We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location nice view”
Review of The Ocean Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ocean Colombo
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

I enjoyed the room the wide window looking to the ocean especially at the early morning , where the fishers small boats struggling the waves , and the groups of white birds flying , against the rail way , in a fascinating memorable view.
The restaurant was below average, although the staff were so friendly.
There is spa in the 3 rd floor, but unlucky, the girl was off when I wanted to attend.
The roof had a wonderful look to the surrounding city and ocean

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank s0adh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren J, General Manager at The Ocean Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Soadh,

Thank you for taking time to comment on TripAdviser. We are so delighted you have enjoyed your stay with our services and stunning view.

Thank you for commending our team which is always the success of The Ocean while noting your feedback for improvement is highly appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you and family once again to The Ocean Colombo Hotel Home away from Home.

Kind Regards,
Warren Jesudhason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017

I went back to The Ocean after more than a year and found the hotel in its absolute tip top shape as before. I was very glad to meet the staff again, and they all remembered me and were so friendly, helpful and really kind. Dulsie, at the breakfast was lovely and so professional, Susira from the laundry would climb the 6 stairs running to deliver the laundry in a second, the front desk and travel desk were helpful with directions. rickshaws, cell phone questions etc. The food is excellent (i am french...) and the Chef, Mr. De Alwis even stayed after hours to serve me a wonderful birthday dinner with complimentary birthday cake {and candle) on the roof top and accompany me through my birthday as I was travelling alone and the staff (I guess front desk or great manager), noticed it was my birthday. I also received a wonderful refreshing fruit plate on that day. The cleaning crew was excellent and attentive to my needs and kept the room spotless. I prefer the 6th floor as opposed to the 9th where I stayed before because on the 6th, as you turn around you feel even more like you really are IN the Ocean or your room is IN the water or may be you are on the deck of a boat. There is a train running from time to time in front of the hotel but the windows are absolutely soundproof, so you dont hear it at all. I must say my stay was wonderful and I thank everyone for the relief and rest I got in their care.

Room Tip: I like 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Fabienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren J, General Manager at The Ocean Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking time to write a wonderful comment yet again on TripAdviser about your recent stay at The Ocean Colombo.

We are so delighted we were able to once again not only exceed your expectations but also celebrate your special day with the Ocean family together. It was a great having you once again with us as our valued and honored guest as always. Thank you for all the names highlighted and all recommendations.

We look forward to welcome you once again to The Ocean family Home away from Home.

Kind Regards,
Warren Jesudhason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

We had our Annual Reunion 2017 on the 15th october. We were finding for many halls in colombo which provides for mini parties like for about 25-30guests, there werent any and ocean had that facility to serve mini party. Would like to thank the friendly and polite staffs Dulsie and Hansani who were very friendly and helpfull and the FB Manager Mr. Indika Wickramasingha who made all the arrangements for us in organising the event successfully. Would recommend this place to all my family and friends abroad and in lanka for quality and friendly banquet services.... The organizing team was highly satisfied after the event and the guests too and tge food was liked by all.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Afrah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren J, General Manager at The Ocean Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Dear Afrah,

Thank you for taking time to comment on TripAdviser. We are so delighted you and your team enjoyed your reunion at The Ocean Colombo.

We thank you for choosing The Ocean Colombo to host your event and look forward to serve many events of yours in the future.

I will surely share this comment with Indika and his team while thanking you once again for choosing The Ocean Colombo Hotel Home away from Home.

Kind Regards,
Warren Jesudhason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

The hotel is small and first impression was that it was a budget hotel - however the rooms were a good size, extremely clean and comfortable, and hotel staff were amazing - friendly, personable, and really came to seem like family. Things e.g. iron, extra toiletries, generally arrived within 2 minutes of telephoning. Hotel is a short tuk tuk ride away from the big hotels, and most tourist areas. Nice roof terrace for drinks at night.
Downsides - limited choice of breakfast; no dinner in hotel (but Ozo Colombo which has a nice restaurant is a couple of minutes away, and only a short tuk tuk or taxi ride to other hotels and restaurants); no pool; no air conditioning in the corridor (this one really needs to be sorted out).
Overall however, a very pleasant stay for a reasonable price, made memorable by the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors and sea view, I think there are also a few rooms which are much larger and double aspe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jomodder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren J, General Manager at The Ocean Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Jomodder,

Thank you for taking time to comment on TripAdviser. We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay and the services provided by our team.

I will surely share this comment with my team while thanking your for the constructive highlights and comments for improvement. We always value these type of comments.

Look forward to welcome you and family once again to The Ocean Colombo Hotel Home away from Home.

Kind Regards,
Warren Jesudhason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

My birthday was planned on rooftop lounge.and i really enjoyed that special day with my friends and family. And they have got friendly staff and good service. My special thanks for Mr.Janaka and Mr.Indika for arrangements on my special day..

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Tifani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren J, General Manager at The Ocean Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Tifani,

Thank you for taking time to comment on TripAdviser. We are so delighted you have enjoyed your special day with us and thank you for choosing The Ocean Colombo Hotel to Host the same.

I will surely share this comment with Indika & Janaka and the rest of the team.

We look forward to welcome you and family and all once again to The Ocean Colombo Hotel Home away from Home.

Kind Regards,
Warren Jesudhason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.3 km away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 55 in Colombo
1,507 reviews
1.4 km away
Colombo Court Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#30 of 55 in Colombo
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 55 in Colombo
2,022 reviews
2.3 km away
Best Western Elyon Colombo
1.6 km away
Mandarina Colombo
Mandarina Colombo
#16 of 55 in Colombo
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Colombo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Colombo

Address: No 40 Melbourne Avenue on Marine Drive, Colombo 00400, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: ₹ 2,051 - ₹ 7,947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ocean Colombo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Colombo is located facing the vast expanse of the Indian Ocean with 43 stylishly designed guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Ocean Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing