We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic budget choice.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sansu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Sansu
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
224 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Basic budget choice.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We booked two nights here through Agoda at the end of the tourist season and just before the England cricket test match was due to begin so there weren't many options.

The services was welcoming and friendly. The location means that tuk tuks are needed to get to most places but being relatively central these don't cost too much. They are easy to find from the main road which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel. As the hotel is of the main room it was quiet.

The rooms are basic but quite well furnished - wardrobe, bedside tables, desk, ceiling fan and a/c. password protected Wifi is available although the signal for the 3rd floor is not great. The bathrooms are compact. Unfortunately the rooms are a bit stale. We rejected one room that smelt bad and we did leave windows open a lot. The whole building needs a fresh layer of paint and new curtains.

It was £25/ $40 a night.

Room Tip: Room 305 has a double bed, single bed and a more spacious 'lounge' area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChinaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upul1970, Owner at Hotel Sansu, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Dear Richard,

Thank you so much for your valuable review.

This is to inform that Hotel Sansu is now under a new Management & staff and now we have improved all the facilities of the Hotel.

We would like to see you Again if you arrive in srilanka.

Best Regards
Marlon Evarts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    9
    7
    13
See reviews for
11
13
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

You get what you pay for, I suppose. Unfortunately in Colombo, you have to pay a lot to get the bare minimum.

There are few budget places to stay in Colombo. So Hotel Sansu would be one of these few options. At $32 US a night for a single room, most backpackers won't be pleased.

But it's a serviceable option, if only because it has little competition in its price bracket. The entire hotel could use a scrubbing. The little fridge in the room was dirty and cut in and out and the A/C was loud as a jetliner. The towels were more like worn rags. But again. You get what you pay for.

The staff were not particularly talkative but friendly enough. The restaurant downstairs served edible, albeit uninspired food (there aren't too many options eating outside in the area) and there was even room service. I had no problems accessing the free WiFi signal in my room.

One thing to be aware of. On Google Maps, if you type in Hotel Sansu, it'll show you an apparently wonderful location by the lake near the city core. It's nowhere near here. I presume this is an honest mistake and nothing to do with the hotel. Hotel Sansu is actually miles away in Colombo 5, in an alley across from a hospital that used to be called Apollo (but has now changed its name).

Room Tip: Your neighbor's air conditioner might be right outside your window. You might want to check on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WillemDanjah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upul1970, Owner at Hotel Sansu, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear William Danger,

Thank you so much for your valuable review.

Hotel Sansu is now under a new Management with new qualified staff. We have improved in every aspect and we invite you back to experience the new change.

We now have qualified cooks who are capable of preparing All types of dishes namely Western, Eastern, Maldivian, Russian & Sri Lankan Food.

We hope you would come back.

Best Regards
Marlon Evarts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cogolin, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Don't expect a classy hotel, I come for the 2nd time in hotel Sansu, and it's perfect for a short stay in colombo. Cheap hotel and clean. The next day if you have a train this hotel is well situated from Fort railaway station, few minutes drive in tuk tuk.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MilouToug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upul1970, Owner at Hotel Sansu, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Milou Toung,

Thank you so much for this review, we highly appreciate your review.

You could come again & We invite you back to experience Hotel Sansu under the New Management.

We have renovated all the rooms and have new staff to serve the guests who are well qualified.

We hope you would come back to stay with us!

Thank you once again for your review

Best Regards
Marlon Evarts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

I made a one day transit stay at Colombo when returning from Maldives to India. Being just a quick day trip, I choose a low cost hotel that looked good in pictures and cost just $32 a night.
Big mistake!
- the hotel is in a corner of Colombo. Reaching the hotel took me an hour from the airport at 1am and another 30$. Worse - return in evening peak hour traffic actually took me 2.5 hours!
- I was planning to sight see around the city. but got severely constrained due to the distance and lack of easy availability of transport!
- the wifi in the hotel works only in the lobby, which gets overpacked with just 3 people!
- when I reached the hotel at 2am, there was no food available. And with it located so out of the city, going out for food is impossible!
- The hotel claims to be no-smoking. but my room smelt of cigarette smoke. I asked for an alternative room, but there was none available and all the hotel receptionist could do was get a really smelly room freshener!
- the room ac did not work!
- the shower head was broken
net to net, an extremely costly choice for a cheap hotel. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, even the most budget traveller

Room Tip: stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AbhijeetK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upul1970, Owner at Hotel Sansu, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Mr. Abhjeet,

Now Hotel Sansu is undertaken by a new Management where everything is up-to date.

The distance from Airport is now Less since the new Express Way is made and it takes only 40mins from the Airport to our Hotel.

This hotel has been mainly made to help the patients who arrive at Lanka Hospitals for Treatment, that's why it is situated right Opposite Lanka Hospitals for the convenience of guests.

Pertaining to rooms since now it is under a new management, the rooms are renovated and are cleaned everyday by the housekeeping department.

Pertaining to the restaurant, now there is a well qualified Chef who is well known in preparing Western Dishes, Maldivian Dishes, Russian Dishes and Srilankan Dishes. The Restaurant is open from 6:00 AM - 3:00PM & 6:00 PM - 10.30 PM. The kitchen is closed after 10:30 pm is because after midnight usually we do not guests who order food at that time, therefor considering on that reason we are closing the kitchen at 10:30 PM.

Now the hotel is fully equipped with A/C, & WIFI on every floor, Room Service, Tours Operated by qualified tour guides etc

We invite you again if possible to come & feel the new experience of our hotel under the new Management.

Hope in seen you!

Best Regards
Marlon Evarts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colombo hotels

JEDDAH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

I stayed there for one night with my family.
The rooms and bathrooms were clean.
The location is far from downtown.
I donot recommend to stay here unless strict budget restrictions.
The room was around $42 though not cheap but less than other hotels in colombo. The ACs are very old and dont work.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IPFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upul1970, Owner at Hotel Sansu, responded to this review, 9 September 2014
Dear Sir,

We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you in the past.

Now Hotel SANSU is under a new Management which has qualified employees and all the rooms are renovated and whitewashed with 100% cleanliness

We would like to see you again in our Hotel and we invite you back to see the difference.

Best Regards
Marlon Evarts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
3.1 km away
Sai Sea City Hotel (P) Ltd
Sai Sea City Hotel (P) Ltd
#44 of 52 in Colombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
4.9 km away
Metro City Hotel
Metro City Hotel
#37 of 52 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
2.8 km away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Omega Regency
Omega Regency
#40 of 52 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
3.0 km away
Lafala Hotel
Lafala Hotel
#39 of 52 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.4 km away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#25 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sansu? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sansu

Property: Hotel Sansu
Address: 651/31, Sir Oliver Gunathilake Gardens, off Elvitigala Mawatha | opposite Lanka Hospital, Colombo 00500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,031 - ₹ 2,882
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Sansu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sansu is a hotel with a friendly environment, where it is situated in the city center of Colombo 05 which is conveniently accessible to major Hospitals such as LANKA HOSPITALS (Opposite it), Asiri Hospitals, Nine wells etc. Our Hotel is ideal for budget travelers & patients arriving for treatment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Sansu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing