We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bougainvillier Hotel
Ranked #90 of 281 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

It's with a heavy heart that I'm writing this review! We stayed there 9 years ago, on our first trip to Cambodia. We loved it so much that we decided to stay there again on our current trip.
What a disappointment!
Long gone is the lovely restaurant and the high standards they used to have. There is still the character and the lovely antique furniture but it's tired and doesn't feel particularly clean. The curtains were grey with dust or old age or both.
There were 3 of us, including our 10 yr old son. We were given a room with a double bed that we felt was big enough to share for 1 night.
We asked for an extra pillow - there were only 2 - and we were given a folded duvet and told there were no extra pillows. Really ?
The air conditioning was not working properly and despite setting it on 19 degrees and using the wall mounted fan too, we had a very hot and stuffy night and very little sleep.
The mattress was antique too and quite uncomfortable.
We had to ask for an extra towel as only two were provided. Shower was leaking and the water was tepid although we didn't mind that too much given the hot room.
Breakfast was rather basic and we were charged $6.5 for our son ' s breakfast. It could have been amazing, given that it was served on the rooftop terrace, with an amazing view of the Mekong.
At checkout, we had to pay cash, but there's a cash point just outside the hotel.
This hotel has bags of potential, including great location and very helpful staff. The lady in charge was very helpful and lovely. But the discrete charm and great standards are gone, which is a great shame.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank sylvadianu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (425)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017

I stayed here for 2 nights and found this hotel to be very luxurious, clean and in a great riverfront location. The rooms are very well kept, ours had en suite shower and toilet, also 4 poster bed and TV, fridge etc. The best thing about this place is the Skybar which overlooks the Mekong river - a great place to have a beer. The buffet breakfast was also good, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside is there is no lift.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dannyboyhtfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel which got very small lobby. Staff was very friendly. We were given room on first floor went to open the room someone was already staying in the room. Than gave us room on 3 floor and worst thing is that they don’t even have the lift. Breakfast was good. Won’t stay again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Harbir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

I stayed in a nice room with riverfront view and big balcony. Hotel is in very convenient location and staff are great.

I would only like to see a little better breakfast than the current bread buffet with only few choices, it also seems to be the same every morning. Also one of the morning there was no breakfast at all and no staff also upstairs.

Otherwise I had a great time.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Great lill find along the riverfront , only disappointment was only had the one night there ! Upgraded for an extra $20 to a room with a view overlooking the river .. this is a must ! Room was massive but best part was the furniture and the views ! The antique furniture is beautiful , think I took more photos of the furniture than the view ! Breaky was very basic and it's a nice healthy walk up to the top floor. No lifts like many of the hotels , but good exercise after all the cheap beer and yum food! Location was perfect right in the middle of everything.. couple of beers on the balcony as the moon rises was awesome . Be checking in here next time I'm back.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank dirkd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.3 km away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#58 of 281 in Phnom Penh
613 reviews
1.8 km away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#80 of 281 in Phnom Penh
382 reviews
0.7 km away
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
Eureka Villas Phnom Penh
#44 of 281 in Phnom Penh
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#61 of 281 in Phnom Penh
533 reviews
3.5 km away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
0 km away
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
Ohana Phnom Penh Palace Hotel
#59 of 281 in Phnom Penh
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillier Hotel

Address: # 277C Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#48 Spa Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: ₹ 1,992 - ₹ 5,591 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bougainvillier Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the riverfront in the touristic and lively area, Bougainvillier Hotel is a perfect place for all guests to explore the top Phnom Penh Landmarks such as 3 minute walking to the Royal Palace, Silver Pagoda, National Museum, Banks and Night market. The Phnom Penh International Airport is a 25 minute driver away.Guests can enjoy free use of the outdoor pool and sauna facilities located just 35 metres from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bougainvillier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillier Hotel Phnom Penh
Bougainvillier Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing