ultra-luxe, the Osmanhan is not for you, but if you are looking for a wonderful local feel with all the pluses I've described, the Osmanhan is great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,156 in Istanbul
3,003 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,156 in Istanbul
3,355 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,739 reviews
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#4 of 1,156 in Istanbul
2,980 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
Dersaadet Hotel Istanbul
#9 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Osmanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Osmanhan Hotel

Property: Osmanhan Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. Cetinkaya Sok. No:1 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,466 - ₹ 7,460
Hotel Class:3 star — Osmanhan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Osmanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing