We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Centrally-located-flat-with-all-the-accommodations”
other travellers have booked this property
Sitting Area within the fully air conditioned Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting Area within the fully air conditioned Bedroom
Cozy double bed, with reading lamp, opening up to Dining Area Corner table with stationary and list of items provided for the guests
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Sitting Area within the fully air conditioned Bedroom
Cozy double bed, with reading lamp, opening up to Dining Area
Corner table with stationary and list of items provided for the guests
A-Z Colombo Street Guide, 'Guest Essentials' Booklet (containing useful websites, telephone numbers,
Directions to restaurants, shopping malls, coffee shops and other places of interest, within 10min w
View of Bedroom
Bookshelf by the bed, with short reads and music provided
Bookshelf by the bed, with short reads and music provided
Comprehensive collection of books, by  variety of authors
Dining and Living Area
Essentials provided on arrival
View of Dining Area, with Refrigerator and Hot & Cold Water Dispenser
Cable TV, DVD Player and multiple electric charging ports
Toilet with basic toiletries, and separate shower-room with hot water
View of toilet, with disable-friendly fixtures
Wi-Fi Connectivity (512kbps) coverage across the apartment
View of fully equipped Kitchen
View of Kitchen, with fully automatic Washing Machine
View of fully equipped Kitchen
View of Kitchen, with special accessories
Two bicycles - one ladies' and one gents' - provided free of charge, upon request
'Total Gym' workout equipment provided free of charge
Entrance to the apartment, at the dead end of its lane
View of Gregory's Road (aka R.G Senanayake Mawatha). The flat is located at a lane off this roa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Colombo, Western Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sherpa695...
1 review
“Centrally-located-flat-with-all-the-accommodations”
Reviewed 4 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

This is hands down the best place to stay in all of Colombo! Beautiful neighborhood with easy access to restaurants, shops, banks/ATM. The flat is outfitted with everything you could possibly need for a home away from home--full kitchen, washer/dryer, full bath, AC/ceiling fans, walk-in shower, TV with cable, mosquito net for the bed, Wifi, drinking water. The owner Gamini K. is wonderful! Whatever he can do to make your stay more comfortable and interesting, he will do. Any problems with the flat were immediately addressed. If I ever travel to Colombo again, there's no where else I would stay! I was here for 2 months and had the most wonderful time!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2017
It was a pleasure to host Crystal who was very appreciative of that we could offer.

gamini
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Araliya13
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tranquillity, it was!”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My son of 10 and I stayed at Gamini's Self Catering Tranquillity for 5 days; then my Husband joined us and three of us stayed for further 3 days. Gamini, from the beginning had been so helpful and kind and he is one of the kindest and most helpful and most generous Hosts we have ever met!
Since everyone was concerned about Dengue mosquitoes in Sri Lanka at the time we travelled there, I was overly protective over my son regarding mossie bites but I did not see a single mossie at Gamini's place. Yes we saw 2 (or maybe it was the same one we saw twice!) cockroaches who have lost their way but we chased them away- (believe me, I am one of those who REALLY do not like cockroaches AND I managed to chase them off:-))
We had clean towels, and clean sheets and the AC and WiFi was brilliant! Gamini has basically filled the fridge with the usual essentials for few days when we arrived and also provided us with dry rations with fruits (Gamini even asked me what we would prefer in advance!!) for few days which we could not finish during our stay! In addition to all that he has generously provided us, he also shared his Chocolate Cookies and Almond Cookies!! (oh Yes! He is a brilliant Baker!) We were also treated with some fruits from his garden which we brought back with us when we returned to Kandy.
We may have heard the Dog bark just few times and kids sing and talk few times but that was never a problem for us, basically Gamini's place is very quiet and no traffic sound from the road even though it is only a few minutes walk from a main road.
Most of the places are within walking distance and we even managed to walk up to Colpetty one day. There is a lovely place that sells traditional Sri Lankan food (we bought breakfast from them) which is just in front of the lane that leads to Gamini's place.
Gamini's place is also quite secured and very residential and you have your own entrance which gives you privacy. Gamini is just next door and if you have a problem (which we never had!) you can always give him a shout and he will be there for you.Gamini kept in touch with us via emails and had been extremely helpful in every way he can.
We will definitely stay at Gamini's place again and recommend it to anyone who wants to stay in Colombo, it is such a lovely place for the money you pay!
We wish Gamini all the best and hope to see him again soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northofth...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location was great for us”
Reviewed 15 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Right from the day I booked this apartment Gamini was very helpful sending details of events in and around Colombo, a map of the immediate area and directions to the apartment for the taxi dropping us from the airport. Our flight arrived early in the morning and we arrived at the apartment around 6am, Gamini was there to meet us and show us around, he also provided us with milk, breakfast cereal, butter, cheese, eggs, fruit and veg from his garden to keep us going until we found our way around. He was always just a text away if we needed any help and during our stay continued to give us information about local events.

The apartment itself is comfortable, spacious and well equipped with everything you will need to make your stay here enjoyable. The bedroom is the largest area it has huge glass doors which lead out to the family garden, Gamini did offer to let us sit out there but advised to let him know first so he could put the dogs inside. The kitchen area is fairly long and narrow it has been recently painted Gamini told us he started the work himself after the person he hired didn't turn up on the day, I'm sure once he finishes the painting it will brighten the area up as we felt this was fairly dark.

As previous reviewers have said this is an annex to a much larger home with an extended family including small children and as such it can be noisy, personally the children didn't disturb our holiday in any way, we are early risers so were awake normally before they were and therefore we didn't lose any sleep with the noise. The dogs barked if they saw us I am more frightened of dogs then my partner so although the barking worried me it didn't bother him.

All in all we enjoyed our stay here and would definitely return there next time we visit Sri Lanka.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location very central for travelling in Colombo
Liked least: Kitchen could have been brighter
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroundthe...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fantastic Host, but misnamed “Tranquility””
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015
7
people found this review helpful

How you feel about this apartment will depend on what is important to you and your tolerance for the noise of an extended family.

Gamini, without any doubt, is the kindest, most helpful, and intelligent host one could ever hope for. He truly wants you to enjoy the apartment and Colombo and does everything he can to help it happen. He is simply a wonderful person.

The apartment is spacious, well equipped, comfortable, and located in a beautiful part of Colombo within walking distance of stores, restaurants, and attractions. It is an easy 250 rupee tuktuk ride to go to the centre.

My husband and I stayed a total of five weeks in the apartment in four and one week segments separated by a month of travel around Sri Lanka. We enjoyed the neighbourhood, Colombo as a whole, our interactions with Gamini, and the the overall comfort and facilities of the apartment.

The big “however” is that the apartment is part of a larger house, and continues to be closely connected to it such that one shares the noise of daily life in the whole building. At this stage, this includes energised young children (crying, yelling, slamming doors, etc), parents and grandparents interacting with them, and the larger of the two dogs (a Rhodesian Ridgeback) barking loudly (we felt a bit intimidated even though she is described as just excited).

In addition, the most inviting part of the apartment is the bedroom, with a nice seating area looking out at the lovely green garden through sliding glass doors. The “however” here is that a standard interior-type door links the apartment to the rest of the house, which makes this the noisiest part of the apartment. With kids, the noise begins early.

Also, maybe it’s just our own personalities, but we sometimes felt quite uncomfortable sitting in the bedroom with the drapes open as playing kids ran by the sliding doors looking at us or other family members used the back garden to do normal things like hanging clothes or watering plants. We were physically connected to the back, but we were very conscious that it was not part of our space.

There are ways to improve the sound issues, but they would involve expense and would not work perfectly. And of course a family is obviously allowed to enjoy its home as it wishes — kids are kids, and some dogs are big and bark loudly. We were at the apartment longer than most people normally stay, and other guests will have their own levels of sensitivity. We just wanted to make people aware of the wonderful elements of a stay here and those potential “howevers.”

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2016
Tranquility has several connotations. One is a state of mind realized by insight and it is not dependent on external factors. The other common understanding is that the environment generates tranquility.
However, we will look into reducing sound level.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tsumwanyi
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to stay!”
Reviewed 5 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here with a friend for one month and I couldn't be happier with my stay. The location was great, we could walk to our place of work. The neighbourhood is very safe and tuk-tuks are easily available. There are many great places to eat around the area as well, such as The Bayleaf, Barnesbury and even japanese food at the Independence arcade. Other ammenities nearby include a bank and a Cargills supermarket.

About the residence, Gamini (the owner) and his wife were both very kind, providing fruits and chocolate in the fridge upon arrival. There is a water dispenser and the kitchen is well-equipped. You can easily cook your own meals. My only suggestion is to perhaps place the microwave at a lower height for us vertically challenged to access it with greater ease. Bedsheets and towels come freshly laundered as well.

Gamini and his wife are also both very approachable! Thank you for the great stay :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing