We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raffles Hotel Le Royal
Nearby Hotels
US$ 81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 61
US$ 50
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Langka(Phnom Penh)
US$ 52
US$ 50
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
G Mekong Hotel(Phnom Penh)
US$ 54
US$ 46
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 41
US$ 40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Pavilion(Phnom Penh)
US$ 83
US$ 76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TeaHouse(Phnom Penh)
US$ 39
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Anise Hotel(Phnom Penh)
US$ 37
US$ 36
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Mansion(Phnom Penh)
US$ 98
US$ 88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Blue Lime(Phnom Penh)
US$ 47
US$ 46
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,139)
Filter reviews
2,139 results
Traveller rating
1,409
517
137
52
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,409
517
137
52
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselephant barlandmark roombutler servicethe fine dining restaurantcolonial charmoriginal buildingelegant hotelfive star hotelduring happy hourbreakfast buffetsiem reapmain buildingpool viewtuk tukwelcome drinkan oasissmall balcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,441 - 1,446 of 2,139 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in February 2012, and had a wonderful experience. The reviews are true – honestly. The hotel is in a wonderful old fashioned building about 5 mins walk from the riverfront. As soon as you walk in you feel you have been transported back about 100 years. Calming music playing in the lobby, black and white tiled floors, wide corridors stretching into the distance, heavy and ornate wooden furniture. Really lovely.

The rooms follow the same style. Old fashioned (but comfortable) fittings, very high ceilings, shutters on the window. We overlooked the pool, which was also very nice – our 4 year old spent plenty of time splashing around in the water, while we enjoyed the complimentary cold water and fruit kebabs.

The hotel personnel are excellent. Very attentive to detail, and quick to respond to queries or problems. Breakfast was very nice, with a range of different stations (e.g. pancakes, fresh fruit). We also ate in the café one evening – the prices are more expensive than the other tourist restaurants in Phnom Penh, but not terribly so, and the food was pretty good.

The only problem for me was that the tiled corridors and heavy wooden doors meant I heard a fair bit of noise on my first evening. However when I raised it with the front desk they upgraded me to a larger and quieter room, at no cost. Which is indicative of the attention to detail.

So if you can, then Le Royal has to be the top choice in Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanSteely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Valued Resident,

I would like to thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor and for your wonderful comments about the hotel, it's services and our colleagues. I am glad that my colleagues were able to accommodate you in a suitable room of your liking.

It has been a pleasure having you with us we are all delighted that your stay with us was memorable, enchanting and above your expectations. As the Raffles Credo suggests, a hotel is something beyond its location, its décor and its amenities; it is a place where you are cared for so well that you want to come back again.

On that note we look forward to welcoming you back soon to Raffles Hotel Le Royal, our residential sanctuary in the heart of Phnom Penh.

Kindest Regards
Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed in a landmark room for 3 nights at this hotel. Service was impeccable and staff were extremely helpful, right from the butler to the concierge. Rooms are very clean and still maintain that vintage, old world charm (much like the rest of the hotel). Pool area was probably my favorite part of the hotel. The only negative point I can think of is the lack of dining options - hotel restaurants are limited, but the quality of food was still fantastic for whatever was on offer. Good location, very close to wat phnom and sisowath quay. Would definitely come back for a repeat stay/visit!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Manav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Valued Resident,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at Raffles Hotel Le Royal and it has been a pleasure having you with us.

The entire team of Raffles Hotel Le Royal, in particular our butlers and concierges are delighted to know that your stay with us was memorable and enchanting.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Raffles Hotel Le Royal, our residential sanctuary in the heart of Phnom Penh.

With kind regards,
Richard Schestak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

it was kind of like going back in time. they SERVED you at this hotel. with smiles. with greeting you by name. well dressed in their uniforms.
the pool setting is awesome amongst the beautiful gardens. the butler service...sheez i need this at home! splurge and stay here once in your life.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Dear Valued Resident,

My team and I were truly delighted when reading your kind compliments in regards to our hotel, services and attention to details. Such comments are of great motivation to everyone and inspire our colleagues further to keep on striving to exceed expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you soon back to Raffles.

With kindest regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

From the moment we entered we knew we had hit the jackpot for our 3 night stay Great welcome,Lovely room over the pool ,clean and to a high standard..All the bars were comfortable the Elephant Bar by all the best and needs to be enjoyed by all Service was excellent ,really good ,addressed by name , all the restaurants could not be faulted we ate in all .Menus and quality of food and presentation all top.Breakfast again very good .The pool was relaxing and welcomed after a busy day sightseeing.with cold face towels and complimentary water when you sat down.The hotel was busy with functions but never were the staff stretched too far not to do their very best at all times....Now for Singapore !!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Dear Valued Resident,

I was very pleased to read that you felt like ‘’hitting the jackpot” when arriving at Raffles Hotel Le Royal. My entire team was delighted about your praises which are great levers of motivation for them.

As the Raffles Credo states, a hotel is something beyond its location, its décor and its amenities; it is a place where you are cared for so well that you want to come back again.

On that note we look forward to welcoming you back soon to Raffles Hotel Le Royal, our residential sanctuary in the heart of Phnom Penh.

With kindest regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

From the moment we arrived at Raffles, we were given amazing service. Our butler Mao was fantastic making sure our room was perfect to making sure we had tea delivered to our room as we arrived back from sightseeing and dinner.
This hotel is beautifully appointed with an old world feel. Breakfast was lovely with everything you wanted and more. Again the service could not be faulted. We choose to sit outside on the verandah area.
The hotel is located in a quiet area away from the traffic. Ask for a room looking over the pool. We stayed in the Landmark rooms which is in the original part of the hotel. The room is lovely with all you need for a short stay.
Everything is just a short tuk tuk ride away... $2-5 return to the riverfront where you find lots a nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b0nditraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RLR-GM, General Manager at Raffles Hotel Le Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Dear Valued Resident,

I would like to thank you for staying with us at Raffles Hotel Le Royal and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

It has been a pleasure having you with us and I am delighted that your stay with us was memorable, enchanting and above your expectations.

As the Raffles Credo suggests, a hotel is something beyond its location, its décor and its amenities; it is a place where you are cared for so well that you want to come back again.

On that note we look forward to welcoming you back soon to Raffles Hotel Le Royal, our residential sanctuary in the heart of Phnom Penh.

With kind regards,

Richard Schestak
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews