We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
11
40
56
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
40
56
6
10
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 123 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2013

There is no great ambiance here, but room was clean, I slept well, felt safe, etc. There was nothing wrong with this place, but nothing exciting about it either. To me, this is totally fine because I don't like to pay a lot for a hotel room when i really just want to sleep there and feel safe. We only stayed one night because we had reservations another place for the other nights, but I would recommend it. I am not sure if the staff speaks good english since my Cambodian partner made the reservation and spoke to the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 660MichelleB660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

If this is your first night in S.E. Asia, it might be a bit of a shock. The sink plumbs directly onto the bathroom floor and there is no shower recess (also onto te floor). But the beds were comfortable and the room is pretty clean. It is not near any tourist attractions, but there is a good resteraunt and tourist booking service downstairs (Both Part f the Capitol franchise), including an at rate currency exchange. The price was ver economical and they were able to cater to a large group. I also used the laundry service and it was quick and cheap. The staff spoke good English and were helpful. Perhaps an option fr the seasoned traveller, but I enjoyed my stay here. A/C included.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Ewan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Stayed here in September - staff responded to email to confirm the booking, double room, air-con, hot water bathroom, $10.

Although the guest house itself is a bit like a rabbit warren, probably fire safety issues (!), the room itself was clean and very large. The staff were also very helpful when booking onward bus tickets, with the Capitol Bus Company's bus station just around the corner.

The only negative is the location being slightly out of town, and the ever present tuk-tuk touts down the stairs on the street outside. That said, at least you can get a tuk-tuk easily, and there are plenty of drivers so you can bargain easily. To the riverbank cost us around $2.

If I'm ever back in Phnom Penh, I'd be happy to stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjsw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

I've stayed at Capitol GH numerous times since 2007, usually for weeks or months at a time. This is a classic no-frills, down-and-dirty backpacker place, richly deserving of the cliche "you get what you pay for."

Rooms are basic and the low room price is hard to beat anywhere in Phnom Penh. The reception staff are friendly and helpful, but the cleaning staff are less likely to be friendly and most speak no English. The downstairs travel desk inside the hotel's dirty, disgusting restaurant is a great place to buy a Vietnam visa (1, 3 and 6 month visas are available) and cheap bus tickets on Capitol's own reliable bus network. There's an ATM by the travel desk.

Outside, the neighborhood is a tasteless, noisy urban jungle. Capitol GH may be "centrally located" on a map of Phnom Penh, but it is close to nothing of interest. The Riverside, Central Market and Russian Market tourist areas are all a long ways off, so you'll want to hire one of the persistent tuk-tuk's to get you there.

Eating options near Capitol GH are limited. In the same street and block as Capitol's entrance is Dragon Guesthouse which has a delightful little upstairs restaurant. Friendly staff, good food, reasonable prices.

In the next street to the west is Mama restaurant, a friendly little place where I take breakfast most mornings. Scrambled or fried eggs, a warm baguette and a pot of Cambodian tea comes to $1.25, and a generous fruit salad is $1.50. A block further south in this same street is Royal India, a surprisingly good Indian restaurant with top-notch, flavorful Indian food at great prices. Other nearby places are dodgy and not recommended.

Be warned -- Capitol GH is a fire trap. There are lots of rooms on several floors -- and a single narrow stairway that everyone would have to use at once to escape. On the building's other side there is another stairway but it is padlocked. All the windows are barred. Depending on where a fire breaks out, a lot of guests will have a tough time escaping. There are no fire alarms and no fire sprinklers. And in Phnom Penh there is no credible fire department to come to your rescue. You're on your own.

Phnom Penh is a gritty place, and Capitol Guesthouse fits right in. Hard to recommend it for the preceding reasons. But it's been home to plenty of backpackers, and if your budget's tight it might work for you. Good luck!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I first stayed here beeing a backpacker in 1995 and it is still running.
Efficient service and basic needs providing at rock bottom price.
Staying here won't give you the best reputation as it is (mostly) frequented by guests on a low budget and sex-tourists but if you are not looking for luxury it is a great deal.
Belonging to this guesthouse is a reliable bus-service and a basic restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cambostef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews