We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (181)
Filter reviews
181 results
Traveller rating
96
59
14
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
59
14
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese food boutique hotel cinnamon gardens rooftop pool french embassy sri lanka small pool a nice place to stay the hotel manager couple of nights great room central colombo embassies plumbing kandy bathtub tuk
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 181 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

Best Japanese food in Colombo, created by a very experienced chef. Lovely ambiance and setting, suitable for friends, family or romantic evening. Will definitely return again. The chef was accomodating of our special requests.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank ozbozcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Zylan Luxury Villa for 3 days over Christmas and loved it! The rooms are huge, very clean and uniquely decorated. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful - made to order! The rooftop pool was clean and quiet.
What we loved most were the welcoming staff. The hotel manager, Mr. Bagus was outstanding. Everyday he came to make sure we had everything that we needed for our maximum comfort. Our young adult daughter had a last minute change of plans and we needed to get her to Unawatuna by taxi. Mr. Bagus came out to ensure the cab driver knew to get her there safely. We GREATLY appreciated his presence and that he went above and beyond to ensure her safety.
We highly recommend the Zylan to everyone - it was our favourite place to stay in Sri Lanka and one of the highlights of our trip!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Jodi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We had gone in a group of 12 adults and 3 infants to celebrate new year 2016. The hotel was more expensive than any other five star property but we chose the bungalow so we all can have fun together. Yes we had fun but the hotel did not provide most of the promises.

1. Breakfast is included but its either egg or srilankan. Choose one only else they will charge you a bomb! i ordered omlette, one small no veg unfulfilling omlette was delivered half and hour later without bread, butter, ketchup, no sausages, by the time bread came omlette got ice cold! With no replacement And if you by any chance u touch the srilankan curry n roti from the table you will be charged for extra breakfast. We were given a bill of 9000 rupees on first day because our group ate both! No plates or cutlery were setup on the table! All in all worst experience ever

2. Room service was pathetic, prices were higher than taj samudra and food was not eatable

3. Pool was dirty and unusable with kids

4. Fitness center! What is that? There was none except a treadmill kept in one corner unused.

5. Bathroom ventilation was poor, no exhausts. My room ac and fan also did not work properly

6. No evening lights, if you are planning to chill on the sofa/dinning table in evening plz be prepared for a dim light setting. We couldnt get good pictures at the property thanks to the lighting.

All in all plz dont waste your money and spoil ur holiday. Go book a hotel and get better facilities. If you like japanese food, then visit the Zen restaurant as that is supposedly good.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Pallavi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2016

We spent our final night in Sri Lanka at Zylan Luxury Villa and we couldn't have made a better choice.

The villa is located on a quiet road in the Cinnamon Garden District (lots of embassies). It is in easy reach of the city centre and we arranged a tuk-tuk with the front desk to take us to the Fort Area - 10 mins.

The hotel is situated in a modern looking building and inside it has a large open interior. The Japanese influence is obvious through out in the styling of the internal gardens and fish pond.

Entered through large, carved wooden doors, our room was huge, well appointed and stylish. Along with an external balcony, walk in wardrobe and jacuzzi bath room, it met all expectations.

We ate dinner at the excellent Japanese restaurant on the roof of the villa. The food was superb and it was great to sit out. There was a small pool area on the roof too but we didn't have the opportunity to try this.

The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful.

We thought this place was exceptional and we would have happily stayed longer - next time we will.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 123TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Our final 3 days in SL from 27Oct was spent at this really good Boutique Hotel. Nice Room and Bath facilities and on the whole not only nice but the Hotel is well located and within easy reach of the city.

The staff are very well mannered and always on hand to assist with your needs. There is the Japanese restaurant at the top floor well worth a try and Breakfast each morning is well balanced with choices.

One good thing there is flexibility at this Hotel and Anusha the Manager was King enough to extend our stay on check out day. Was extremely nice of her to allow this and for her offer we are grateful.

Will surely rerun here on our next visit to SL

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waipawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews