We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Ranked #46 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

In the madness that is Phnom Penh, this is a very relaible hotel. We were here for only 2 nights but certainly enjoyed our stay. The staff were great and my friend and I were always talking with them.
We stayed in room 104, two twin beds. The A/C in the room wasn't very strong but the fan also helped. There is a smell from the bathroom but they have some kind of lemon-scent that covers it really well.
The pool isn't very big but big enough to swim around and enjoy, which you need to in most months in phnom penhh. Can order food and they will bring it pool side. On the 4th floor, I loved sitting up against the ledge and look out at the city and enjoy my breakfast.
Tuk-tuk drivers can take you anywhere you need to go for a reasonable price, can haggle with them for a dollar or two.
The only thing I didn't like was location, I would have prefer to stay near riverside and walk to restaurants and pubs. But a quick tuk-tuk will take you there. Not much street-lights at night, but not really too sketch. To be safe, use one of the tuk-tuks to get anywhere.
If I were to come back to Phnom Penh I don't know if this place would be my first choice b/c I want something closer to riverside. For those who want a quality place with great service, come here!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear Matthew, thanks for taking out time review the hotel and for your kind words. Since we opened in a former UN peacekeeping force headquarter (established right after the fall of khmer rouge) we had to fight a few teething problems. Our guests were kind and their feedback helped us improve our services. We did notice that a few bathrooms did have a wierd smell which we have taken care of by flushing out the drain system again. The citronella oil burning is to give guests a fresh aroma and a repreive from the day in town. Should you choose a quieter stay on your next visit to Phnom Penh, we would be delighted to host you again. Good luck and safe travels.
Best,
Monument Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    118
    42
    10
    0
See reviews for
43
135
39
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Monument Hotel, booked via Agoda at just over $40USD per night with breakfast included. Breakfast is adequate - buffet style (tea/coffee, cereal, juice and hot cooked dish which changes daily) and you can order eggs (omlette, fried, scrambled). Cable TV and wifi.

There's a small pool with 4 deck chairs out the front - slightly awkward given that guests are coming and going but a much needed relief from the heat (April is HOT in Phnom Penh). Staff were always professional. Take a business card with you when you leave the hotel - you'll probably forget where you're staying. A good landmark is the Independence Monument. Having said that, if you don't know how to get back from the monument then good luck to you!

Rooms were simple but adequate. Our air conditioner dripped badly on the first night making everything on the bench below it very wet. Luckily nothing electrical was on the bench and the staff promptly addressed the issue before we returned that evening.

There's a funky smell (not uncommon in Asia) coming up from the bathroom drain - easy solution, leave the the exhaust fan on!

No lift so ask the staff to help you carry your bags if you need help.

Room Tip: We had Room 204 which was fine. I would try and avoid rooms on the first / ground floor because of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelMonki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear TravelMonki,
Thanks a lot for taking out time to review our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are sincerely sorry for the aircon dripping problem your room had. We have a staff on duty solely for maintenance so that any such problems are taken care of immediately. while we do preventive maintenance on all our electrical items sometimes they give in. Customers like yourself are kind and understanding and the encouragement we get keeps us working hard to manage and exceed your expectations. The bathroom smell that you mentioned indeed was something which we noticed in some bathrooms on the left wing of the hotel. Since then we have flushed the entire hotel drainage system. The hotel is newly opened in a former UN headquarter for their peace keeping mission which was sent right after the fall of the khmer rouge. We had a huge task to do in order to bring the hotel in the way it is now.

Since we are new it took the tuktuk drivers a few weeks to realize where our hotel was but i think now the whereabouts of the hotel have propagated through the entire tuktuk community :) We hope we can welcome you again to our property and thank you again for staying with us.

Kind regards,
Monument Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aargau, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I don't normally write reviews...this is my first!
For our wonderful stay there.....the monument hotel really deserves one!!! the beds are great, the location is great and most importantly its clean. Pretty much all that matters to us is clean, comfortable and centrally located. We would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKH_ALC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Hi,
Thanks so much for your review and rating us so highly. We appreciate your feedback and hopefully will be your first choice when you visit the pehn again. Safe travels and all the best wishes from Monument hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I stayed two nights at Monument Hotel last month and as it was new, everything is rather nice..
Location is not too bad and a pretty short walk to everything.. the street it is on can be a little quiet at night but it feels rather safe.

Breakfast is small but adequate. Do not expect breakfast like you get in 3 or 4 or 5 star hotels.. it is more akin to breakfast in budget hotels.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs, do let the hotel know in advance to you put you on ground or lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravellerSIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear WorldtravlerSIN,
Thanks for taking out time to write a review for our proprty. We are happy that we were able to meet your expectations and we hope to welcome you again to the hotel. We have taken great care in ensuring that all the important aspects of a comfortable hotel stay are met with. We encourage all our customers to give us feedback on feedback@monumenthotel.com so that we may include our customers suggestions in our daily operations. For the breakfast that you mentioned we would appreciate feedback on what you would lile included in the menu and we will surely see how we can improve it further. We hope to see you again and wish you all the best in your travels.
Kind regards,
Monument Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at the Monument in mid-March for my mum's birthday. The three of us arrived early in the morning and my parents' room was not ready despite my e-mailing ahead. I was initially annoyed, but the waiting time was cut short as the receptionist Meng was able to whisk up a great double deluxe facing the pool. It had a cool 4-poster king-sized bed & the room was quite large. The problematic air-conditioning was fixed and working perfectly after. My parents' request for a rubber bath mat was promptly attended to even though the hotel probably didn't have those to begin with. Our requests for extra hairdryer & electric kettle-jug were also immediately attended to. Daily breakfast on the 4th floor was simple, but tasty - flapjacks & french toast with maple syrup on some days, and a daily menu of eggs any way you want, cereal & muesli (they even had skim milk ;) wholemeal bread & juices. Omelettes were great and they also had rice. The café does gourmet coffees too. The saltwater swimming pool at the hotel is great - I was there every night :)The only downside of the hotel is that it has no elevator - but with the bellboy's help, this shouldn't be a problem for most people. The hotel's young English manager Oliver and receptionist Long were very friendly and as I mentioned, did their best to make our stay a good one. I'd highly recommend the Monument, which, by the way, smells like a lemony spa - to other travelers. The hotel has a central location, is still very new and offers definite value for money. In a country that's still finding its way, the Monument is a forecast of better things to come. Good show, guys :)

HOTEL FEATURE TIP

There's a permanent group of tuk tuk drivers at the Monument entrance. It costs about 4USD to most places in town. Don't be afraid to haggle, plus they'll do a return trip for 7USD ;) They go on a rotation basis and can't cut the queue (tuk tuk honor ;) So, if you find a driver you like, be sure to book him for your upcoming trip. Otherwise, you'll have to settle for whoever's next in the queue when you come out. The hotel is within walking distance of Phnom Penh's famed Independence Monument and about 15 minutes from the Royal Palace, Russian & Central Markets and riverfront restaurants.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with double deluxe, pool view. Don't select a room down the other end fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonumentHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Jasmin Monument Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Dear globalgirl,
Thank you for writing a splendid review of our property. I am happy that Ollie and his team left a good impression on you and we hope to see you again. I would just like to mention that despite our check out times being fixed, some guests stay a bit longer while some do not return to the hotel on time to check out as per the check out times. We try to be as accommodative as possible and strive to make sure the guests have a memorable and a happy stay with us. In some cases where the room is booked by someone else checking in the same day, and if we are full then it can happen that the room is not ready before the standard check in time of 2pm. This however is rather an anomaly than a norm. Customers like yourselves are generally very understanding while we try our best to make sure the departimg guests and the ones checking in have a smooth transition. Having said that, we hope to see you again at our hotel and sincerely appreciate your encouraging review.
Kind regards,
Monument Hot Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.7 km away
New Midtown Hotel
New Midtown Hotel
#38 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.8 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
2.0 km away
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
#19 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Diamond Palace Resort and Sky Bar
2.0 km away
The Frangipani Living Arts Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
King Grand Boutique Hotel
King Grand Boutique Hotel
#26 of 265 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jasmin Monument Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jasmin Monument Hotel

Property: Jasmin Monument Hotel
Address: 29 #22s Street | BKK1, Tonlebassac, Chamkarmon, Phnom Penh 12101, Cambodia (Formerly Monument Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 265 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,605 - ₹ 2,825
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jasmin Monument Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel in a restored building that housed post Khmer Rouge UN Peacekeeping force. Monument Hotel, with its boutique rooms, offers guests a secluded and tranquil refuge from the bustling city. Enjoy your stay in any one of our carefully designed rooms. Start your day with our signature complimentary breakfast, relax at our salt water pool and sleep on our custom made pocket spring mattresses just like at home. It's not us; our guests say we have the best beds in Asia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, HostelWorld and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Jasmin Monument Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing