We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quality hostel with amazing staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great quality hostel with amazing staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed for two nights at The Mad Mobkey and really glad we did because the staff were excellent and helped us so much with our Vietnam visa and travel plans, as well as hiring a very cheap motorbike for the day. The hostel has a very cool bar/cafe where you can eat/drink, and though it's not the cheapest it has a great vibe. The location seemed like it was in the middle of nowhere but you can walk to a main street where there are more restaurants etc. Cool murals on the wall too!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FleeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam293925, Manager at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your review, it really helps us and is much appreciated. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at The Mad Monkey and we are looking forward to hosting you again. Have a great time on your travels! Love from the team at The Mad Monkey! xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    386
    134
    47
    26
See reviews for
15
242
427
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have nothing bad to say, this place is perfect. Good value for money, the staff is the friendliest and nicest EVER and I just love them! I've been there 2 times in one month, and I was so sad to leave this wonderful place!

Beds in the dorms are comfy, but if you can choose, don't take a top berth, it can be noisy so you feel bad at night when you move...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam293925, Manager at Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for your review, it really helps us and is much appreciated. We are very happy that you enjoyed your time at The Mad Monkey and we are looking forward to hosting you again. Have a great time on your travels! Love from the team at The Mad Monkey! xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I'm always reticent about staying in places with wacky names as besides anything else I feel a bit foolish asking the taxi/tuk tuk driver if they "know where the The Mad Monkey is?", thankfully none of the local drivers are wagish enough to crack a joke about a zoo or veternarians but god help them if they ever open a branch in London or New York. The other reason I tend to steer clear is because sometimes weirdly named accomodation can attract more than it's fair share of weird people.

However I needn't of worried, The Mad Monkey is a stylish and chic setup hidden away in one of the smart parts of Phnom Penh, as everyone else has stated, the staff are all very efficient, friendly and welcoming, check in took no time at all and I was thoroughly impressed with the quality of the private room I had booked, nice clean comtemporary decoration and soft furnishings and even flower petals on my bed! Ahh.

Everyone else staying there seemed friendly and considerate, no banging doors or shrieking drunks to be heard. The signage and information was done in a light hearted and humourous manner and the the rooftop bar/terrace is top quality. The food in the downstairs cafe/bar looks to be on the expensive side but the portions are large by SE Asian standards and of good quality (a decent cup of coffee at last).

I was only there one night as I was passing through but I'd stop there when I'm next in town. Recommeded.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

The other reviews pretty much said it all...very friendly staff, clean dorm (HUGE beds) and good food. The staff comes in everyday and tidy's up the room and makes the beds. The food although a little more expensive (ie $2.50 for breakfast instead of $1) is WELL worth it...it comes out gourmet style and is really tasty. Only downside is it is a little far from the center of town but it's only like $1 tuk-tuk ride and MM has a little fleet of drivers always waiting and ready. Would definitely stay here again if I return to PP!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelyn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Our first time in Cambodia and we couldn't have received a better welcome to the country than by the team at the Mad Monkey. The energetic & enthusiastic staff made us feel special & at home immediately and nothing was too much trouble. The owners & staff were very knowledgeable & helped us plan our trip to get the most out of our time in Cambodia. Our ensuite room was spacious, very clean and the complimentary bottles of water a nice touch. The location is perfect and only a 15 min walk to the water front/palace etc. We ate in the restaurant every day & the choice & quality of food excellent, same goes for the cocktails! Would definitely recommend this place and will certainly return!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank royalquarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
2.9 km away
Eighty8 Backpackers
Eighty8 Backpackers
#6 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
1.4 km away
SLA Boutique Hostel
SLA Boutique Hostel
#4 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.6 km away
Billabong Hotel & Hostel
Billabong Hotel & Hostel
#3 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Lovely Jubbly Villa
Lovely Jubbly Villa
#20 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.2 km away
One Up - Banana Hotel
One Up - Banana Hotel
#1 of 333 in Phnom Penh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 km away
Top Banana Guesthouse
Top Banana Guesthouse
#7 of 210 in Phnom Penh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh

Property: Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh
Address: Street 302, Building 26, Phnom Penh BKK1, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Phnom Penh
Price range (per night): ₹ 847 - ₹ 1,108
Hotel Class:3 star — Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mad Monkey Phnom Penh - the original Mad Monkey! This is the best place to meet people and experience Phnom Penh. We can help you arrange tours, travel, visas, you name it. We're also the perfect home base for your adventures. Relax by our refreshing swimming pool (a must in the Cambodian heat) and enjoy our poolside bar. Eat a filling and delicious meal in our restaurant with new backpacker friends from around the world. Upstairs in our Rooftop Bar we have new events on every night of the week. We can't wait to meet you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Mad Monkey Hostel Phnom Penh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mad Monkey Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing