We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
32
79
72
32
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
79
72
32
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgalle roadclean clothesindian tastesri lankadecent hoteldecent staycity hotellobby staffrooms are biglaundry servicebuffet breakfastvisited this hotelchinese restauranttwo nightsearly checkessentialssupermarket
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Ill start with the only positive the staff are friendly and it is a shame they have to work here. We visited the hotel on a trip for the UK and would not even spend £5 a night to sleep here, it is beyond basic, there were cockroaches and bugs in my room and ants in the bed. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Claire8176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for the review which contains your mixed feelings. Unfortunately, we do not agree with the false comments you have mentioned in your review, namely bugs in the bed. We certainly understand that there can be ants in the room due to Tea/ Coffee maker with sugar sachets placed in room, but, we do not agree with statement that bugs found in the room. If you have any proof, i.e photos to prove please upload them. As management, we appreciate your encouraging reviews with negative points, but will not accept reviews without any proof. We always carry out our regular pest control activities in order to control all types of Pests.

Sincerely yours,

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The Sapphire Hotel in Colombo is a marvellous hotel. The rooms are big, spacious. There are a lot of amenities in the hotel. There is a beautiful swimming pool at the 3rd floor. It is very clean. The tiles of the pool are blue in colour so gives a great feeling while swimming in the pool. The resting chairs in the swimming pool are equally good. The hotel is at the centre of the city. Entire city can be seen from the windows of the room. The dining room is huge. Food is awesome. The breakfast includes pongal, idlis, to egg, omlette, toast, milk, cerealflakes and also some varieties of rice are there. In dinner the sardine fish curry is awesome. Food is expensive but very tasty. In the rooms there are complimentary tea coffees makers so milk, tea bags, sugar are provided. It is a lovely experience to stay in Sapphire Hotel, Colombo.

Room Tip: It is best to take a room adjacent to the swimming pool so that the blue waters can be seen.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DrSouvikChatterji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your lovely and wonderful comments encouraging other reviewers to visit our hotel. It’s indeed pleasure to hear that you had a pleasant, enjoyable and a memorable stay in our hotel. We always consider the comfort of our customers and to feel them just like coming home.
Also not only the delicious and mouthwatering food but also we provide healthy and nutritious food such as herbal porridge made out of traditional Sri Lankan green leaves, Kiribath, Mung-kiribath, Manioc, Green gram, Chick-peas, Pittu, Kurakkan Roti and many more country seasonal fresh juices.

All the above additional details are for your further awareness to share your experience with us in your next visit and we are eagerly waiting to serve you!

Sincerely yours,

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a tour. Rooms are basic but clean and comfy. Unlike some people in previous reviews, we had no problems with noise - we were situated on the other side to the church. (The church is quite interesting and worth looking at too) The meals at the restaurant were fine. It is very well situated on the main road with supermarkets just next door and shops down the street. Easy walking distance to the ocean (not beach).

Room Tip: Try the pool side of the hotel - away from church as bells ring in the morning.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017


Dear Reviewer,

We are indeed happy that you were among the satisfied customers of Hotel sapphire. And thanking you for letting others know that you enjoyed much at our hotel. In our motto “Customer is the King”. We are hoping to see you soon again!

Sincerely yours,

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour for our final night, very basic and unfortunately I was in a very dusty carpeted room which is screaming for an upgrade or at least a very very deep clean, I felt dirty and itchy as soon as I entered and couldn't wait to leave & spent most of the night coughing - others with carpeted rooms agreed! Those lucky enough to get rooms with wooden floors seemed to have a much more enjoyable stay.
The pool was nice & clean however all the lounge chairs where broken & dirty, and I had to search someone out to find a towel.
Staff were friendly and the restaurant on the top floor served delicious meals, although service was a tad slow, though you get used to that after 2 weeks touring the country and learn to go to dinner much earlier than normal :)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Katels85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you and well noted your positive and negative comments. We agree that the carpet looks dusty but it is the color of it and anyhow we have taken action to arrest the situation immediately.
We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and glad to hear that you had tasted our delicious food and of course we accept there are little issues with regard to slow on service due to lack of experienced staff in the industry.

Sincerely yours,

Rooms Division Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Party of four booked in advance three rooms for three nights. First problem was getting reception to realise that we had booked three rooms. They were convinced that we should only have two. My wife and I had the room on the side of the hotel next to the church. Six in the morning bells rang out and the constant drone of traffic all night. They should have better sound proofing after all enough people have mentioned this. Room was large but bathroom had seen better days. Chinese restaurant served breakfast and dinner. Portion sizes massive and quality good. Good range of options. Mostly friendly staff. Overall a average experience.

Room Tip: Not the church side and take ear plugs with you
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigGuyHoliday2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your positive and negative comments. We shall look in to the negative ones more seriously other than Noise pollution. While going through the records it was revealed that this booking was made through Expedia for three rooms. However, regret very much apologies for the inconvenience caused at the time of arrival. We have planned to install better sound proofing system in rooms in our next refurbishment.
Glad to hear that you had enjoyed our tasty & mouthwatering dishes at the Restaurant. Trust, you will patronize us once again to share your experience with us.

Sincerely yours,

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews