We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheapest private rooms in Brunei - B$38 - B$45 a night. Doubles as an hourly hotel - not for the judgmental!”
Review of KHS Resthouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bandar Seri Begawan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
KHS Resthouse
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the KH Soon as an alternative to staying in seperate dorm beds down the street. We paid B$45 a night for an enormous room with a private Western bathroom, nice AC, and a hot shower. There was no TV but there was a table and a desk. Shared bathrooms are all of the "squat" variety. The best thing about the place is the location: 2 blocks from the central bus station, 6 blocks from the mosque and the mall, 2 blocks from a decent dry market, and just a five minute walk from the busy waterfront. The staff were really nice and helpful and there is a great tourist office downstairs. Sundays are "fun days" here, so the hotel is used on an hourly basis until 3 pm that day. It's often used hourly by the numerous "ladies of the night" that congregate across the street or in the lobby, so if you're put off by that kind of thing you'll want to avoid the place. No wifi available. Some info about the city: busses 37, 38, and 39 will take you to the Labuan ferry pier. Bus 01 will take you to the Sultan Ali mosque up the way or the large shopping mall up the highway from it. River taxis cost only $1 per person to cross to the floating town on the other side of the river (a must see). Pretty amazing little town if you've got a few days to explore it.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GlobalVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

49 - 53 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2012

if you search an accomodation right in the city center, in front of the bus terminal and with a walking distance to the highlights of the city here you go. this hotel has huuuge rooms but empty, old and quite dirty... the bathrooms are very basic and in the corridor. forget internet, they don't have it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

The KH Soon Guesthouse is the cheapest place in BSB - keep that in mind. If you just want a place for the night and are on a budget, this place is just about ok. The rooms are very big and sort of clean. The whole place is sort of falling apart though. Plaster is falling from the wall, dirty spots on the wall, old furniture. The private bathrooms are just about tolerable - just!! Old cigarette butts are littered on the floor in the hallways, the air con is just barely and very noisily working. Windows don''t really close and have probably not been cleaned it a decade. Some rooms have a funny smell. Bottom line: Just barely acceptable, but if you are on a budget you do not have much choice.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GermanTourist_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2010

My family together with our 23month girl arrived Brunei by ferry and planned top take the bus to B.S.B. But after being influenced by cab drivers that the bus would arrived so soon, we were persuaded to take the cab to Pekan Muara where there were plenty of bus to B.S.B. That cost us $5 for the cab and $1/pax for the bus ride to B.S.B. Bus ride took about 40mins and upon reaching the terminal of B.S.B we decided to look for hotels nearby. Already searched online but decided not to book in advance. After a few rounds the town, the locals recommended this resthouse right beside the terminal.

The resthouse is on the 3 floor by stairs but it didnt affect us as we only have our backpacks. The receptionist showed us the room first before giving us the key as we paid in full.

Overall, the room is spacious except no carpets and no lights in the toilet attached. As it was only a place to overnight it was quite a cash saver as it has aircon and water-heater available. After a whole day out, all of us slept like a baby. :P

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MyleeSter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Me and my husband stayed here for two nights at the end of october. We only had a short stay in Brunei and needed the cheapest possible bed. This was second cheapest, the absolute cheapest being the youth hostel but they only have seperate male and female dorms, so no good for a couple.
Getting into Brunei city from the airport is a nightmare - you have the choice of a bus for $1 or a taxi for $25 - obviously we decided to take the bus. We waited for over an hour for the bus and apparantly a lot of them don't bother stopping at the airport. Buses stop running at 6pm so if you arrive after that, a taxi is your only choice.
Anyway, the Rest House is very close to the main bus terminal in the city where all the buses stop - just a two or three minute walk. Its also extremely close to the Mosque and a row of shops/restaurants.
The Rest House is on the second and third floor of the building - be warned if you have heavy cases, you will be lugging them up flights of stairs!
I made my reservation with the hostel by phone as I got no response to email. When we arrived to check in, the lady was friendly and did indeed have a record of my reservation.
We had a double room with private bathroom, but sadly the only good thing going for it was the size of the room. It was large, having a double plus a single bed in it.
The attached bathroom had a western style toilet, shower and sink. It was quite small, and always smelled of urine. There was a leaky tap which constantly dripped on the floor, and in the morning when I got up there was no water coming out of the sink tap - but it was working again come the afternoon.
The room curtains were ripped and had holes in them. The mattresses were well worn and too soft - random lumps/bumps/and dips were everywhere. Both me and my husband woke up each morning with back and neck pain. The pillows are just foam pads. The sheets are not big enough for the beds - they are knotted at the corners as a way of turning flat sheets into fitted sheets but they still do not fit - unless you lie dead still for the whole night you will wake up on the bare mattress as the sheet will have come loose.
The door to the room lead to the main corridor where the lights are on all night - we had to lay a towel at the base of the door to keep out the glaring light that streamed in. And these lights were not on during the evening when it was dark and you had to look right up close to your door handle to see where the keyhole was...
But the staff were friendly and its in a good location - even if there are "ladies of the night" hanging around the front door....
Stay here if money is the absolute deciding factor as it's about the cheapest bed you'll get - but if you can afford more, it's worth paying the extra. I've stayed in many hostels around the world and all have had a cleaner bathroom than here.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EssleyJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bandar Seri Begawan hotels
0.0 km away
The Brunei Hotel
The Brunei Hotel
#4 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
372 reviews
0.4 km away
The Capital Residence Suites
The Capital Residence Suites
#2 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
283 reviews
0.4 km away
Jubilee Hotel
Jubilee Hotel
#7 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
Radisson Hotel Brunei Darussalam
#1 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
1,156 reviews
3.3 km away
Apek Utama Hotel
Apek Utama Hotel
#17 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
29 reviews
1.4 km away
Badi'ah Hotel
Badi'ah Hotel
#3 of 20 in Bandar Seri Begawan
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KHS Resthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KHS Resthouse

Address: Kiau Lian Building | 140 Jalan Pemancha, Bandar Seri Begawan BS8811, Brunei Darussalam
Region: Brunei Darussalam > Brunei-Muara District > Bandar Seri Begawan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Bandar Seri Begawan
Price Range: ₹ 977 - ₹ 1,173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
k.h. Soon Resthouse Hotel Bandar Seri Begawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing