We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mid-Range Hotel. Perfect for Cyclists and Motorcyclists”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Golden House International
Ranked #75 of 277 Hotels in Phnom Penh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Don't be put off by the garish red and gold Chinese style exterior. This is an actually an excellent mid-range hotel bang in the middle of Phnom Penh's main tourist area near the riverfront. The rooms have everything that you would get in many 4 star hotels yet you pay only $25. The receptionist was among the most helpful and friendly that I have ever encountered in any country. Most useful for me was that they have a large secure underground garage which is why they are used by many cycling and motorcycling tours. I will gladly stay there again on my next visit to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johankusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 128 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

I live in Phnom Penh, but wanted to stay away from home due to a wedding on my block. A recent traveller had recommended the Golden House, but I was a little concerned because it is on Street 136 amidst a number of girlie bars as other have noted. I could have gone for a cheaper option, but at $25 this was surprisingly lovely. The room was not big, but very modern, flat screen TV, very nice linens, large bathroom, small fridge, closet, etc. I love it that they have an elevator....NOT common! Aircon worked just fine. Yes, the staff was very, very friendly. I didn't try the restaurant or bar, unfortunately. My wifi signal was pretty weak which is really my only complaint. I'm sure it depends on where you are located in the hotel. I was able to get online with about one bar of connectivity. This may be something they can improve. It is a very convenient location otherwise, quick walk to the riverfront, tons of restaurants, Street 130 is just one over and has restaurants like Lemongrass, the Empire, Chinese Noodle House, Sary's, etc. On the otherside is Street 144 with Kandal Market and also Local 2, Velkommen Inn....not to mention every restaurant along the river. Finding transportation is just not an issue this area is heavily populated with tuk tuks and moto-dups. The hotel also looked set up to handle other travel request, bus tickets, etc.

Room Tip: I would probably not opt for a room facing the street unless it is higher up in the building. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mowgli415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Hotel is excellent value. Located in an entertainment area and a very short walk to the river. Many restaurants and bars nearby serving great food and reasonably priced drinks. Bathroom was well provisioned with toiletries however no shower curtain around shower located over full size bath. Floor tended to get wet but dried quickly. Reception staff really friendly and went out of their way to assist and attended to any of our requests speedily with a smile on their faces. When we arrived lift was under repair but while we were filling out check in details staff had taken bags to room. Breakfast was substantial and served in comfortable chairs near reception area rather than in a dining room.
Unable to fault hotel and will certainly stay at this hotel on our next visit to this wonderful city.

Room Tip: Book in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank crocnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millan L, General Manager at Golden House International, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Dear all,

On behalf of Golden House staffs and me personally would like to say very big thanks to all guests who come to stay @ Golden House, especially all guest who have commend us in Tripadvisor, which we all really appreciated. Take this time i wish you all have Great Health, Great Luck, Great Life with Great of Success. We all promise to do our utmost to keep our standard that you all like and we all hope very much to see and serve you all again in the upcoming future soon. My Home is Your Home


Millan
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

Good mid range hotel with all the basic facilities. Excellent location just one block back from the river and close to many restaurants, bars and sights. Extremely pleasant and knowledgible staff who were happy to go the extra mile, e.g. the receptionist went down personally to the boat dock to check for me whether the boat to Siem Reap was actually operating. Very good for booking travel and arranging visas and do not appear to charge any mark up.

Room Tip: Some street noise (although nothing too serious), hence higher floors and/or rooms towards the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brazil_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The hotel was really accomodating before we even arrived! We arrived in Phnom Penh at 8 o'clock in the morning and I e-mailed to ask if we could leave our bags and maybe use a shower but they allowed us to check in as soon as we arrived at no extra cost - brilliant!

The room was of a decent size (we had an extra single bed in ours) and clean. The bathroom was also good but the lack of a shower curtain did mean water got on the floor and you had to be very careful when walking on the tiled floors (small niggle). The only disadvantage was that we looked over the street and there are some noisy bars below and across the road. On one night it prevented us from going to sleep (some truly awful country and western karaoke) but the rest of the nights we were so tired from sightseeing we fell asleep straight away! Breakfast was lovely and fresh with rocket fuel coffee!

The hotel is in a good location near the river and plenty of bars and restaurants and other sights. Tuk-tuks are plentiful nearby as well.

Reception were very helpful with booking trips and coach seats and allowed us to pay for everything all at once at the end of our stay rather than having to take cash out of the bank all the time.

Really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizbuff26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Phnom Penh hotels
0 km away
Lux Riverside Hotel & Apartments
0.1 km away
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
Indochine 2 Hotel & Restaurant
#91 of 277 in Phnom Penh
202 reviews
0.1 km away
Le Grand Mekong
Le Grand Mekong
#107 of 277 in Phnom Penh
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Vacation Boutique Hotel
Vacation Boutique Hotel
#29 of 277 in Phnom Penh
169 reviews
0.3 km away
Angkor International Hotel
Angkor International Hotel
#60 of 277 in Phnom Penh
605 reviews
0.5 km away
Silver River Hotel
Silver River Hotel
#54 of 277 in Phnom Penh
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden House International? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden House International

Address: #23-25 St.136 | Phsar Kandal 1 Daun Penh, Phnom Penh 12204, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Phnom Penh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Phnom Penh
#22 Best Value Hotel in Phnom Penh
Price Range: ₹ 2,314 - ₹ 2,764 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden House International 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden House International Hotel is a brand new hotel in the heart of Asia's most exciting city, Phnom Penh, Cambodia. The hotel soars above the famous Street 136 bustling with colorful restaurants, cafes, bars and nightclubs. It affords spectacular views across Cambodia's two rivers; the mighty Mekong and the mysterious Tonle Sap. Completed in March 2010, Golden House International Hotel was built with great attention to detail using the highest quality fittings and attention to detail. We offer a unique combination of Western and Khmer hospitality and decor. From the impressive street entrance leading up to the graceful lobby, to the well-appointed bedrooms and the private garden area. Golden House International Hotel offers second-to-none facilities for tourists discovering the delights and secrets of Cambodia's capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Golden House International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden House International Hotel Phnom Penh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing