We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located Hotel With Large Rooms”
Review of Khmeroyal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Khmeroyal Hotel
Ranked #149 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well located Hotel With Large Rooms”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The Hotel Khmer Royal is getting quite old and in need of renovation, but that would increase the price of this very well located and budget hotel - so maybe put the renovations on hold.
The location next to the Foreign Correspondents Club (FCC) and many other restaurants and attractions is ideal for anyone staying in Phnom Penh. The hotel is also guest friendly.

Room Tip: Great location near a multitude of restaurants. Rooms are a bit shabby but of a good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thaifly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    46
    34
    22
    16
See reviews for
10
37
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Reasonably priced, excellent location fronting the Mekong River. However next door is building in progress and it can be noisy until 20:00 hrs

Room Tip: ask for, Front Room facing the river or on the opposite site of the Building in progress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

First night we had a room with river view. What they did not tell us that at 05:00 hrs an aerobic class starts on the boulevard with such loud music that we were unable to sleep anymore. Their response to our comment on this fact was 'it is so for the past 2 years..'. Normally you would check out and find another hotel but Phnom Penh is a very busy city so where to go? We asked them if they had another quiet room and they gave us a room with view to the palace. This was much better. The rooms are huge and with adequate bathrooms. The WiFi did not work in our room but did in the lobby. There are also PC's available in the lobby. Breakfast is poor. It is a bit run down but for the price you pay it is adequate and very centrally located.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khmeroyal, Owner at Khmeroyal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding our Hotel.
We are happy we were able to provide you with a more quiet room. As in all Cambodia local people wake up early. We understand about noise and we are doing our best to keep noise down in our hotel and we have asked the aerobics class in the park to lower their music.

We are working on improvements to our breakfast buffet and also the menu items. We also understand the Wi-Fi in some rooms has poor reception we are installing new equipment to remedy this problem. Also we have started a refurbishment of the hotel to make it a more pleasant experience.

I thank you for staying with us and hope to see you on your next visit to Cambodia.

Sincerely yours,
Yourin Ngim
Owner Khmer Royal Hotel
(AKA Khmeroyal Hotel )



.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

A rag tag of a place called a hotel is the best way to describe the Khmer Royal. Yes it is cheap but it comes at a price. For a few dollars more you can do so much better in Phnom Penh. The rooms are shabby with most items broken or not working properly. My air conditioner did not work at all and the lights switched on and off by themself so much I had to unscrew the light bulbs when trying to sleep. The hallway phone would start ringing every morning at 4.30am and ring every four or five minutes with one of the staff having a loud animated discussion for 30 seconds and then the whole process would start again. I found drugs in one of the bedside tables, the shower would sometimes work and usually stopped mid shower, the breakfast area is like a sauna and the breakfast is something an animal ethics committee would find unsuitable for pigs. The staff tried to be friendly and made the hell hole somewhat tolerable in short bursts.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wingz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Great location on the Mekong ,next to the Grand Palace, the room was spacious but not clean properly,many many items in the rooms were broken.
Reserved for 2 nites,but decided to leave after one nite. This is a $60 motel .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islanderbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 km away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#114 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#103 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 km away
Diamond Palace II
Diamond Palace II
#196 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Cozyna Hotel
Cozyna Hotel
#131 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 km away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#132 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.4 km away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#66 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khmeroyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khmeroyal Hotel

Property: Khmeroyal Hotel
Address: 383 Sisowath Quay, Sangkat Chey Chumnah, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,038 - ₹ 1,298
Hotel Class:3 star — Khmeroyal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khmeroyal Phnom Penh Restaurant & Bar Open-aired lunch and dining on the Basac & Mekong riverKhmeroyal VIP. upstair with AC. the best views on riverside, just step out a few minutes to King Palace, national museim & silver pagoda.The Khmeroyal menu introduces generous flourishes of traditional real Khmer flavors. While the menu is still built on Khmeroyal main-stays such as Angkor & Cambodia national draft beer with free salt-chili roasted peanut, deli-fresh sandwhiches, buger and khmer-made pizzas, the heart of the menu remains a finely crafted blend of Asian, Mediterranean and Western-influenced flavours.Open Bar on river serves all kinds of can cold drinks and beer, Kifo drinks menu and beers & wines in 24 hours, with comfortable chairs to sit and relax, look to Basac & Mekong river and a lot of tourists walking on riverside.Open Daily 6a.m. - MidnightHappy Hour 5:00 - 9:00 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Khmeroyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing