We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
566 results
Traveller rating
318
167
49
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
167
49
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location private bathroom air con no lift a great place to stay breakfast was included grand bazaar dorm olives tram
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 566 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2016 via mobile

The great location. ..I can easily go out to any place it's in the center of istanbul. ..secondly the staff is amazing specially MR ENES he's witty and friendly. ...I am gona visit sultan everytime I come to istanbul. ....peace ✌

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Noor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sultanhostel, Genel Müdür at Sultan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your kind review for the hostel. We hope to see you again one other time as our guest in the hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Loved staying here over Anzac Week, such a great bunch of people and staff. The staff were helpful and the rooms clean. Bathrooms and toilets a plenty and clean also. Cheap transfers to the airport were available and the pub downstairs is a great place to hang out, drinking or not! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Monique B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sultanhostel, Genel Müdür at Sultan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your kind review for the hostel. We hope to see you again one other time as our guest in the hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

Rooms perfect for what we needed and excellent value.
Front desk always helpful, arrange cheap airport transfers too.
Bar and restaurant have a good atmosphere and great food and drinks. Always busy and not just with guests here. Noise from the bar didn't travel up to the rooms so we could sleep fine.
Best thing about the place was the friendly wonderful staff! Always happy to see us and gave the best service, special mentions to Nahsum and Ercan who looked after us a lot!
Thanks for an awesome holiday, we'll be back next year!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Shadi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sultanhostel, Genel Müdür at Sultan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your kind review for the hostel. We wish to see you in the hostel as you promised next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2016

The private room was super comfortable and clean. I kept my valuables in the lockers since they are under surveillance 24/7. The location was within ten minutes walking distance to historical sites (Hajia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, etc.) as well as train/bus stations. However road to the hostel is confusing; I got lost many times. It didn't help much that the neighboring store owners harass tourists to lure them into their business.
On the other hand, the staff at Sultan Hostel is really friendly. They were instrumental in my cultural immersion of a place foreign to me. Talk with Mustafa at the front desk for his advice on local attractions and directions. He is especially helpful with recovering from jet lag. He educated me about local customs and cuisine. Consult with Faruk for a guided tour of Istanbul since he is knowledgable about the history of this great city. Shoutout to the guy who danced with everyone during the loud German dance party, and the other two who talked with me during breakfast. My only advice would be to hire more female staff to help more women feel comfortable with staying here. Cheers!

Room Tip: private rooms are comfortable and clean. well worth the price.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank itsosimpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sultanhostel, Genel Müdür at Sultan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your kind review for the hostel. We hope to see you again one other time as our guest in the hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

Really nice hostel, actually the best one in Istanbul. Staff is very helpfully especially Enes and the location is exceptional even if the weather is not good you can stay at the bar because is very nice. Totally recommended for who wanna go to Estambul

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Diego1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sultanhostel, Genel Müdür at Sultan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2016

Thank you so much for sharing your valuable thoughts about the hostel. Hope to see you once again in hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews