We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More bar than Hostel”
Review of Sultan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultan Hostel
Ranked #12 of 1,241 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Thıs place is great for location, staff are really cool and helpful, its clean and tidy but we felt it lacked a few things to be a really good hostel, there was no kitchen facilities and the common area was the bar so you couldn't drink your own alcohol, and the bar prices weren't the cheapest. The beds were so loud, any movement made on the top bunk squeaked so much.There are good shower and toilet facilities and it is a really good place to meet people, overall an ok hostel

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dazzer113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 290 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2012

I have just arrived home from the my trip in Turkey and I have to say the Sultan is the best hostel I have stayed in after many travelling trips. It has everything you need, it's affordable, clean and the staff are so friendly and helpful. The bar is so much fun, I met loads of travellers and had great nights drinking beer towers and smoking sheesha. I couldnt recommend it more. This is the place to be whilst staying in Turkey.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JtWaites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I stayed at Sultan Hostel for about a week back in January. For the location you absolutely cannot beat the price (we paid 9 USD) and it is definitely good value for the money; fairly clean, all the travel amenities you might need, a pretty good included Turkish style breakfast, and friendly enough staff.

We stayed our first night in a private room and the remainder of our stay in a 26 person dorm (but were upgraded to a 6 person dorm at the same rate because it was the low season apparently) and both were fine for the price. I almost preferred the dorm to the private room because there was a bit more space but overall everything was more than pleasant. I can see there being maybe a slight issue with bathroom availability in the busier months (from what I could make out there was only one on my floor) but that is only speculation since it was fine while I was there. The common areas were great as well- nice lounge area on the bottom floor with hookah and drinks, and the roof area looked like it would be amazing during the summer (I was there during the blizzard so didn't get to enjoy this, unfortunately!).

By all accounts it was a great value but my favorite part was the location. It is literally just a few blocks from the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia, the Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace, and the tram line. Fairly easy walk to the waterfront as well.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellaSicilia13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Very much what you would hope and expect from a hostel this type and price range. Everything is perfectly fine but nothing extra really. The staff are all super nice, the beds are good and the facilities are ok. Since the room (twin room) was pretty small and had pretty much no where to hang anything, luggage and clothing storage was rather difficult. Another inconvenience was how there was plenty of door slamming going on, and considering several different travel parties used the rooms during our stay, I'd say the doors probably invite slamming (maybe hard to close?). Either way, we mentioned this once to the reception when some German teenagers were combining slamming with loud shouting in German, and they were immediately delt with by the staff, so all in all not a problem.

If you are looking for hotel standards, this is obviously not for you, but Sultan is pretty much a perfect hostel by our standards. :)

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnscott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Fairly good price place to stay if you want to stay in a 20 or 26 bed dorm. Was there just before Anzac day and it was definitely the most happening backpackers!! Awesome crowd (Kiwis and Aussies) and friendly staff. Was €10 on hostelbookers but sign says €11 when arrived here for the big dorms.
Drinks are fairly priced for 500ml Efes (local beer) 6 or 7 liras. Really depends on who serves you how much you pay which sucks.
Overall a good experience and I came back to stay here after my trip around Turkey so must be ok!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomCho88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#502 of 1,160 in Istanbul
124 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#764 of 1,160 in Istanbul
621 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antique Hostel - Guest House
Antique Hostel - Guest House
#20 of 1,241 in Istanbul
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#9 of 1,241 in Istanbul
508 reviews
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#2 of 1,241 in Istanbul
758 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#3 of 1,241 in Istanbul
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Hostel

Address: Akbiyik Cad No 17, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,241 Speciality Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: ₹ 770 - ₹ 2,311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sultan Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be smart, stay smart! Our mission is to provide comfortable, stylish, convenient and affordable accommodation in Istanbul at a price that can't be beat. Our location is designed with the backpacker in mind. From our 24-hour reception to security lockers , we have everything you need to enjoy your stay and feel comfortable. SULTAN HOSTEL IS THE ONLY HOSTEL WHERE YOU CAN WATCH RUGBY GAMES LIVE ON BIG SCREEN TV AND ALSO ENGLISH PREMIER LEAGUE IN ENGLISH Our hostel is also regularly health and safety checked by the local governments. If you have not satisfied with your stay for any reasons, we take your comments and suggestions seriously. We encourage you to speak to your dedicated and highly-trained staff to help us improve our hostels. We will work our hardest to make it a pleasant stay, whether one night or a month! As part of the Youth Hostel Association and the International Youth Hostel Federation. We are right in the heart of a young, international area full of shops, cafes, restaurants and bars, this YHA property buzzes with action. We are the perfect stop on your backpacker trail of Istanbul. Our rooms are with or without Bathroom and Breakfast Included. Our hostel is centrally located in Sultanahmet and is just a few minutes walk from all the major attractions. On our big screen TV.You can watch the latest movies and watch all sports activitivies including, Rugby, Premier League, Tennis, golf. Some of our facilities are; Reasonable prices, Clean comfortable rooms, 24 hour piping hot water, No curfew, Friendly, helpful English speaking staff, Great food, Relaxed Bar, Lockers for your valuables. Free internet access, wireless internet, home tether, free towels, breakfast included, travel agency, sea view terrace in summerThe Sultan Hostel is a short walk to all the main sights including, the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Underground Cistern, the Grand Bazaar and Topkapi Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Sultan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing