We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much of Cinnamon spice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed there during our trip to Srilanka in December 2010. Colombo was our last halts and this was just a overnight stay. On the first look the hotel was impressive. But as soon as we entered our problems started. I believe a wedding was on and the crowd was huge, we had issues to get our car in. Inside the hotel, the reception desk took ages to check us in. First they offered us twin bed rooms saying the king bed rooms were not available. Finally they found out one and after issuing the swipe badge informed us that some renovation work is going on which would be done by 6PM. The room was okay, but the noise continued till about 8PM. We ordered food in our room, the service was prompt and that taste was decent. We took a stroll around the hotel, it was well lit up since it was Christmas eve. Overall an okay experience considering the standard the hotel was supposed to live with.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfreakarvind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo in December 2010. Since your last stay, the hotel has been through a complete transformation. We have undergone a complete renovation and have been ranked the Best Five Star City Hotel in the country by Sri Lanka Tourism.

We are confident that should you choose to stay at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo again, you will experience the true Cinnamon brand of hospitality that we are known for.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,271 - 2,275 of 2,675 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2012

the airport pick up was the first nice impression with a big smile and a cold towel. The driver was very informative about the hotel. He recommended me request a high floor room and to have brunch on the floating restaurant.
the check in went very smoothly and was told to pay extra if I wanted to be on the top floor which has the executive rooms with free breakfast in separate lounge with fantastic views over the lake and free wifi. I was then escorted straight up to complete the check in. room 719 is overlooking the pool area.
the bed was very comfortable and the butlers in the lounge were always asking if they could help.
I first had a drink at the bar overlooking the lake, 7 degree north I think. great spot with pleasant jazz music. As it was saturday it got quite busy later on.
I had dinner in the Chinese restaurant. Delicious food but portions were just too big. The waiter could have warned me I was ordering too much.
I made my reservation and did go on the floating restaurant for the brunch. really nice place but a pity I was alone. It is better to go on it with company or with the family. Really good spread of food hot and cold. The waiter must have felt sad for me to be alone as he kept filling my champagne glass. The upperdeck is not used although it could be a nice area to have a coffee after the brunch.
I visit Colombo regularly and this will be my hotel of choice. I also visited the Taj and the Hilton but both look in serious need of a renovation..

Room Tip: ask for a premium or executive room, they have lake view albeit with an extra charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed at the Exectuvie Floor room (7th floor if remembered well)

We liked:
Very good service in general
Good breakfast at a special facility on the floor (good variety of food)
Possibility to enjoy complimentary beverages & light food throughout the day
Evening happy hours & late cheese & porto
Complimentary in-room WiFi of very good quality / stability
Hotel’s location is quite good
Complimentary extended / late check out till 16.00
Good restaurants located at the hotel (with the good variety of food at very reasonable prices especially vs Maldives prices we directed after Colombo)

We did not like:
- Traffic especially Friday evening from the airport but it has nothing to do with the hotel

We advise:
Visit Laksala shops if you are looking for handicrafts, gifts etc where there is a good variety of locally made stuff starting from famous Ceylon tea and painted carved elephants of different sizes till locally made batik. It is a governmental outlet with very reasonable prices.
Use tuk-tuk if you never did it before it is safe enough (despite a relatively intense country-specific traffic – hardly regulated mix of buses, lorries, tuk-tuks and pedestrians like in many Asian countries), 3 -4 times cheaper than a standard taxi and much more comfortable and in much better condition vs tuk-tuks in other countries like the Philippines for example.
Visit Odel outlet where locally and India-made West branded garments can be found if you’d like to buy extra pair of shorts or a t-shirt. Maybe it is not the best outlet but we did not manage to visit others.

Trip details: two night stay of a family with a child of 11 y.o.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank d495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for your comprehensive review of our hotel as well as the city of Colombo in general. We appreciate you taking the time to detail everything you enjoyed about being an Executive Floor guest.

We hope that you will return soon to discover new experienced, not just at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, but around Colombo too.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Service and staff are excellent, always striving to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one. We stayed in the Executive Suite and the service and staff there were amazing. Excellent service, very friendly staff, great restaurants and food and you have to try the Azmaara Spa !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve-Kerima F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

We are happy to read that you found the service levels at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo excellent and hope that your last experience will encourage you to return in the near future.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent our last night after a nice 8 days trip. From when we got there to when we left there are not many positive things to say. It took too long to check in.There was nothing in the mini bar and it was not filled during our stay. When we arrived in the late afternoon, we immediately asked to book for dinner and we were told that all restaurants were fully booked.The window of the room was opening on a poor view of the roofs. The food for breakfast was quite nice, and the big pool was pleasant. The staff was very polite and helpful, but unfortunately this hotel seemed like it was more a business hotel not matching our expectations to end our trip nicely ...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis_massaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the pool and service.

All of your comments are well noted and will be taken up whilst making future management decisions.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
1.2 km away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
1.1 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.8 km away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#10 of 55 in Colombo
2,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#7 of 55 in Colombo
2,167 reviews
1.8 km away
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
Movenpick Hotel Colombo
#8 of 55 in Colombo
519 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#14 of 55 in Colombo
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo

Address: 115 Sir Chittampalam A Gardiner Mawatha, Colombo 00200, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Colombo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#6 Family Hotel in Colombo
#10 Business Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: ₹ 8,769 - ₹ 13,540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked the Best Five Star City Hotel by Sri Lanka Tourism, Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo is the epitome of indulgence and elegance. Overlooking the tranquil Beira Lake, the hotel offers completely refurbished rooms. Its inimitable blend of luxury, personal attention, sincerity and warmth gives you the opportunity to operate at your own pace and in your own space, regardless of whether you are visiting for a business luncheon or dropping in for a quick coffee, planning your dream wedding or organising a conference, attending to important business or on a well-deserved vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo Hotel Colombo
Trans Asia Colombo
Hotel Trans Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing