We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Classy Luxury” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Safran La Suite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Safran La Suite
Ranked #51 of 273 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Classy Luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

Lovely boutique hotel, well positioned behind Wat Lanka and the Independence Monument. Staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent - baguettes, jams, eggs, noodles and fruit platters. Beaut pool which was much appreciated in the hot weather, and a lovely shaded sitting area in which to relax after sightseeing. Rooms were big and nicely decorated. Bathrooms also spacious, although the posh showers were beginning to show some wear (one room had a tap that fell off and in another the hand held nozzle wouldn't stay put). There was one lap top computer available with good internet connection, which was free for guests to use.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are cooler - up a level on the second floor is considerably hotter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    48
    14
    13
    10
See reviews for
29
73
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
229 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We spent one night in the hotel as we were arriving at 6pm and had to take a taxi to the Cardamom mountains the day after for a 4 hour ride. We choose the hotel mainly because of the restaurant attached so we have dinner immediately after check in.

It was a very good choice as we had a lovely dinner in the open air restaurant. We ordered Amok and Khmer fondue and for our son noodles with chicken. All three were delicious but specifically the Khmer fondue and noodles were really good. Both had a good combination of herbs, spices and sauce to give the dishes a delicious flavour. I was really impressed and would recommend this place to anyone.

The room was basic but designed nicely. It is Cambodia and we do not expect 5 star rooms when paying only little. The deluxe room had a nice balcony overlooking the pool and the garden. There was enough space for an extra bed for our son. The room was clean, they had some lovely lamps next to the bed. There were tea mking facilities, a cabinet and a spacious bathroom with walk in shower and enough towels for the three of us.

Staff were very helpfull. When we came down for a drink after we put our son to put, the restaurant was already closed (it was about 9.30pm) but they immediately served us drinks at the pool. When some guests arrived a bit later they even lit up the restaurant again and served dinner.

Room Tip: The rooms with balcony are the best, they have a lot of light and overlook the pool/garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariken v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Really depends on what you're looking for. I was here on business for about 2 weeks.

Location- If you're spending more than say 4 days, you would want good options to eat and drink closeby. La Safran is located very close to the Independence monument and the river side is a 20 min walk away or 5 mins by tuk-tuk.

Helpful staff- They have a bunch of eager helpful staff- they helped me sort out my tuk-tuks and bus tickets to Siem Reap over the weekend. They speak English reasonably well so no problems there.

Balcony- If you want a room with a balcony, where you can sit relax, enjoy the morning and the evening, this is a good option.
They also have a small library of sorts downstairs where you can just grab a book and laze on the couch in the evenings. There's also a small pool if you feel like relaxing in it, it's quite small you can't really 'swim-swim' but quite a few tourists enjoy what I'd call 'soaking up some water and then some sun' by the pool.

Breakfast is reasonably ok with reasonable options-fruit and coffee, rice noodles with chicken soup, croissant, pain au chocolate, omlette.(I don't remember all of it exactly but broadly this is what I recall) I had it everyday for 2 weeks so no problems there.

From my experience, for a solo traveler or a couple traveling to Phnom Penh, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keats S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

I stayed 4 nights at the Le Safran La Suite Hotel and thought it was really nice when I arrived. The pool is small but clean and the hotel looked stylish, new and charming. The guys at the reception are very friendly, by welcoming and helpful. They organised me a bus and helped me with all questions and queries.
BUT: I booked the room for $38 per night, which is the lowest category they have. The rooms for $38 don't have windows!!! When I came into my room I thought it was only this room which had no window and asked to be moved to another room, however, all rooms in this category don't have windows upand unless you are willing to up the budget by $7 per night to get a room in the higher category this is what you get. I think $38 for a very minimalistic room with no window is a rather steep price.
Do not get your washing done at this hotel. I payed an astronomical price of almost $20 for a couple of t-shirts, some socks and underwear.... $20??? Really?
I do agree as well with a previous reviewer regarding the breakfast. It's just ok but really not great.

I did however very much enjoy the pool and the peacefulness of this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MS_travelingasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

The hotel has a nice range of food and drinks in the restaurant but no cocktails - which would be nice around the pool ! The rooms in hospital white style capped minimalistic are spacious and bright ! The asset of this hotel is the staff which is not qualified but always smiling what makes my day ! Pool is small and clean !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dorothea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0.1 km away
Villa Langka
Villa Langka
#25 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.3 km away
Anise Hotel
Anise Hotel
#26 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
0.4 km away
The Kabiki
The Kabiki
#18 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
King Grand Suites Boutique Hotel II
0.7 km away
Balconitel Boutique Hotel
Balconitel Boutique Hotel
#42 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 km away
Skyline Boutique Hotel
Skyline Boutique Hotel
#65 of 273 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Safran La Suite? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Safran La Suite

Property: Le Safran La Suite
Address: #4 street 282 | Boeung Keng Kang I, Phnom Penh Cambodia, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 273 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,933 - ₹ 4,092
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Safran La Suite 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Le Safran La Suite Hotel-Restaurant. Change of ownership since June 2011 and Designed by a French interior architect.The concept is to join two quality services. On one side, the restaurant (Le Safran) where you will enjoy original and delicate Khmer food as well as French dishes, both cooked by an experienced French-Khmer chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Le Safran La Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing