We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst nights of my life...”
Review of Meddusa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meddusa Hotel
Ranked #502 of 1,147 Hotels in Istanbul
Lima, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One of the worst nights of my life...”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

It was like something out of a film. Luckily we only had to spend a night there after a mix up with booking our original hotel (The Modern Sultan, much, much better)

The room is a joke, measures about 2 meters by 3 metres, with dilapidated furniture and a general grubby appearance. And the bathroom? It was so small I could sit on the toilet, brush my teeth in the sink and have a shower ALL AT THE SAME TIME!!

It was very noisy, with a main street right outside the building, so plenty of traffic. We could clearly hear people stomping around the hotel until the early ours of the morning. And the lift? Enough room for one person, and no door to the cubicle, so you're seeing bare stone pass 2 inches from your nose.

On the plus side, the terrace was nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    71
    32
    14
    13
See reviews for
35
89
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

it was a good location and easy access to all attractions and walking distance from old city of istanbul & easy access also to the local tram.

Room was nice and clean and the staff were very friendly and generous,.. they spoke english which was really helpful and a relief.. after a bad experience @ the airport.

I would like to recommend this hotel to budget travellers especially after the new management took over as I was informed by Mr. Eser Akkoc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My family and I just got back from Istanbul. It's a beautiful city.. we had so much fun.
The hotel was in a great location, amazing view to the city and it was so easy to go anywhere from there.

People are so friendly and they offered the best service.
Also it came to my attention that the staff were communicating in English with westerns, which made us comfortable to ask for any assistance.

I highly recommend tourists to book in Meddusa Hotel. you wont regret it :)

Special thanks to Mr. Eser Akkoc and his new management team who have been a great help to us.

We will definitely go again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manama
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

From where to begin, first of all as soon as we arrived the hotel staff were very welcoming to me and my family and I had a long trip with my kids, they took care of everything in just 15 min I was in my room....

As room it was nice and bright clean and smelling good. But for us the most important thing for me was the location which it was close to all the attraction places in Istanbul only walking distance from every where actually ..

The thing I knew that they have new management that they r doing there bet to decrease all the issues that they have before and I see it working I guess , all of them speaks English and very friendly specially Mr. Esser akkoc he was really nice

Bottom line its worth the money and for these reasons location location and location :-). Plus the friendly new management that they have now . I highly recommend it for all the travellers

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Demmo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We spent one night at this hotel and fled. We arrived on a late flight into Istanbul and arrived at the hotel after midnight and extremely tired. The staff was friendly but the room was hell. Instead of a window, we for nd a large steel firedoor behind a curtain. The toilet wasn't bolted down to the floor, so the seal didn't hold and dirty water would run out onto the bath room floor whenever we flushed. The drain in the all-in-one shower didn't work well so the water level would quickly rise over the half centimeter door sill and flow into the bedroom. Had we not been so tired,we would have checked out immediately, but hung on for a night. As soon as the sun rose I ran to the Erboy hotel and secured a new room there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlaroche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Spinel Hotel
Spinel Hotel
#570 of 1,147 in Istanbul
50 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nomade Hotel
Nomade Hotel
#426 of 1,147 in Istanbul
249 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#475 of 1,147 in Istanbul
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Gulhane Corner Hotel
Gulhane Corner Hotel
#541 of 1,147 in Istanbul
127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#361 of 1,147 in Istanbul
206 reviews
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#513 of 1,147 in Istanbul
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meddusa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meddusa Hotel

Property: Meddusa Hotel
Address: Alemdar Mh. Nuru Osmaniye Cad. No: 5 | Cagaloglu, Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Region: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,709 - ₹ 2,973
Hotel Class:2 star — Meddusa Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Istanbul's historic district of Sultanahmet, a 5-minute walk from the Hagia Sophia and Grand Bazaar, this budget hotel features a terrace restaurant with panoramic views of Istanbul.Meddusa Hotel offers a range of warmly decorated rooms, all with free Wi-Fi, air conditioning and satellite TV. Each room has a private bathroom with hairdryer.Guests of Meddusa Hotel can enjoy their breakfast, lunch and dinner at the rooftop terrace and admire the skyline views of old Istanbul and the Bosphorus. There is a small bar for drinks and reception is open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Meddusa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meddusa Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing