We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rates for a fading beauty, but bad experience”
Review of Khmeroyal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Khmeroyal Hotel
Ranked #149 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Hamburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great rates for a fading beauty, but bad experience”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I planned to stay at this hotel for three nights. The staff seemed very friendly, the room very spacious and with big windows. The price was definitely ok and even negotiable and came with breakfast incl, which I also thought was ok. You can tell that the hotel has seen better days and is a bit rundown, but the price also reflects that. It's not overpriced. Compared to other places on the river a real find!
I would hesitate in recommending it though, because the room to the riverfront was very noisy, not so much the street noise, but I've been woken up at 5:20am by an exercise class outside the window playing very loud music, but you can get that anywhere on that strip. Then I got a very precious ring stolen out of the room, that I just forgot to put back on. They do have safety boxes at the reception and make you sign that they are not to held responsible for 'losses'. The manager was correct and supportive to find the ring but I just didn't feel comfortable there anymore. So watch your stuff, use the lockers and you might have a real good stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danmark19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    46
    34
    22
    16
See reviews for
10
37
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Unless you are travelling on the cheap, don't even consider this place. Dirty old rooms, hot water heaters that burst in your room and minimal security (door keys work on multiple rooms). One good thing is the roof top terrace with nice views of the river.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hurleyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khmeroyal, Owner at Khmeroyal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Respond to Tripadvisor.com on Oct 7, 2010 by owner
“Terrible, don't stay here.”
Dear Reader,
Under new management, i checked all complaints on tripadvisor and the problems. i found out 1-all rooms are clean as the pictures on
http://www.khmeroyal.blogspot.com/2013/09/responded-to-tripadvisor-guests.html
2- all locks are different keys and all locks are expensive, bought from lock shop.
Maybe this customer is drunk and can not control them self.
We are welcome to this customer back to Khmeroyal Hotel to inspect and tell true, we offer 1 day free stay.

Thank you for your information.
Best regards,
Mr. Yourin Ngim
Owner of Khmeroyal & Neak Pean Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Phnom Penh hotels

Papamoa Beach
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2010

stayed here in Nov 09 after looking at most hotels along the Tonle Sap rivefront. rooms were standard but ours were very clean. great views with large opening windows (if you get a riverfront room) Met the owner who organised accomodation for us in Siam Reap at the other hotel he owns (Neak Pean) also organised a driver for us who took us up to Siam Reap and drove us around for 4 days, then bought us back to Phnom Penh. All in all, I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EuanMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2010

The hotel room was amazing, with clean sheets and bathroom. Fantastic view of the the main road and Mekong river. You can enjoy the buzzling city down below with children doing breakdancing and street stalls. Down side of a tiny sized lift for 3. But an overall good stay for affordable prices.

Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank maya_jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2010

We're a family of three and had a large room that overlooked the Meekong for $45US. It had a restaurant on the rooftop and breakfast was included in the price - buffet with a reasonable selection of both asian and western. Yep the rooms weren't the cleanest but definitely not the worst we looked at. Huge windows in our room so it was great watching all the boat traffic on the river, and all the locals by the river in the evening. We found the staff at this place extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble - looked after our luggage at reception till our bus came etc. Also has free internet in the lobby - 3 computers.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy-KevinF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 km away
Sovanphum Guesthouse
Sovanphum Guesthouse
#114 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#103 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 km away
Diamond Palace II
Diamond Palace II
#196 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Cozyna Hotel
Cozyna Hotel
#131 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.6 km away
Paragon Hotel
Paragon Hotel
#132 of 269 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.4 km away
Bougainvillier Hotel
Bougainvillier Hotel
#66 of 269 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khmeroyal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khmeroyal Hotel

Property: Khmeroyal Hotel
Address: 383 Sisowath Quay, Sangkat Chey Chumnah, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 269 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,038 - ₹ 1,298
Hotel Class:3 star — Khmeroyal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khmeroyal Phnom Penh Restaurant & Bar Open-aired lunch and dining on the Basac & Mekong riverKhmeroyal VIP. upstair with AC. the best views on riverside, just step out a few minutes to King Palace, national museim & silver pagoda.The Khmeroyal menu introduces generous flourishes of traditional real Khmer flavors. While the menu is still built on Khmeroyal main-stays such as Angkor & Cambodia national draft beer with free salt-chili roasted peanut, deli-fresh sandwhiches, buger and khmer-made pizzas, the heart of the menu remains a finely crafted blend of Asian, Mediterranean and Western-influenced flavours.Open Bar on river serves all kinds of can cold drinks and beer, Kifo drinks menu and beers & wines in 24 hours, with comfortable chairs to sit and relax, look to Basac & Mekong river and a lot of tourists walking on riverside.Open Daily 6a.m. - MidnightHappy Hour 5:00 - 9:00 p.m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Khmeroyal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing