We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King Grand Boutique Hotel
Ranked #25 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Regensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“More than we expected”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

YES to this hotel. We were warmly welcome and throughout our stay, we only encountered friendly, helpful staffs. The location is great, take a stroll around the corner and you will find lots of food vendors and restuarants. Need your laundry to be cleaned? Go opposite the hotel, you pay 2 USD for 1kg laundry, which is ready in no time. I would also recommend a foot massage near the hotel after a long sightseeing day in Phnom Penh. One of the best I had in Cambodia.

The bed was comfy, the room was clean, bathroom was chic.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eurasian68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    319
    93
    23
    6
See reviews for
92
303
106
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Great location, comfortable rooms (with TV, AC, fridge, safe and free wifi), friendly staff, good breakfasts and two pools (rooftop with a view and ground level). The hotel does not particularly promote its small restaurant, but much to our surprise, when we wanted a light lunch, it served yummy, subtly spiced Asian salads.

Had some quibbles with the booking agent (who I assume was not part of the hotel staff but rented a desk in the lobby). He hired a driver to take us to Siem Reap whom he insisted was fluent in English. Aside from "hello," the driver's English vocabulary was non-existent, although his driving skills were very good and his car roomy, comfortable and air conditioned.

But overall, the hotel staff, amenities and accommodations were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BXbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

At last there's an affordable small hotel in a city noted for many low-priced rooms, but lacking any kind of modern touch or service culture. King Grand reflects the trend to "boutique" properties around the world, at the lower price end....it's not exactly the Surrey or Mr. and Mrs. Smith, New York....but carefully designed, furnished in minimalist Khmer style, clean and comfortable. Location is great, two small pools are a plus, breakfasts are generous [cappuccino included] and service culture is outstanding. Room lighting, so often poor in this part of the world, is excellent...there's enough light to read! Bathroom [shower only] is small but everything works and there's a glass partition to stop the toilet and floor getting deluged, which is a common problem in many Asian hotels. Brand new, fluffy white towels.Flat screen TV with about 70 channels, plus DVD player to check those pirate disks you were given by a friend! Downsides: the A/C tends to blow on to the bed, and there's no fan if that's what you prefer during the night; and the standard rooms might be too small for some people, especially couples unless they're really good friends! Ideal for singles, though.
Overall, a real find.

Room Tip: Check in early if you can, and ask to see two or three rooms to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phearless phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

My partner and I loved this hotel. Great rooms, really lovely. Staff were also lovely and extremely helpful. Breakfast was fantastic...so fresh and delicious. Swimming pool had a few pluming problems while there, so couldn't swim, but these things do happen. Quick walk to town but out of the main hustle and bustle which we liked. Highly recommend to all.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felicity77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

King Grand Boutique is located no more than a ten minute walk from the Royal Palaces and on the central boulevard, and you're no more than a short tuk-tuk ride away from most of the attractions of the city. The tuk-tuk drivers who assemble outside the hotel can be a pain in the backside with their constant hassling, but I doubt that's anything the hotel have any control over.

The staff provide a very polite and caring welcome, they really can't do enough. They served a wide ranged breakfast and the bar service was second to none on the ground floor and both pool areas.

Our room was situated in the apartment complex that is linked to the King Grand Boutique and were informed this was 'an upgrade', which was fair enough as the standard of the room was very good, but it did mean a little confusing trip from the lift, stairs and balcony to find our room. We ended up trying to get in someone else's room by mistake a couple of times!

The key system was very futuristic and a little daunting at first, but entirely safe.

The room was very clean and well appointed with a spacious bathroom and a refreshing shower. The bed was very comfortable with good views over the boulevard albeit from a small window. My only gripe with the room was that the air conditioning was quite noisy, plus the noise from outside was enough to keep me awake a while, particularly when the construction site opposite started up. A lot of this may have been due to jet-lag as my wife slept fine, but it wouldn't stop me booking again.

Much of the appeal of this hotel lies in it's rooftop pool and bar area, which is superb. Offering great views of the city and beyond, it's perfect for a few beers before going out of an evening or taking a cooling dip after a days sight seeing...

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main hotel, otherwise it's a little awkward accessing the adjacent apa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manc72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
1.1 km away
TeaHouse
TeaHouse
#18 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,115 reviews
0.0 km away
Queen Grand Boutique Hotel and Spa
0.8 km away
Jasmin Monument Hotel
Jasmin Monument Hotel
#47 of 267 in Phnom Penh
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
Double Leaf Boutique Hotel
#20 of 267 in Phnom Penh
427 reviews
0.5 km away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#17 of 267 in Phnom Penh
836 reviews
0.9 km away
Blue Lime
Blue Lime
#23 of 267 in Phnom Penh
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Grand Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Grand Boutique Hotel

Property: King Grand Boutique Hotel
Address: No 18 , Street 258 | Sang Kat Chak Tomuk , Khan Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 855, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 267 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,938 - ₹ 3,036
Hotel Class:3 star — King Grand Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
King Grand Boutique Hotel is a sanctuary for tourists and corporate guests who expect excellent hospitality and friendly service. Whether you're on business or pleasure, the King Grand Boutique Hotel is a luxurious haven, elegantly furnished to provide you with a comfortable stay. You can enjoy a wide range of facilities and traditional Cambodian hospitality in King Grand Boutique Hotel. Experience ultimate luxury and bask in the splendor of elegance at the King Grand Boutique Hotel, the perfect base to explore the legendary Phnom Penh City and undiscovered treasures in Cambodia. It is located in the heart of the city where you can walk to anywhere in a minute. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your King Grand Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing