We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar ”
Review of Sapphire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sapphire Hotel
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Good decent Bar to go with friends and business meetings, price is resonobele, some times it's crowded,, can order till 11 pm, and hang on till 12am. Waiters and very friendly, good bites, but small positions,

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BolconR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback about our Topaz Bar and we will look into the negative areas.

Sincerely yours,

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2017

Ill start with the only positive the staff are friendly and it is a shame they have to work here. We visited the hotel on a trip for the UK and would not even spend £5 a night to sleep here, it is beyond basic, there were cockroaches and bugs in my room and ants in the bed. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claire8176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Reviewer,

We thank you for the review which contains your mixed feelings. Unfortunately, we do not agree with the false comments you have mentioned in your review, namely bugs in the bed. We certainly understand that there can be ants in the room due to Tea/ Coffee maker with sugar sachets placed in room, but, we do not agree with statement that bugs found in the room. If you have any proof, i.e photos to prove please upload them. As management, we appreciate your encouraging reviews with negative points, but will not accept reviews without any proof. We always carry out our regular pest control activities in order to control all types of Pests.

Sincerely yours,

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The Sapphire Hotel in Colombo is a marvellous hotel. The rooms are big, spacious. There are a lot of amenities in the hotel. There is a beautiful swimming pool at the 3rd floor. It is very clean. The tiles of the pool are blue in colour so gives a great feeling while swimming in the pool. The resting chairs in the swimming pool are equally good. The hotel is at the centre of the city. Entire city can be seen from the windows of the room. The dining room is huge. Food is awesome. The breakfast includes pongal, idlis, to egg, omlette, toast, milk, cerealflakes and also some varieties of rice are there. In dinner the sardine fish curry is awesome. Food is expensive but very tasty. In the rooms there are complimentary tea coffees makers so milk, tea bags, sugar are provided. It is a lovely experience to stay in Sapphire Hotel, Colombo.

Room Tip: It is best to take a room adjacent to the swimming pool so that the blue waters can be seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrSouvikChatterji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for your lovely and wonderful comments encouraging other reviewers to visit our hotel. It’s indeed pleasure to hear that you had a pleasant, enjoyable and a memorable stay in our hotel. We always consider the comfort of our customers and to feel them just like coming home.
Also not only the delicious and mouthwatering food but also we provide healthy and nutritious food such as herbal porridge made out of traditional Sri Lankan green leaves, Kiribath, Mung-kiribath, Manioc, Green gram, Chick-peas, Pittu, Kurakkan Roti and many more country seasonal fresh juices.

All the above additional details are for your further awareness to share your experience with us in your next visit and we are eagerly waiting to serve you!

Sincerely yours,

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a tour. Rooms are basic but clean and comfy. Unlike some people in previous reviews, we had no problems with noise - we were situated on the other side to the church. (The church is quite interesting and worth looking at too) The meals at the restaurant were fine. It is very well situated on the main road with supermarkets just next door and shops down the street. Easy walking distance to the ocean (not beach).

Room Tip: Try the pool side of the hotel - away from church as bells ring in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017


Dear Reviewer,

We are indeed happy that you were among the satisfied customers of Hotel sapphire. And thanking you for letting others know that you enjoyed much at our hotel. In our motto “Customer is the King”. We are hoping to see you soon again!

Sincerely yours,

Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a tour for our final night, very basic and unfortunately I was in a very dusty carpeted room which is screaming for an upgrade or at least a very very deep clean, I felt dirty and itchy as soon as I entered and couldn't wait to leave & spent most of the night coughing - others with carpeted rooms agreed! Those lucky enough to get rooms with wooden floors seemed to have a much more enjoyable stay.
The pool was nice & clean however all the lounge chairs where broken & dirty, and I had to search someone out to find a towel.
Staff were friendly and the restaurant on the top floor served delicious meals, although service was a tad slow, though you get used to that after 2 weeks touring the country and learn to go to dinner much earlier than normal :)

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Katels85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAP Hotels H, Rooms Division Manager at Sapphire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you and well noted your positive and negative comments. We agree that the carpet looks dusty but it is the color of it and anyhow we have taken action to arrest the situation immediately.
We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay and glad to hear that you had tasted our delicious food and of course we accept there are little issues with regard to slow on service due to lack of experienced staff in the industry.

Sincerely yours,

Rooms Division Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.4 km away
Great Southern Hotel (GSH) Colombo
2.2 km away
Ceylon City Hotel
Ceylon City Hotel
#30 of 55 in Colombo
265 reviews
0.2 km away
Omega Regency
Omega Regency
#41 of 55 in Colombo
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#26 of 55 in Colombo
157 reviews
3 km away
Hotel Sansu
Hotel Sansu
#48 of 55 in Colombo
49 reviews
6 km away
Metro City Hotel
Metro City Hotel
#38 of 55 in Colombo
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Hotel

Address: 371 Galle Road, Colombo 00600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Price Range: ₹ 3,159 - ₹ 7,737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sapphire Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sapphire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing