We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A poorly managed hotel at a great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galadari Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Galadari Hotel
Ranked #24 of 45 Hotels in Colombo
madras
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A poorly managed hotel at a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great by the sea, with a great view from the room. It's not a high rise building but still one could get a great view. We were staying at the 6th floor. The rooms were aging or I would say they were not renovated for decades. The wash room was also bad. The room aircon was not working on the second day and the hotel staff changed our room. The mini bar was not stocked and not working. The glass was not cleaned for years together hence I couldn't enjoy the lovely view. People walk-in and out and there is nobody to question. I sometimes think there is no security in the hotel. The food was good and they serve halal food, good place to eat for muslims. The best part is the lounge bar, the live music played there was out of the world. We went there at 11pm and returned at 3am. The crowd at the lounge bar was very good. Hookers keeping walking in and out of the hotel and there is nobody to question them. The elevators looks like it would get an antique tag by fall. I would not recommend to stay at this hotel nor I would ever stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    297
    172
    81
    65
See reviews for
147
138
52
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

I stayed here with a group of friends last week and when we first looked on the website the hotel looked great and good value. However this certainly was not the case. The hotel is run down, tired and needs updating. Renovation work has started on some of the floors which means there is drilling, hammering and other works being completed during the day, as well as a smell of paint. The side of the pool was even being painted whilst we were swimming in the pool!

The breakfast buffet was ok, decent choice and reasonable quality, but on most occasions i had to wait 10 minutes for the pot of tea i ordered.

The staff although friendly are obviously tired of all the complaints about the quality of the hotel and renovation work and after my continual complaints seemed to avoid me every time i came down to reception as they knew what was coming.

The sad thing about this hotel is that i'm sure it was really nice when it first opened, however it has not been kept updated, so it is unfair that they charge guests the same accomodation rates as other 5 star hotels.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellie8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Melbourne,
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed here a few weeks ago and was the worst hotel I stayed in Colombo, I'm not even sure where to begin. The hotel is run down, mould in the bathroom, the hotel floors smell musty and damp. The room had a leaking air conditioner with it dripping onto the carpet, hammering from the floor above wakes you at 7am. The staff never serviced the room even after repeated requests. We lost power for a while and needed to call twice to get the power restored (it was just our room).

The food and breakfast was old, stale and cold. Stay elsewhere, in fact there are cheaper and nicer places to stay. Galle Face Green is cheaper!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samwij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban
Level Contributor
77 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed at the Galadari for 3 nights in August 2012.
Having checked out or another so claimed 4.5 star hotel, earlier in the day, Galadari proved to be a GREAT relief.
1st impressions were 5 star with the Door boys and Bell boys.
Checking in was very well conducted.
Rooms were pleasantly big and comfortable.
(with welcome fruit baskets)
Breakfast spread was very sufficient but can be varied.
(we had the same spread over the 3 Days)
Rooftop bar was very well positioned and had a great view of the Colombo night skyline.
Checkout was fast and simple.

Room Tip: When checking in ask for rooms with the Galle Face Green view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelvijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lahore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

I started staying in this hotel from 1996 was really a place to stay and enjoy in Colombo. With the passage of time I saw how it straed deteriorating its services and accomudation. now staying in this hotel is just a frustation. Staff is seems to be demoralized and seems to be not interersted to work

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Altaf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.1 km away
The Kingsbury
The Kingsbury
#14 of 45 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.3 km away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#16 of 45 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#13 of 45 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
ZMAX Fairway, Colombo
ZMAX Fairway, Colombo
#25 of 45 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Oriental Hotel
Grand Oriental Hotel
#34 of 45 in Colombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.3 km away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galadari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galadari Hotel

Property: Galadari Hotel
Address: 64 Lotus Road, Colombo 10732, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,031 - ₹ 11,121
Hotel Class:4 star — Galadari Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Desirably located in the heart of Colombo’s the city center, Galadari Hotel excels in modern amenities sophistication and a stunning, unparalleled view of the Ocean...Step-in to be lost in cozy hideouts, pleasurable surroundings and the best of Sri Lankan hospitality... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Ostrovok so you can book your Galadari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galadari Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing