We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
Expedia.com
US$ 42
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/12/21
Agoda.com
US$ 36
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/12/21
PricelineUS$ 43
Orbitz.comUS$ 42
CheapTicketsUS$ 42
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveller rating
66
238
256
90
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
66
238
256
90
83
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 733 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2019

An old colonial hotel with a certain charm of faded glory about it. Nice big comfortable rooms and staff who still provide old fashioned service. The restaurant has good views over the harbour and the food is very good. Situated in the old colonial area of town which, like the hotel, is still in a bygone age!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaldrickLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2019

Stayed 3 nights at the Grand Oriental Hotel. The foyer is quite lovely and was there for Christmas so the decorations were brilliant. It is a very old hotel and has some history, the rooms are outdated and do need to be refurbished however, it was okay for a few nights. The staff were great, helpful and friendly!

Room tip: I don't think many of the rooms have great views, definitely has a historic feel to the hotel.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eeral21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 April 2019

This is a hotel with a long history. It is quite shabby in places but the grandeur is still evident. The lobby is very splendid. We visited but didnt stay

The 4th floor restaurant/bar overlooks the port, and does have a small area of outdoor seating. An interesting view. Coffee was decent, though unsurprisingly pricey

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 301lisa33
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2019

I just stayed one night prior to a cruise but would not recommend a longer stay since the harbour area is not attractive or perhaps safe.

My room had a queen bed complete with curtains and was big enough for a couple. Bathroom showed signs of mildew.

I had booked an airport transfer but they did not show. Large breakfast buffet with lots of options.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sharlene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2019 via mobile

It is a huge old hotel complex. Furniture and fittings (feel like they) are from the seventies. Rooms are ok (safe and clean). Good views from the restaurant in the 4th floor onto the harbor. Buffet breakfast or buffet dinner OK with many choices.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank lovethisplanet2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews