We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth your money! ”
Review of New Lao Silk Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Lao Silk Hotel
Ranked #52 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

Their cheapest room was USD21 for a small room with no view, dirty towels, dirty bed cover, no complimentary breakfast or even water. And the sink was clogged. Ran down place, find other hotels if you can.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank rusticwanderess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

This hotel was ok. In our room the air con leaked, the shower shot off in 2 main and very different directions when turned on (got me straight in the eye) and was tilted v down so you had to almost lean on the wall to use it. The bed and duvet were small for a double. The room was mostly clean when we arrived, bedsheets stained but nothing major.

As a lot of reviews have said the receptionist was least helpful we came across and seemed to not speak any English. We stayed for two nights and our rooms were never cleaned.

Good for location, the night markets and river (great place to watch the sunset) just down the road and across the road. Lots of lovely restaurants within in 5 min walk - particularly recommend ai Capone which is almost next door, they do an amazing pizza!

All in all fine for a couple of nights to see Vientiane.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2015

I can't remember why I chose this place, oh it might because of the location and the price as I travelled on a budget and I was there alone. When I first arrived, there's no other customer and I saw a man who is receptionist. I gave him my booking number and I paid it, after he finished with my payment he gave me a small piece of paper for the wifi username and password and helped me to with my suitcase. I got the room 505, it's the top floor! But at first I didn't have any problem about the room. The decoration is a bit Laotian style but it's quite old, the bed wasn't the cleanest but it's not too dirty so it's acceptable for me. The bathroom/toilet is a bit too big for me I think and it's too old, there's no toilette but ok i had my own stuffs.

Things happened when I got back from visiting the temples during the day and I got back to the hotel around 5 pm and I spent time in the room and the air-conditioner split a bit of water on my head while I was laying down. So around 7 pm. I went out to have dinner and I intended to talk with the boy downstairs but he wasn't there so I just went out and done my things. After I finished my dinner around 9 pm. I got back and saw him at the reception desk. I asked him if it's possible to change my room because of the air conditioner, and it's too high for me as I was a solo traveller if there's something bad happened, it would take too much time to get help. But he said that there's no small room for me on the lower floors. I just had my booking only one night! and it's not full! so I was disappointed and went back to my room. He didn't even give a damn to help or showed that he wanted to help. 25 USD/night it's too expensive for this place, I will never get back to this place again even I love the location anyway.

I couldn't sleep until 4 am in the morning because of lots of noises and the air conditioner doesn't works properly!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pukalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

This is a simple hotel located in the centre of town, less than a minute walk onto the Mekong river front that has a night market, food stalls and bars, a good atmosphere as the sun sets. Also easy walk to main attractions/ temples etc.

The hotel doesn't have a lift but we were happy to walk up the stairs. A couple of floors up you don't hear the bustle on the street. Comfy bed and good working shower. Rooms are small and basic, but clean. Helpful staff that helped carry my bag up so the stairs weren't all that bad!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

Booked through booking.com waited over 30 mins to be checked in.
Fortunately I looked at room before parting with money.
A toilet! !!!!
Walked straight out!
Room bore no resemblance to photos on site.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
Thank ThaiTom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vientiane hotels
0.6 km away
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
New Usouk Boutique Hotel
#14 of 97 in Vientiane
73 reviews
0.2 km away
Memory Hotel
Memory Hotel
#45 of 97 in Vientiane
46 reviews
0.4 km away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#51 of 97 in Vientiane
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
New Lao Paris Hotel
New Lao Paris Hotel
#57 of 97 in Vientiane
105 reviews
0.1 km away
Sinnakhone Hotel
Sinnakhone Hotel
#35 of 97 in Vientiane
96 reviews
0.3 km away
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
Khampiane Boutique Hotel
#21 of 97 in Vientiane
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Lao Silk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Lao Silk Hotel

Address: Francois Ngin Street, Vientiane 0100, Laos
Region: Laos > Vientiane Prefecture > Vientiane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 97 Hotels in Vientiane
Price Range: ₹ 1,595 - ₹ 4,276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — New Lao Silk Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When visiting Vientiane, you'll feel right at home at New Lao Silk Hotel, which offers quality accommodation and great service. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. At New Lao Silk Hotel, the excellent service and superior facilities make for an unforgettable stay. Top features of the hotel include 24-hour room service, free Wi-Fi in all rooms, daily housekeeping, taxi service, ticket service. The ambiance of New Lao Silk Hotel is reflected in every guestroom. television LCD/plasma screen, mirror, towels, closet, internet access – wireless are just some of the facilities that can be found throughout the property. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. When you are looking for comfortable and convenient accommodations in Vientiane, make New Lao Silk Hotel your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your New Lao Silk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing