We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
63
61
26
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
63
61
26
8
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Only bed sheet to cover mattress. Shower was Luke warm at best. Facilities were clean and tidy. Well kept. Receive a page of things to do in the area on arrival as well which helps. The kicker here is the rooftop kitchen area where you can make yourself food/drink and socialise with other guests. Was a great atmosphere and really relaxing to spend time up there.

Date of stay: January 2017
1  Thank bernardmE8880DA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

We arrived in the middle of the night, there was only a boy in the "reception" who didn't speak English. He had problems to find our booking. After awhile he went to get his father, I presume. He find the booking, but it was registered on wrong name. The room was okey, it had a fan and worked for a couple of days. However it was not so clean and the toilet was loose.
The first impression was not so great, but after some days the overall impression was okey. The manager was friendly and helpful and he could speak English. They have a nice rooftop where you can make your own food.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 594theresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Probably one of the best hostels I have stayed in in a while. Friendly staff. Great social area and good location. Wifi is good as well. Just what you need from a hostel. Very close to beach and supermarket. Going back, can't wait. And have to give a shoutout to Michael.

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ricardo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

This hostel, at least from the room next to the reception, has the best WiFi I've used in Sri Lanka. Not 100% reliable as it would stop working sometimes, but really fast!

Colombo Beach Hostel is nicely located. Less than 5min away (walking) from the beach, 5 min away from the main road and 15min away from the Mount Lavinia Train station.
Toilet and shower are in separate rooms. Water is a bit cold but it is really hot in the area.
Lockers are big, even they don't seem that secure..
No pre-installed net was a huge downside as the mosquitoes were quite intense.
Roof area and kitchen is nice and cozy.
I would definitely recommend

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Dani V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the hostel. Michael was so lovely and really looked after us while we were there. The private room we had was great and the rooftop chillout space is tops (with kitchen, couches and hammocks)!

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nadia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews