We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel, with a few setbacks”
Review of Hotel Cambodiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Cambodiana
Ranked #96 of 274 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I stayed at the Cambodiana on a school trip. Overall, the hotel was great. The staff were very friendly, and they made you feel very welcome. I liked how when you left the hotel at any given time, you could give your room key to reception and they would hold onto it for you until you got back, I was very pleased with that, it was extremely convenient. They had a wonderful breakfast in the morning, they had great pancakes and omelettes, which took them about 20 seconds to make, and you could watch them make it. I was also very pleased with the swimming pool, even though I found it odd there was no hot tub, but there was this thing you could go in above the pool. I liked below the pool there was a field and a patch of sand you could go to, where you had a great view of the river. I also enjoyed the steam room they have. The rooms were big and very comfortable, I felt really comfortable in the beds at the hotel. I found it odd though that it was an actual key to the room, and not the card key, and that there was a slot you needed to insert your key into in order to get power. Me and my room-mate overcame this problem by inserting the knife with the complimentary fruits in the room into the slot. The computers were mostly reliable, even though the ones on my floor were not. I would have liked to get free WI-FI, it got expensive. I also had trouble with the personal safe you had in the room, even though I think it was just a problem with mine, everyone else`s were fine. The bakery was fabulous, I loved the doughnuts, I will never forget them. I also liked the fact that you had bottled water in your room, no charge.

So all in all, it is a great hotel, but there is room for improvement, improvements they can easily make, and probably will. If you plan on going to Phnom Penh, do yourself a favour and stay at Hotel Cambodiana.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 218 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed for one night on the 4th of April 2012. The hotel allowed for early check in and it was pretty efficient despite the ASEAN summit and security is pretty tight.

The room is spacious, bed is comfy, bathroom is small but user friendly. the rooms overlooking the mekong river is awesome..The hair dryer is missing though... WIFI is available in the room.

The breakfast is generous. The noodle bar is excellent. No regrets staying here for the breakfast. The hotel also has a coffee place whcih serves good pastries too.

I have stayed here in 2007 and felt that the service is still good and perhaps, some of the rooms need a little upgrading.

Good stay.. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vignesh215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Nice hotel, great location towards Mekong River. I stayed at 5th fl, spacious room with Mekong River view. Friendly staffs, walking distance restaurants and also King's Palace. I would definitely stay here again when I come back to Cambodia. ;)

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NhazzlaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Our room was in the fifth floor, big one and clean.That floor has a check in lady of its own, very nice. For that floor also there was a complimentary small snack buffet and wine between 17-19, very nice too. Breakfast was good enough. I hated very thick pillows and asked if they would find thinner for me. I got more those thick ones. Beds were otherwise good. More light is needed. Very expensive Wi-Fi - and yet very slow. For me that was the biggest minus. The temperature was 35 deg. Celsius when we spent 3 nights there. It was not comfortable in that heath to walk to the restaurants. Crossing the road from the hotel for walking is difficult. Pedestrians seems to be free game. So tuktuk was needed all the time. Otherwise the location by the river is good, peaceful, nice wiev but it is not where the life in the town is. Tuktuks are cheap and easy to get, so it helps.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sipila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel is adequate and rooms on the top floor are better than the ones on the lower floors.
I had a river view.But no balcony.
Breakfast was ok.
Cambonia is definately a 3rd world country and still recovering from the civil war.
Internet is chargable.Watch out for very expensive bar charges.

Room Tip: Top floor I think it was 4th floor.Also have a exec roof restraunt avaliable for top floor guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alanpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 km away
Himawari Hotel Apartments
Himawari Hotel Apartments
#29 of 274 in Phnom Penh
627 reviews
3.0 km away
Phnom Penh Hotel
Phnom Penh Hotel
#86 of 274 in Phnom Penh
401 reviews
0.3 km away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#25 of 274 in Phnom Penh
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
Patio Hotel & Urban Resort
#20 of 274 in Phnom Penh
579 reviews
0.7 km away
The Pavilion
The Pavilion
#10 of 274 in Phnom Penh
2,534 reviews
1.5 km away
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
SUN & MOON, Urban Hotel
#17 of 274 in Phnom Penh
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cambodiana? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cambodiana

Address: 313 Sisowath Quay, Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: ₹ 5,838 - ₹ 7,201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cambodiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the banks of the famous Mekong River, the magnificent Hotel Cambodiana is located in the heart of Phnom Penh's central business and tourist districts, offering visitors convenient access to all that Phnom Penh has to offer. ROOMS & ACCOMMODATION 239 rooms -Superior, Deluxe, Mekong Club Floor, Junior Suites and Executive Suites. Accommodation for long stay-guests is also available. FOOD AND BEVERAGE Banqueting and Conferencing with 10 Meeting rooms; 2 Restaurants (L'Amboise and Mekong Restaurant); 3 Bars (Breeze Poolside Bar, Lobby Bar, QBA); 1 Bakery Shop (La Brioche Bakery); 24-hour Room Service; Outside Catering Services. Ample outdoor spaces (Mekong Deck, Chaktomuk Garden, Promenade) for private function SHOP AND OFFICE SPACE Total 41 units of office space and shop. HEALTH AND LEISURE Open to hotel guests and Physique Club members, our recreation and fitness facilities combine top of the range equipment with the best Mekong view in Phnom Penh. Gym facilities with steam and sauna, Swimming Pool, 2 Tennis Courts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Cambodiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambodiana Hotel Phnom Penh
Cambodiana Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing