We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In line with expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In line with expectations”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel for just a nigtht. The hotel is very well located, very near the waterfront and close to Fort. The hotel has all the amenities you could expect in a 5 star hotel: Nice and clean rooms, a very inviting swimming pool, good bars and restaruants, etc. We didn't find it inexpensive, but it was probably worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo, even though it was just for a night.

It was a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your short stay and found our location ideally situated near the waterfront and close to Fort. We are also happy you found our amenities in line with your expectations.

Whilst thanking you for your feedback, we look forward to the pleasure of having you at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo in the near future, to savor our culinary expertise and experience more of our Cinnamon hospitality.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,777
    1,235
    325
    125
    90
See reviews for
733
931
209
1,017
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (757)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

we stayed in a superior room, clean and spacious, the concierges were very helpful when we were on our third day with no cases! Food good especially meal delivered to room. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Be careful of being approached by people in the street who say they work at the hotel and recognise you. They will show you round the area take you to shops where they get commission on what you spend then demand money at the end usually about £20.
But overall lovely hotel in busy location

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maureenc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

It is greatly satisfying for us to learn that our hotel has met with your expectations in service, facilities, comfort, etc., and we sincerely thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. Your words of praise are truly an encouragement, and we will certainly strive to provide the best possible experience to all our valued guests. Thank you also for the special mention of our Concierge service, which we will be pleased to share with them.

Whilst thanking you for recommending us, we look forward to indulge you with more of our Cinnamon hospitality when you visit us once again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We just came back from 4 night holiday in cinnamon grand hotel colombo. This is our third time in this 5 star hotel which has full of buzz and life. There are 8 restaurants of all kinds of food Iin addition 5 min across the street there are German and Italian restaurants.

- The staff at the hotel especially the receptionist and the door bell boys are exceptional
- the rooms are good size and have very comfortable beds
- the rates are reasonal we paid $180 inclusive all taxes and breakfast for two for a deluxe room
- Internet is chargeable at $10 per day i unless u take executive club room then it is free
- room amenities are of highest standard and u should try cinnamon soap, fantastic
- hotel is next to a small mall and a supermarket to buy few snacks or medicine at the pharmacy
- there is angsana spa just 5 min from the hotel which closes at 9pm
- the swimming pool is great surrounded by trees and a good size gym
- the hotel is box shaped with middle foyer being used (almost daily) for wedding reception - a good experience to see different customs and beautiful Sri lankan women dressed in their faboulous dresses

The only thing is that the hotel staff will always want to convince you to use hotel taxi which is 3 times expensive compare to good metered taxi. They will give you all sort of excuses like it is difficult to get taxi or it will take long time, this is all not true. Just call any cab companies e.g kangaroo at 011 2588588 and they will confirm by text message details of car, driver name and his mobile and will be there immediately.

Cinnamon grand Colombo is my favorite hotel and will stay here again next trip

Room Tip: Higher floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwamtoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo and for your descriptive and appreciative review on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us for the third time and thank you for the kind sentiments expressed regarding our facilities and service, restaurants and food. The team and I appreciate your very encouraging feedback and your special mention of our reception and concierge staff will certainly be conveyed to them.

We look forward to your 4th visit with much pleasure, to indulge you with more of our facilities, services and cinnamon hospitality

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Nice location near to the beach. The room is well organised and things you expect are all in good working order. There are many outlets for food with good selection for you to ponder over. The room service is very prompt although they should update the menu which has remained the same for some time now. Will definitely use them again if I come back in future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for your stay at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo, and for your complimentary review.

It is heartening to learn you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you were pleased with our facilities, location and service. We are glad you were able to experience several of our dinning options and enjoyed the cuisine at each restaurant.

Whilst thanking you for your patronage, we look forward to welcoming you back to indulge you with more of our cinnamon hospitality, when you visit us again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore, cochin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is where you get the best Indian food in Colombo. Have some exotic dishes like crab to your taste. If you need, ask for the Chef and give your preference. He's cook to your taste buds. Fabulous service and food bliss.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyHighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cinnamon-Grand, General Manager at Cinnamon Grand Colombo, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for staying at the Cinnamon Grand Colombo.

Your words of praise on TripAdvisor, on our Indian Food at Chutneys in particular, are truly an encouragement to us.

It is our endeavour to provide the best possible experience to all our guests and hope we will have the privilege of having you stay with us again to savour more of our culinary expertise.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.2 km away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.4 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.0 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 54 in Colombo
1,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,168 reviews
1.6 km away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#12 of 54 in Colombo
2,046 reviews
1.7 km away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#16 of 54 in Colombo
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Grand Colombo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Grand Colombo

Property: Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Address: 77 Galle Road, Colombo, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#3 Family Hotel in Colombo
#3 Business Hotel in Colombo
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,792 - ₹ 12,129
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Grand Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 35 kilometers from the Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA), luxurious Cinnamon Grand Colombo is located in the heart of Colombo City’s business, shopping and entertainment center. Elegantly designed, spacious rooms at the Cinnamon Grand offer a wide range of in-room amenities, king size beds, and a pillow menu to ensure your comfort and pleasure. All rooms feature carefully attended-to bathrooms and toiletries, large flat screen TVs, a mini bar, and WiFi access. The hotel’s 14 restaurants provide an electric mix of international cuisines, including award-winning Sri Lankan seafood at the Lagoon Restaurant & Garden, and the best of European fine dining at the London Grill. To wind down, guests can patronize Cinnamon Grand’s poolside ‘Breeze Bar’ or typical British pub style ‘Cheers Pub,’ and enjoy a wide range of cocktails, beer and fresh juices. There are two gymnasiums, a spa retreat, a tennis court and two pools. Cinnamon Grand is also located right next to Colombo’s high end shopping mall, Crescat Boulevard. Cinnamon Grand Colombo is fully accessible and is an environmentally friendly property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Grand Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Grand Colombo Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Grand Hotel Colombo
Cinnamon Hotel Colombo
Colombo Cinnamon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing