We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
137
82
25
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
82
25
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air con budget hotel hot water friendly hotel side street rooms are large fruit central location great value for money city tour top floor included breakfast the river tours vietnam channels motorcycle
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We booked 2 nights in Waterland Hotel through Agoda, however was kinda surprised that the room is nothing like what was shown in the photos. Our room was at the very top - 5th floor? and there was no lift. It was not a problem though as I do not mind climbing the stairs. But the room next to ours was empty, with only an altar, which I find kind of weird. Not implying there was any paranormal activity, but the light (only) in our room turned off by itself - twice - we just shrugged it off. Maybe the fuse is old?

In terms of cleanliness, I find it all right. It was rainy and muddy in Hué when we were there so we don't expect our room to be spotless. On our first night, I found a centipede under the bed covers (no idea where it came from). Brought it downstairs to the guy at the reception area, he just threw it in the bin and didn't say anything (?!) Small matter anyway.

I think it's only the room at the very top that looks nothing like what the hotel promoted in their website. I came across another review of our hotel in a couple's travel blog, and from the pictures, they stayed in our room too. Hence, my only concern is, is that room for guests who booked through Agoda or any other site at a discounted rate? If so, I think it is only fair if they put up photos as not to deceive future guests who are comparing hotels via the internet. I took a peek into the rooms (room service/cleaning left the doors open) as I was making my way downstairs and they all look similar to the photos. I am just pointing this out as we stayed in cheaper hotels around Vietnam (booked through Agoda too), even in Hanoi, yet there was no 'double standard' when it comes to allocation of rooms.

Service wise, people there are friendly. We booked our tour to the Emperor's Tomb via the hotel. Even though it was really last minute, they managed to secure spots for us.

Breakfast served in the hotel is decent. Hotel is located in an alley which is not too bad, if it was not raining every day (road gets muddy and filled with puddles). Nevertheless, it is good location, away from traffic noise yet close to the backpackers' area.

The cab they arranged for us from the hotel to the train station refused to take the (much shorter) route we wanted to use to the station, used a longer route instead!

Plus point - we were on the top floor and can access the rooftop any time. Too bad it was so wet in Hué during our visit

Room tip: There is only a flight of stairs, so try asking for a room at the lower floors if you are not much of a stairs climber
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank royaltylites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

we had a very short stay in the hotel but we were served warmly by the staff, especially Mr Vu the manager. We requested a last minit pick up fr the train station and they came to wait for us for hours caused our train was delayed. the reception is excellent, room is spacious and clean, however the bed is abit hard and springy. its definitely a great for value place. however, we hope the breakfast menu can be improved, at least with some local fruits. otherwise is excellent

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle_pang007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We booked this hotel by the recommandations from other people we met in Hanoi. After we get in Hue by train, they arranged the car to pick us up at the train station for free. The hotel is small but very warmly service. We always see the smiles from them and served some drink when we sit down on the lobby or on the public computer. Our room was big and have window, comfortable bed and very clean. Breakfast was very good served by the staff who speaks English not very well. The location was not very good, enough convenient to reach all the most things.
In general, that's our great stay and highly appreciate the service at this hotel. The first choice for my hotel in Hue if I have a chance to come back.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viotin_alexandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Under our round trip in Vietnam, we stayed at the Waterland Hotel for 2 days 1 night. When we arrived at the residence we were welcomed right a way by the staff and given fresh ginger tea. Afterward we were taken to our room (Deluxe room - Double bed) which was quite good, spacious, clean (even though there were a couple of small stains and holes in the sheets) and bright with windows located beside the bed. Breakfast was alright, you are given 5 different (but very similar) options. The staff was just amazing, the women working at the desk were extremely friendly and always offered to help, especially when we had to call our travel agency !! The location was good too, despite the fact that the hotel is located in a small alley next to two larger roads it is only a 5 min walk from the center. Finally, internet is not a problem you can either choose to bring your own laptop and surf on the net in your room or in the lobby or use one of the hotels own pcs.

Room tip: Deluxe rooms - double bed on the left side of the hall are good !
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dani_Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We (4) stayed there for 2 nights in family room. The main entrance and lobby gave us an impression that it is just another simple budget hotel. However the room is clean, big and comfortable. The staff are very friendly and serve you water when we arrived and whenever you are using Internet at lobby. Even it is just a cup of water but you feel you are honorable guest here. They also gave us all tour information and location of vegetarian restaurant after checked in, good job! Tks !!

Date of stay: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MKYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews