We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,310)
Filter reviews
3,310 results
Traveller rating
2,131
812
226
81
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,131
812
226
81
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restaurantroyal thailong fengdegrees northlake viewsri lankaexecutive floorbeira lakebeautiful poolexcellent hotelpool barpool sidefront officespecial thankscity hotelhigh teacoffee shop
Filter
Updating list...
2,869 - 2,874 of 3,310 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2012

the airport pick up was the first nice impression with a big smile and a cold towel. The driver was very informative about the hotel. He recommended me request a high floor room and to have brunch on the floating restaurant.
the check in went very smoothly and was told to pay extra if I wanted to be on the top floor which has the executive rooms with free breakfast in separate lounge with fantastic views over the lake and free wifi. I was then escorted straight up to complete the check in. room 719 is overlooking the pool area.
the bed was very comfortable and the butlers in the lounge were always asking if they could help.
I first had a drink at the bar overlooking the lake, 7 degree north I think. great spot with pleasant jazz music. As it was saturday it got quite busy later on.
I had dinner in the Chinese restaurant. Delicious food but portions were just too big. The waiter could have warned me I was ordering too much.
I made my reservation and did go on the floating restaurant for the brunch. really nice place but a pity I was alone. It is better to go on it with company or with the family. Really good spread of food hot and cold. The waiter must have felt sad for me to be alone as he kept filling my champagne glass. The upperdeck is not used although it could be a nice area to have a coffee after the brunch.
I visit Colombo regularly and this will be my hotel of choice. I also visited the Taj and the Hilton but both look in serious need of a renovation..

Room Tip: ask for a premium or executive room, they have lake view albeit with an extra charge
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tom p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed at the Exectuvie Floor room (7th floor if remembered well)

We liked:
Very good service in general
Good breakfast at a special facility on the floor (good variety of food)
Possibility to enjoy complimentary beverages & light food throughout the day
Evening happy hours & late cheese & porto
Complimentary in-room WiFi of very good quality / stability
Hotel’s location is quite good
Complimentary extended / late check out till 16.00
Good restaurants located at the hotel (with the good variety of food at very reasonable prices especially vs Maldives prices we directed after Colombo)

We did not like:
- Traffic especially Friday evening from the airport but it has nothing to do with the hotel

We advise:
Visit Laksala shops if you are looking for handicrafts, gifts etc where there is a good variety of locally made stuff starting from famous Ceylon tea and painted carved elephants of different sizes till locally made batik. It is a governmental outlet with very reasonable prices.
Use tuk-tuk if you never did it before it is safe enough (despite a relatively intense country-specific traffic – hardly regulated mix of buses, lorries, tuk-tuks and pedestrians like in many Asian countries), 3 -4 times cheaper than a standard taxi and much more comfortable and in much better condition vs tuk-tuks in other countries like the Philippines for example.
Visit Odel outlet where locally and India-made West branded garments can be found if you’d like to buy extra pair of shorts or a t-shirt. Maybe it is not the best outlet but we did not manage to visit others.

Trip details: two night stay of a family with a child of 11 y.o.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank d495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

Thank you for your comprehensive review of our hotel as well as the city of Colombo in general. We appreciate you taking the time to detail everything you enjoyed about being an Executive Floor guest.

We hope that you will return soon to discover new experienced, not just at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, but around Colombo too.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Service and staff are excellent, always striving to ensure your stay is an enjoyable one. We stayed in the Executive Suite and the service and staff there were amazing. Excellent service, very friendly staff, great restaurants and food and you have to try the Azmaara Spa !

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve-Kerima F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2012

We are happy to read that you found the service levels at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo excellent and hope that your last experience will encourage you to return in the near future.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent our last night after a nice 8 days trip. From when we got there to when we left there are not many positive things to say. It took too long to check in.There was nothing in the mini bar and it was not filled during our stay. When we arrived in the late afternoon, we immediately asked to book for dinner and we were told that all restaurants were fully booked.The window of the room was opening on a poor view of the roofs. The food for breakfast was quite nice, and the big pool was pleasant. The staff was very polite and helpful, but unfortunately this hotel seemed like it was more a business hotel not matching our expectations to end our trip nicely ...

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis_massaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the pool and service.

All of your comments are well noted and will be taken up whilst making future management decisions.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Really enjoyed staying here. Although it seemed like it was more of a business hotel. Only giving it 4 since we didn't get a turn down service as requested. The staff was friendly. The dinner and breakfast buffet were "OK" and had some room for improvement, although the desert was good. Decorated very nicely with great views in the back.

There is nothing to walk to, and you need to take a tuk-tuk anywhere. You can get to the city centre for around 200 rupees. As always, beware of the tuk-tuk drivers that want to follow you into stores and ask for a commission (which means you will pay more money).

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank zanodad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CinnamonLakeside-PR, Manager at Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo on Trip Advisor.

We have taken into consideration your feedback and implemented measures to assure you of a more comfortable stay should you return, which we hope you will do.

Nadiyah Akram
Marketing & Communications Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews