We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
209
94
40
43
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
94
40
43
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool table good vibes tuk tuk killing fields stayed here for nights great place to stay air conditioning the river siem reap backpackers pharmacy market palace
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

We booked a double room at 19 Happy House for three nights when we were in Phnom Penh. I have to say we were disappointed after reading such good reviews on Trip Advisor. Yes the room was cheap but the standard did not compare to the same priced accommodation we have had when travelling in Vietnam.
Pros: central, cheap, room had a fan
Cons: dark and very small room. Cockroaches. Bathroom backed onto staircase and door didn't close so would hear noise all through the night. In general, room very basic and run down. Bedding old and musty. Security of passports at front desk was circumspect. Didn't find the staff very friendly or professional.
The hostel might be great for young backpackers in a group but not for 30-something couple.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank KathrynF164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for the one night we were in Phnom Penh, was a fun place with clean rooms and the man Alex that works there is hilarious - would definatly recommend and I would stay here again if I ever come back to the the city

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Chantal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Alex, the guy who runs this hostel, is a legendary dude and will make sure you have a good time. He cares about his customers and the hostel, but isn't shy about getting a little crazy ;)

The vibe is chilled out, and there's a restaurant that is open until 1am. Rooms are basic, cheap, and clean. Common area has a good quality pool table, lots of chairs, and not-too-loud music with a good playlist. Wifi is hit or miss, unfortunately.

The address for this place is wrong, it is located on Street 13, NOT street 19, although if you wind up at the wrong place it's just a short walk here.

I would stay again just for the good vibes.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Bobby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

The staff are super friendly, rooms are clean, beers are cheap. Nice vibe in the common room/restaurant. Chilled day and night. Spent a lot of time here in the evenings relaxing and drinking beer! The manager assisted us with booking our trip to the Killing Fields and the museum, also our onward travel to Siem Reap making things very easy for us. I highly recommend happy house as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Lora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

19 happy house (On street 13) was recommended to me by a fellow traveler. The stay here was very enjoyable, all the staff made us very welcome as soon as we arrived. Alex the host here is the man, he will help you with anything during your stay, Really friendly,funny guy.
Beds where clean and comfortable, shower had the more pressure than any hostel I've stayed at in S.E.A
Recommend saying here if your in PP!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews