We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
8
40
19
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
40
19
14
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

This place had poor service quality and under trained staff. The cleanliness of the place was gross for the price we paid - floors werw sticky and dusty, bathroom had the drain smell if u weren't having a shower and you can see the state of the old fittings in proper lighting which was nasty. The air condtioner in my room started leaking midnight and dripped onto my friends face whom I stayed with. For $20 more in price, a week prior we stayed at an actual 5 star service apartment with tip-top service, clean bathrooms (which are extremely important) and friendly staff (readers we only stayed here because we changed our plans about 2 weeks ago and had to book it last minute).

Only good point of this place was the breeze from the sea which was just a 3 minute walk away and decent beds. ( but i dont want to think about how clean they are if I benchmark it against the cleanliness of the rest the apartments.)

Please upgrade the quality of your service and training of staff (new and old), improve all the fittings and cleaning quality and change your towels every few months.

Thanks.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Thasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

So basically we came here with a big group on two seperate nights , and the feedback was pretty much the same .
I know we shouldn't expect a lot from an average mediocre hotel/service apartment but I've got to say I'm
Pretty dissapointed ,
.
The floors were dirty , the service is poor , and wifi is woeful . The staff tried their level best to cope with our demands but they just fell short on most occasions . The worst experience I had was the aircond leaking at 5 am on to my head as can be seen from the photos on the pillow .
The only plus points are the excellent location which is located approx 200
Meters from marine drive and gall drive ( which is full of shops /restaurents) and the pretty awesome sky view from the top . Especially good during the sun set . Anyway we booked it only because it was last minute but if you have more time please find elsewhere to stay , but I guess if you were really desperate it would do . Please
Improve your services lafala . Thanks

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank KyloDarm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

The ambience of the hotel entrance was so appealing with it's fine wooden floors and a readers corner set up was nerve soothing after a bumpy ride. The rooms were clean and tidy.. Though we were promised a sea view room, sadly an upcoming building construction was blocking the view. For the amenities, I will rate 2.5 as the WiFi connection was weak and would get connected at certain spots and the air conditioner had a water leaking towards the end of the trip. Also the toiletries were provided upon request. Advised to carry mosquito repellent as they can be nuisance if you leave the balcony open. For those expecting a certain quality and standard in their English breakfast, would be disappointed as the choices are very limited and quality below average. The most beneficial part staying here was the accessibility to the city and the close by restaurants (beach side). For travellers who wish to exchange currency, we will definitely advise Prasanna money exchange and Maruti money exchange which are within a proximity of 1 - 1.5 Kms from the hotel and give you the best rate. You also have an Arpico convenience store which is about 700 mts from the hotel. You can always find a tuk tuk at the doorstep of the hotel. Overall, for a traveler on a budget, for a price of 60$ per night and a complimentary breakfast, we find it an OK deal.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sriram B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Far simpler in real life than pics online suggested. Rooms basic. Hot water didn't work. Cock roaches in room. Over priced for what it was. Breakfast was ok and they organised transport for us which was helpful

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rachgregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Let's start with the pros

- Friendly staff
- Great location in Colombo
- Big rooms with a balcony
- Lots of hot water
- Large bed with good pillows
- Daily cleaning and complementary water

Cons
- Rooms are a bit worn down - could use some paint and some new lighting.
- Huge construction site just opposite the hotel, between the hotel and the ocean.
- The neighbors dog starts barking EVERY morning at 06.30 and continues for about 2-3 hours. We even tried ear plugs, but the sound pierces through. We wonder why the staff do not ask the neighbors to keep the dog inside in the morning. It is quite annoying!

All in all a nice and ordinary hotel, but unfortunately we did not sleep very well here. When arriving with jet lag, sleep is a must!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SanneC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews