We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
FAIRWAY COLOMBO
Nearby Hotels
US$ 191
US$ 163
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Colombo(Colombo)
US$ 176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 193
US$ 163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 79
US$ 72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 125
US$ 104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 179
US$ 157
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 86
US$ 75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 166
US$ 115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ceylon City Hotel, Colombo(Colombo)(Great Value!)
US$ 66
US$ 55
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)
US$ 142
US$ 98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveller rating
152
162
53
12
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
162
53
12
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdutch hospitalfood courtgreat locationstreet food festivalcultural showcrabshopping precinctpettah marketworld tradefort railway stationone night staybars and restaurantstuk tuksri lankahotel is locatedfront desk staffclean hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 398 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We came away feeling that we had stayed in a top class hotel but having only paid for a mid quality one. The room was lovely; spacious, huge comfortable bed and the most effective and quietest air conditioning we had in our 5 hotels throughout Sri Lanka. Location couldn't have been better, literally across the road from the Old Dutch Hospital with a selection of nice restaurants and most vibrant nightlife during our holiday. Right in the centre of the old fort area for day time sightseeing too. We stayed room only as a result of other TA reviews not being complimentary about the hotel breakfast. There is a cafe next door to the hotel that serves quality breakfast at very reasonable prices. The hotel organised our taxi to the airport at 4000 rupees (£20) which for a 45 minute journey we thought was reasonable. All in all a quality hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saman P, General Manager at FAIRWAY COLOMBO, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mr Mark,

We at Fairway Colombo are very delighted to read your detailed review and very happy to hear our modern rooms & its amenities made you feel right at home. Our aim is to provide the best to all our guests at an affordable price and with your encouraging review you have given us the courage to strive to do better.

Thank you for Staying with Fairway Colombo and we look forward to serve you better in the near future.

Saman Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel is excellent and location is right at the heart of colombo. Room had all the modern amneties. With a large buffet breakfast spread this hotel deserves a 5 start rating except one glitch.

If you are planning to stay this hotel then i would suggest to take a cab instead of taking your own vehicle then it is not the best place to stay as the parking is free for only first 12 hours and after that you have to pay parking every hour.

Also while choosing the rooms ask them to give room with front view instead of rear view. The view from our room was not that good. The neighbourhood looked a bit shady we kept the curtains down all the time.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rakesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saman P, General Manager at FAIRWAY COLOMBO, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mr Rakesh,

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our well designed rooms and for rating us high on the Star classification of 5 stars. However we have noted the concern about the parking and we will surely take necessary actions very soon.

We at Fairway Colombo look forward to welcome you and to serve you better in the near future.

Saman Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a night, after ditching our accommodation at somewhere else.

Booked an hour before arriving at the hotel, and took us a while to check up as the hotel hasn't received our booking.
It was soon settled, and we had a lovely room on the 5th floor.

Not much view from the room, but the room was perfect for us. The aircon was strong enough, the room feels and looks new or well maintained.

Wi-Fi was working very well, hot shower was fabulous. Bathroom was clean and towels provided were fresh and clean. Bed was comfortable and there was a tv with lotsa channels. There's a mini fridge and there is a boiler for hot drinks.

Hair dryer is not provided in the room, but it can be requested and they will send it up to the room.

The hotel is located right opposite the Dutch Hospital where there are a few restaurants that are pretty good.

It's also close to the attractions such as Galle Face Beach, local marketplace, Jami Ul-Alfar Mosque, etc. There is also a local supermarket, burger king and KFC nearby.

We definitely had a comfortable rest in this lovely hotel and we are glad we decided to stay here.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank elshjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saman P, General Manager at FAIRWAY COLOMBO, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Elshjj,

Many thanks for the detailed review and for taking the time to do so. We are very pleased to hear that our new and well maintained rooms with all the amenities have made you feel at home. As you have rightfully mentioned our location is a key factor to most guests who wishes to have a walk around with many sights to see and not forgetting the view of the sunset is a few minutes walk from the hotel.

We look forward to welcome you to Fairway Colombo in the near future.

Saman Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for our first night in Sri Lanka and it was the perfect place to relax and recoup after a long haul flight! It is spacious and low-key modern in style, with comfortable beds and showers. The staff were helpful. The breakfast buffet was extensive. We had a sound nights sleep despite being in the centre of the city - a great location! Recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank lifeisasongsingalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saman P, General Manager at FAIRWAY COLOMBO, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time for your review, the team at the Fairway Colombo are very delighted to receive your encouraging comments. I will surely pass on your appreciations to the team. We look forward to welcome you and to serve you better in the near future.

Best Wishes,

Saman Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Location is very central and happening in the heart of Colombo! It’s more of a business hotel rather than a family hotel. No amenities/ toiletries in the room! The male staff not very helpful and quite rude but the female staff very active, chatty and ready to answer all your concerns. Breakfast is a total let down, below average in every aspect. If you are a business traveler this is the hotel for you, with families there are several better options!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Arti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saman P, General Manager at FAIRWAY COLOMBO, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Arti,

Thank you for taking your precious time to review your stay with us and we are sorry and it is unfortunate that we were unable to meet your expectation on your last visit. However we have taken note of your points and especially about the male staff not being very helpful and also about the breakfast and will make sure that they are addressed as soon as possible.

We look forward to be of service to you in the near future.

Saman Perera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews