We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,092)
Filter reviews
1,092 results
Traveller rating
880
131
37
21
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
880
131
37
21
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shang palace horizon club capital bar sapphire lounge high tea lobby lounge special thanks sri lanka beautiful hotel chinese restaurant lunch buffet his team crab keep up the good work ocean view front office indian ocean
Filter
Updating list...
596 - 601 of 1,092 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018

I went in feeling a little blah.... yet another Chinese restaurant I thought, albeit in a beautiful setting. Was I in for a surprise! Every dish that I tasted was so different in taste and texture to the Chinese meals that I have had that I could not believe that I was eating the same thing .... lemon chicken is a staple enjoyed by my kids of which I am heartily sick but Shang Palace did some kind of alchemy to totally enhance the flavor of the dish! A most enjoyable experience! Added bonus, decided to walk down to the car park area and got up close as possible with the back of S.W.R.D's statue! Somehow viewing it from a car whizzing by never gave me a true idea of the size of the monument!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amalif2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear amalif2017

Thank you for your great feedback which will be shared with the team at Shang Palace. It is very rewarding to hear our efforts are appreciated, thank you

regards

Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

We were visiting from London and hosted a family dinner at Shang Palace. Food was very mediocre and highly overpriced. There are definitely far better Chinese restaurants in Colombo. Setting was good. I would recommend trying some of the other restaurants in this hotel. Overall disappointed, a real let down.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank perdesilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear perdesilve

Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent dinner at Shang Palace. We are most concerned to learn you experience was disappointing. We aim to provide authentic Chinese food at reasonable prices however many of our ingredients are imported which results in prices slightly higher than some of the local restaurants. Thank you for sharing, we will strive to do better

regards

Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

This Hotel just opened around november 2017. Although there are very very minor things, its still a great hotel and holds up to the name. Everything from airport pick up, entrance, guidance to the room is great.
They have 2 electrical tuk tuk’s and free of charge to take you anywhere.
The Horizon Lounge is great with amazing views.
The manager Timothy Wright overseas eveything well and is well connected to his staff.
Driver Dian, knows his route, has great driving skills if you need him to drive you to business meetings. Overall amazing hotel

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank HakanCp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear HakanCp

Thank you for your comments and great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return visit. Will pass on your feedback to our driver Dian, thank you again

regards

Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Shangri-La Colombo has 2 of my favorite restaurants - grill bar for steak and Shang palace for Chinese. The service and ambience is best in town. Brunch on Sunday has a very good value for money. Gym is amazing

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank VictoriaAnna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear VictoriaAnna29

Thank you for sharing your appreciation of Capital Bar and Shang Palace, we thank you for your recommendation

regards

Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

It was a Monday my Birthday and I decided to have a few friends to tea. The Manager and staff were very helpful in putting together the party! Usually there is entertainment but to my surprise there was nothing on the day! When I inquired I was told there is no entertainment on Monday's! This I was not told when I booked the event which was a disappointment. There are too many rich sweets on the menu! A savory or two more is welcome!

Date of stay: March 2018
Thank Denise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy W, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Denise A

Thank you for your constructive feedback and sorry that you were not advised that there is no entertainment on a Monday, will ensure we remind out staff to advise guests in future. We will also look into the mix of savory and sweet items on the high tea set menu. Thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to see you back at Sapphyr Lounge in the near future

regards

Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews