We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
211
74
21
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
74
21
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews horizon club amusement park beautiful hotel best hotel in town health club high end shopping mall beautiful lobby chinese restaurant capital city appointed rooms five star hotel within walking distance other hotels home away from home mongolian style the ground floor fitness center
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2018

My boss stayed here during our business trip while I and other team members stayed in another hotel close by (yes, Bayangol Hotel is in walking distance to Shangri-La). Everyday we need to come to this hotel since it's hosting an international event. So everyday we need to do paperwork and print them all at the concierge. Actually we did bring a printer but when we run out of ink, the concierge really helped a lot. They charged in reasonable price and always serve with optimal hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Helenanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence_Tan_SLUB, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear Helenanta,
Thank you for sharing your Shangri-La experience with us!
We are glad to hear that our Concierge team were able to assist you and your team, your kind compliments are much appreciated!
Looking forward to have you stay with us on your next visit here in the beautiful city of Ulaanbaatar!
Sincerely,
Terence Tan | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days ahead of and during a major conference. My room and bathroom was great with an amazing view of Ulaanbaatar. Everything was clean and comfortable - up to Shangri-La standards. The only small thing that wasn’t the same were the little things like soaps, shampoos and toilet paper which were of a lesser quality than usual but this is understandable given the remoteness of the location. Breakfast buffet was good but limited types of fruit etc, again due to remoteness. My only request really would be for options for non- dairy milk for coffees and cereals, such as soy milk. Staff were a delight - their Mongolian style uniforms were lovely and they were so genuine and approachable.

The hotel is situated next to a mall with limited shopping options if you’re not into designer gear but a reasonable food court and restaurants, movies, and a salon/massage place. There’s also access to an indoor pool and gym etc.

The only thing on the downside really is the price of the hotel rooms is really high (and we were there at a peak time). Highly recommended otherwise.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank AnakJalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence_Tan_SLUB, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear AnakJalan,
Thank you for sharing your Shangri-La experience with us!
Your kind compliments are much appreciated and your constructive comments are well noted for necessary improvement to be made.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
Terence Tan | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with a high degree of service. The Horizon Club has beautiful views. An excellent buffet breakfast. Rooms, though small, are well appointed. Convenient to downtown. A luxury option but worth it.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jhwwre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence_Tan_SLUB, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear jhwwre,
Thank you for sharing your Shangri-La experience with us!
Your kind compliments about our service and restaurants are much appreciated!
It was indeed a pleasure to have you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Sincerely,
Terence Tan | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Great room with a very comfortable bed and views. Amazing breakfast buffet with lots of options. Hotel does have a spa in it however it is separate from the hotel so you will need to pay separately. Nice location for shopping with an amusement park near by. My only complaint would be the bar as not only did service take forever but their pizza was nothing more then a frozen one found in the grocery store. But the staff was very helpful and there are a lot of other dining options in the area making this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhynnTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence_Tan_SLUB, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2018

Dear PhynnTravels,

Thank you for sharing your Shangri-La experience with us!
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and our staff was able to make it more delightful.
Your constructive feedback for Naadam Bar & Restaurant is well noted and we will ensure all necessary improvements to be made.
It was indeed a pleasure to have you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Terence Tan | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Ulaanbaatar is a beautiful city and as the location of this hotel gives you really good view of the city and the landscape surrounding the city.
Used the airport pick up and drop facility of the hotel, which was absolutely upto the mark. English speaking drivers, with clean car, water and wifi.
Food and drinks are cheap in the city, and Shangri-La also provides them at a decent price. Quality of food is excellent. Tried Hutong, Naadam, Cafe Park and the lounge. Everything was good.
One of the hotel managers, Tarun Sharda, goes beyond to make your stay comfortable. All the staff is really helpful. Rooms are spacious and have all the necessities. Normal taxis are also arranged by the hotel at 25k tugriks per hr within city and 35k tugriks per hr for outside city travels.
State departmental store and Sukhbaatar Square is walking distance. For tourists do visit departmental store level 6. Also, I would say it is worth visiting Mary and Martha for procuring local hand-made items. One of the stores is near the departmental store and the other one is mentioned below.
There is a shopping mall attached to the hotel which has the hotel’s spa and gym facilities which are world class. The other Mary and Martha store is located in this mall. The mall boasts of a food court, movie hall and decent shopping opportunities. But, For Cashmere related products, I would recommend the state department store.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank hitandtrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence_Tan_SLUB, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Ulaanbaatar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear hitandtrial,

Thank you for sharing your Shangri-La experience with us.
We are thrilled to have been part of your great experience in this beautiful city and we appreciate your kind compliments on our facilities, restaurant and colleagues!
Thank you once again for your kind support and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,

Terence Tan | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews