We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Lafala Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lafala Hotel
Ranked #45 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

My family visit during peak time time of the year . We want the hotel very late in the night, however they had vacant room. The receptionist was there he is very helpful and friendly and the restaurant guys are good. We stayed in the hotel for 12 nights .

Need to improve.

- Room cleanliness was not i was expected.
- TV was not working should have better TV.
- Water heater was not working properly
- Should have washing machine in the room or each floor.
- But the price too high.

Good point.

- We stayed in 3 rooms apartment & v specious.
- The hotel is located in v quite area of Colombo good for shopping.
- overall the hotel is good compare to some other hotel in that area.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Day W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

This place had poor service quality and under trained staff. The cleanliness of the place was gross for the price we paid - floors werw sticky and dusty, bathroom had the drain smell if u weren't having a shower and you can see the state of the old fittings in proper lighting which was nasty. The air condtioner in my room started leaking midnight and dripped onto my friends face whom I stayed with. For $20 more in price, a week prior we stayed at an actual 5 star service apartment with tip-top service, clean bathrooms (which are extremely important) and friendly staff (readers we only stayed here because we changed our plans about 2 weeks ago and had to book it last minute).

Only good point of this place was the breeze from the sea which was just a 3 minute walk away and decent beds. ( but i dont want to think about how clean they are if I benchmark it against the cleanliness of the rest the apartments.)

Please upgrade the quality of your service and training of staff (new and old), improve all the fittings and cleaning quality and change your towels every few months.

Thanks.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Thasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

So basically we came here with a big group on two seperate nights , and the feedback was pretty much the same .
I know we shouldn't expect a lot from an average mediocre hotel/service apartment but I've got to say I'm
Pretty dissapointed ,
.
The floors were dirty , the service is poor , and wifi is woeful . The staff tried their level best to cope with our demands but they just fell short on most occasions . The worst experience I had was the aircond leaking at 5 am on to my head as can be seen from the photos on the pillow .
The only plus points are the excellent location which is located approx 200
Meters from marine drive and gall drive ( which is full of shops /restaurents) and the pretty awesome sky view from the top . Especially good during the sun set . Anyway we booked it only because it was last minute but if you have more time please find elsewhere to stay , but I guess if you were really desperate it would do . Please
Improve your services lafala . Thanks

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank KyloDarm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

The ambience of the hotel entrance was so appealing with it's fine wooden floors and a readers corner set up was nerve soothing after a bumpy ride. The rooms were clean and tidy.. Though we were promised a sea view room, sadly an upcoming building construction was blocking the view. For the amenities, I will rate 2.5 as the WiFi connection was weak and would get connected at certain spots and the air conditioner had a water leaking towards the end of the trip. Also the toiletries were provided upon request. Advised to carry mosquito repellent as they can be nuisance if you leave the balcony open. For those expecting a certain quality and standard in their English breakfast, would be disappointed as the choices are very limited and quality below average. The most beneficial part staying here was the accessibility to the city and the close by restaurants (beach side). For travellers who wish to exchange currency, we will definitely advise Prasanna money exchange and Maruti money exchange which are within a proximity of 1 - 1.5 Kms from the hotel and give you the best rate. You also have an Arpico convenience store which is about 700 mts from the hotel. You can always find a tuk tuk at the doorstep of the hotel. Overall, for a traveler on a budget, for a price of 60$ per night and a complimentary breakfast, we find it an OK deal.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sriram B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Far simpler in real life than pics online suggested. Rooms basic. Hot water didn't work. Cock roaches in room. Over priced for what it was. Breakfast was ok and they organised transport for us which was helpful

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rachgregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.2 km away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
0.2 km away
Sai Sea City Hotel (P) Ltd
Sai Sea City Hotel (P) Ltd
#49 of 55 in Colombo
89 reviews
0.2 km away
Omega Regency
Omega Regency
#41 of 55 in Colombo
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Hotel Sansu
Hotel Sansu
#48 of 55 in Colombo
49 reviews
4.7 km away
Juliana Hotel
Juliana Hotel
#44 of 55 in Colombo
41 reviews
6.3 km away
Metro City Hotel
Metro City Hotel
#38 of 55 in Colombo
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafala Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafala Hotel

Address: No. 7 40th Lane, Wellawatte, Colombo 00600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: ₹ 2,314 - ₹ 3,921 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafala Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lafala Hotel & Service Apartment is a brand new hotel, located in the central of Colombo City, 100 meters to Wellawatte Beach. It is 35 km from the Colombo International Airport and 6 km from the Fort Railway Station. Free Wi-Fi covering all the building, the room with hardwood furniture, most rooms face to Indian Ocean with private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your Lafala Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing