We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boat trip away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MerPerle Hon Tam Resort
Ranked #31 of 211 Hotels in Nha Trang
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at this eco green resort for 6 nights. Every guest have their own bungalow with lovely view of the sea. The bungalow had a nice room with a big bed, TV and access to the terrace. The bathroom had both a tub (witch you really not use since its so warm) and a shower with special shower heads. Not so smart since they did not give you much water, but maybe thats eco green! In front of the toilet they also had some small stones, that you easily could stumble in on your way out!
They had small electric cars on the iceland that brought you around if you wanted, but it was much nicer to walk down to the restaurant and swimming pool.You passed other bungalows and lovely gardens with flowers and trees. The breakfast was ok, but nothing special. All the , bread was sweet, and beside that they had lots of cakes and dessert for breakfast. We only ate lunch since the food was not very exciting. Take a Caesar salad for lunch, and go to town for the really good meal! The boat trip to the mainland takes 10 min. and leaves every hour. This trip is free, but from Hon Tam Pier you have to take a taxi into town, and that you had to pay your self. Being a first class hotel they should consider having a shuttle bus from the pier as well.
Their swimming pool, and the surroundings around are our best experience of Hon Tam. Beautiful water, nice sun chairs, and the white beach below to rest your eyes on. It could not be more relaxing and tranquil!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for MerPerle Hon Tam Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 127 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed at Hon Tam Resort for 5 days in the premium bugalow. This was our last destination of our honeyoon to relax but all I can say is that we have mixed feelings about this resort.

We arrived at our room 1201 and the view was amazing. The room itself was spacious with plenty of natural lighting. We had our own outdoor seating and a pond on the other side. The outdoor bathroom looked unreal with a marble tub and tropical plants around a rain shower.

The beach looked beautiful with white soft sand and a romantic dinner was set for us on the beach at night time. It was lovely - we were sitting underneath an arched marquee decorated with roses, close to the ocean.

Room service was great but english is very limited - they got my husband's order wrong but nice food.

Cons
- Whilst the idea of an outdoor bathroom is great - its not so great when you're getting eaten alive by mosquitoes. Also you might get a bit conscious when using the toilet.
- Ask for bug spray and bring strong insect repellent as there is mosquitoes - even in the room.
- Hot water always runs out. Enough for only one person to take a shower then you have to wait until it heats up again. Impossible to take a bath as the hot water will only fill about 1/4 of the bathtub.
- No wi-fi in our room even though their website says that it’s accessible.
- Pool at the bungalow area was not clean - maybe it's due to the weather not being warm enough and guests not using the pool as often. However on the entertainment side, their pool was sparkling. -- No one at the pool bar to serve/make drinks.
- Our room seemed to be close to the staff's headquarters/hang out - constant chitchatting among the staff and the gardeners right infront of our villa.

We chose this resort because of the poolside bar and everything looked great but were left disappointed due to the noise made by staff and the bar unmanned. Weather did not hold up well with it being too windy and cool to swim quite often but of course this is out of their control.

Overall, we loved the room and tranquillity (sometimes) of the area, being a resort off a seclued island and the pools but would not return to this resort not unless some of the issues outlined were addressed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Anika1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed in Hon Tam for 2 weeks for 2012 NY.
Let me describe pros and cons to show you the real picture:
Pros:
- Yes, it is the separate island.
If you ever dreamt about island vacation, here you get it.
- The beach is really nice
White sand, warm sea.
- Fitness room + kayaking, tennis and golf
There are few facilities that can allow you to make your stay healthier
- Vinperland
There is popular Vietnamese Aqua park nearby. It's worth visiting.
Cons:
- There are lots of moskitos and other species - like frogs,
We bought few anti mosquito tools, but they did not help. Through all these 2 weeks we were attacked by mosquitos at night
- There is no enough warm water to fill in the bath
We really wanted to take bath, but that was not possible. Warm water was enouth just for 1/3 of bath
- The conditioner was not working
Even though, there was no specific need to use air con, we checked and it did not work.
- Wi-fi speed was not acceptable
If you like watching streaming video, forget it at Hon tam. Internet speed was as low as 200 kb/sec.

Other issues:
If you want to go to the city, first to you have take the boat (it goes according to timetable till 11 p.m.) it takes about 15 minutes and it's free. After the boat, rent the taxi - another 7-10 minutes and around 80-100 K dongs - ~$ 5 for the trip to the center of Nha Trang.

What was really not okay - is the weather. If it was sunny, we could forget about all other issues. But it was windy and raining through all two weeks of our stay.
You should know, that with such a weather, there is nothing to do on the island - nor laying on the sun, nor swimming - it's too cold.
Also be ready to see many Russians here. We were surprised, but 90 % of visitors of this hotel come from Russia - Vladivostok, Khabarovsk and other eastern Russia cities. They are normal people, but be ready - anyway.

Some travellers say that Nha Trang is very nice place for night life. Maybe. There are lots of facilities to visit.
We looked for nice place to stay. And night clubs were out of scope.

My recommendation for travellers to Vietnam - go to Phan Tiet. We stayed in Phan Tiet during our first visit to Vietnam in 2009 and it was lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ni404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This place was amazing. We were there before the hotel opened. We stayed in one of the cabins on the top of the hill. The service was great, the food was great, and the rooms were very clean. There was nothing negative to say about Hon Tam. It was also very easy to get back and forth between the mainland and the private island where Hon Tam is located.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kk1750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Amazing location surrounded by fantastic trees,tropical flowers ans a superb private beach.
The pool is absolutly amazing,make part of the beautifull environment.A place to discover at 7mn Boat ride from Nha Trang...

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jesus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nha Trang hotels
8.7 km away
Sheraton Nha Trang Hotel and Spa
22.0 km away
L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay
L'Alyana Villas Ninh Van Bay
#6 of 211 in Nha Trang
706 reviews
14.5 km away
Fusion Resort Nha Trang
Fusion Resort Nha Trang
#9 of 211 in Nha Trang
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
InterContinental Nha Trang
InterContinental Nha Trang
#7 of 211 in Nha Trang
959 reviews
296.8 km away
Mia Resort Nha Trang
Mia Resort Nha Trang
#1 of 211 in Nha Trang
1,302 reviews
12.9 km away
Amiana Resort
Amiana Resort
#10 of 211 in Nha Trang
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MerPerle Hon Tam Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MerPerle Hon Tam Resort

Address: Hon Tam island, Nha Trang, Vietnam (Formerly Hon Tam Resort & Residences)
Region: Vietnam > Khanh Hoa Province > Nha Trang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Nha Trang
#26 Luxury Hotel in Nha Trang
#28 Spa Hotel in Nha Trang
Price Range: ₹ 7,516 - ₹ 13,041 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — MerPerle Hon Tam Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locating on an isolated island away from the mainland only 20 minutes by canoe, MerPerle Hon Tam Resort is constantly comforted by crystal clear seawater all year. Our resort is away from the noise of the city. At Hon Tam, there is only the sound of waves pounding the shore, the sound of birds chirping daily, and the sound of winds caressing the coconut palms that "bother" you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your MerPerle Hon Tam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hon Tam Hotel Nha Trang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing