We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Second time lucky” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mito Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mito Hotel
Ranked #63 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Perth, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Second time lucky”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed here as part of a Cambodian tour, two nights first, went to other destinations and then came back for a further night. The second time we got a better room. The hotel is older and does not have air-con in the corridors so going to your room is very hot and sticky. The rooms have air-con so that is OK and both our rooms overlooked the temple - as long as you didn't look down to the street scape. The hotel is in the middle of everything, you can walk to restaurants and a tuk-tuk will cost US$2 to get you to the river front where there are more restaurants and bars. You can walk to the central market and again get a tuk-tuk to the Russian market for very little. Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the temple, some of the ones at the back face onto a blank wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottsinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neou S, Manager at Mito Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Warmest greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh!

Many thanks to you for taking the time to share your travel experiences via Trip Advisor and you support in selecting Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh as the place for your accommodation during your trip to Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us during your time here in Phnom Penh. Although the hotel is a bit older than others, we may lack the aesthetics, beauty and modern facilities that newer and younger venues can offer, but we surly make up for in pleasant and helpful service, contributed by a team of our committed staff. However, we do have upgrades and improvements planned for the near future of Mittapheap Hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming your good-self, friends and family back to Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh in the near future to enjoy the genuine Khmer hospitality once again.

Thank You & Yours Truly,
Chanda Hun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    50
    37
    9
    11
See reviews for
15
36
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Stayed here as Gecko tour hotel in Phnom Penh. The hotel room was small and gloomy and a bit claustrophobic as were the corridors on each floor. The AC in the room was very tired and needed many hours to approach temp, it also failed to restart after a power outage, (we had 5 of them in 2 days). The bathroom floor was always awash from a leak out the bottom of the bath. Our travel companions all reported similar experiences so I think my report is pretty indicative of the place. Breakfast was a buffet with a fair selection of western and local foods however if you get there after 08:30 you will struggle to get a feed as replenishment of the dishes is "very" slow. My wife had a massage in the hotel and she said it was not good because of all the activity and noise being generated by the staff who didn't really care, what should have been a quiet relaxing atmosphere was worse than a street massage. The other hotel staff I must say were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was adequate, about the best I can say.The room cost is US$40, for a little extra money you can get a lot more value elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't get a massage here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neou S, Manager at Mito Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Warmest greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh!

Many thanks to you for taking the time to share your travel experiences via Trip Advisor and you support in selecting Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh as the place for your accommodation during your trip in Phnom Penh.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us during your time here in Phnom Penh. We apologize for the repeated power outage that you had experienced during your stay. It is something that commonly happens especially during that season here. However, we will look into ways to minimize the inconvenience and upgrade our back-up generator. As for the massage, we have noted to the management of the outlet regarding customer feedback.
Although Mittapheap Hotel is a bit older than others, we may lack the aesthetics, beauty and modern facilities that newer and younger venues can offer, but we surly make up for in pleasant and helpful service, contributed by a team of our committed staff. Thank you for noting how friendly and helpful the service staffs were. Management is very pleased to hear that.
In terms of the quality of the facilities in the hotel, we do have upgrades and improvements planned for the near future as well.

We are looking forward to welcoming your good-self, friends and family back to Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh in the near future to enjoy the genuine Khmer hospitality once again.

Thank You & Yours Truly,
Chanda Hun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
133 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

If you want a reasonable 3 star hotel near Central market, Wat Koh and Monivong Boulevard then the Mittapheap is a sensible choice. It is away from the tourist hub of Sisowath Quay but a tuk tuk or moto is always waiting outside the hotel to take you anywhere you want for $2 or $1 respectively. The rooms are reasonable (aircon, hot and cold water with a decent shower and bath, the internet works well, breakfast is nothing to write home about but the staff are pleasant and speak decent English). If $30 to $40 is your budget then it is fine and a safe choice in a city where hotel standards are changing all the time.

Room Tip: If you are happy with no window these internal rooms are quiet and good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug47london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neou S, Manager at Mito Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Warmest greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh!

Many thanks to you for taking the time to share your travel experiences via Trip Advisor and you support in selecting Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh as the place for your accommodation during your trip in Phnom Penh.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us during your time here in Phnom Penh..
Although Mittapheap Hotel is a bit older than others, we may lack the aesthetics, beauty and modern facilities that newer and younger venues can offer, but we surly make up for in pleasant and helpful service, contributed by a team of our committed staff. Thank you for noting how friendly and helpful the service staffs were. Management is very pleased to hear that.
In terms of the quality of the facilities in the hotel, we do have upgrades and improvements planned for the near future as well.

We are looking forward to welcoming your good-self, friends and family back to Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh in the near future to enjoy the genuine Khmer hospitality once again.

Thank You & Yours Truly,
Chanda Hun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Manage your expectations and I think you won't be disappointed. This hotel nicely fills the gap between true budget hotels and more Western styled upscale properties.

A bit pricey compared to other area budget hotels, but it does offer a bit more as well. Notably, a traditional spa next to the lobby, 24-hour reception desk, decent security and nice cafe and restaurant.

Breakfast on the terrace was very nice way to start the day.

Immaculate rooms, decent wi-fi. In-room phones were sporadically out of service.

Has a lift (elevator) which not many Phnom Penh budget hotels have.

Well situated. Not on the riverfront or near the bars, but PNH is a great walking city and I routinely walked just about everywhere. A tuk-tuk to the riverside should never be more than $2 unless late at night when you may have to pay $3. Again, I suggest just walking.

English was spoken reasonably well by one-person working at all times, communication not a true problem.

Foot massage in the spa was excellent, but a few dollars more than most other places. The girls all seemed upset with tips (>50%) that would make other ladies in other shops smile. I think it was just a well rehearsed con, and that persuaded me not to go back after a few visits. The great massage wasn't worth the poor experience at the end.

Room Tip: get an interior room to avoid street sound. You lose the window, but you really won't want to s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neou S, Manager at Mito Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Warmest greetings from Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh!

Many thanks to you for taking the time to share your travel experiences via Trip Advisor and you support in selecting Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh as the place for your accommodation during your trip in Phnom Penh.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us during your time here in Phnom Penh, and your saying, “Manage your expectations and you won’t be disappointed”, is ultimately correct to say since Mittapheap Hotel started off and still remains to be a true budget hotel. However, we aim to provide more than the average budget hotels in town, but as with all things, progress take time and we greatly appreciate the understanding and patience from guests such as you.
Although Mittapheap Hotel is a bit older than others, we may lack the aesthetics, beauty and modern facilities that newer and younger venues can offer, but we surly make up for in pleasant and helpful service, contributed by a team of our committed staff. Thank you for noting how friendly and helpful the service staffs were. Management is very pleased to hear that.
As for the quality of service at the massage, we will make note to the management of the outlet and see to it that they have plans for improve quality of service.
In terms of the quality of the facilities in the hotel, we do have upgrades and improvements planned for the near future as well.

We are looking forward to welcoming your good-self, friends and family back to Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh in the near future to enjoy the genuine Khmer hospitality once again.

Thank You & Yours Truly,
Chanda Hun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phom penh
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Mittapheap mean Friendship is located in the heart of business center and only 15 minutes away from Phnom Penh International Airport. It's only a few minute walk to central market, shopping centers and the main tourist attractions of Wat Phnom Tonle Sap river, Royal Palace, National and Toul Sleng museums.

Remember! only Mittapheap Hotel offers one stop services such as business center, foot massage, amusement club, café bar, local and seafood restaurants, digital image center, photo studio, Tour Desk and other shops and night clubs just a few minutes walks.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mittapheap H, Front Office Manager at Mito Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Ly,

First we would like to say thank you so much for spending your time to review on trip advisor. Your review is so important to us

We do hope to welcome your good-self, friends and family back to Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh in the near future to enjoy the genuine Khmer hospitality once again.

Thanks & Regard
Neou Sitha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
3.4 km away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#39 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.3 km away
Salita Hotel
Salita Hotel
#81 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.0 km away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#59 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Zing
Hotel Zing
#92 of 274 in Phnom Penh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
2.6 km away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Rose Emerald Hotel
Rose Emerald Hotel
#83 of 274 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mito Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mito Hotel

Property: Mito Hotel
Address: No. 11, St.174 Oknha Ket Rd (Corner of Monivong Blvd) | Sangkat Boeung Rang, Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12211, Cambodia (Formerly Mittapheap Hotel)
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
#33 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,879 - ₹ 2,617
Hotel Class:3 star — Mito Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MITO Hotel is a 3 Stars, newly renovated business hotel in the heart of Phnom Penh. Blessed with premier central location, bustling city center, diverse international clientele of business men, entrepreneurs, adventurers, MITO Hotel is the preferred choice for business and leisure travelers. Situated on 4 Floors, and 80 rooms, our accommodation type ranges from Superior, Deluxe, Deluxe Star, VIP, and Family Suite. Each type having its own designated style, décor, and amenities simple enough to make guests feel like home. Our Deluxe Star rooms are the new additions to our previous room types, adding more comforts, more personality and elements of art and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Mito Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mittapheap Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing