We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable and affordable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue River Hotel
Ranked #107 of 444 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Newcastle
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfortable and affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We had a fairly comfortable stay at Blue River. Rooms are spacious enough with mini bar and television and comfortable bed and a/c only down fall for us was that the shower never ran warm otherwise good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    265
    84
    30
    31
See reviews for
88
297
115
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Clean, pleasant facilities -- tv, good bed, renovated bath, ac, tasty omelette and pho -- provide a very nice experience. Add the sound of music as owner Thuy practices her piano about 10:30 am as well as terrific staff and service and the Blue River becomes something special. That service included arranging a wonderful 3-day Mekong Delta tour, a personal walk from the hotel to Ben Thanh market, and a motorbike ride to the park by Notre Dame Cathedral for a supper of street food. Thank you Dung!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qinhuangdao, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This hotel is in a side street of the backpacker district. There is rooms to the alley on the front and back side, with a view to the outside wall of the neighboring building. I would recommend the book to the front room, even if the slightly more expensive. The rooms are spartan, but with a big giant flat screen and pay tv channels. The rooms are clean and the bed linen can be changed daily. Breakfast is also included, modest,but with a very tasty homemade jam. The staff is very helpful and friendly. disadvantage for older ones. There is no elevator available. also keep in mind when booking out in what currency (dong or usd) you want to pay the bill.
All in all, a hotel where you can easily spend a few nights.

Room Tip: rooms to the alley, even with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank china-sallozzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Though probably a bit more expensive than other hotels in the backpacker area, it is well worth to stay there. Clean and really comfy bed, at least in the room on the top floor, BUT it is quite a hike up there!
We booked two tours with them as well: Cu Chi Tunnels - operated by a really good company; however we were quite disappointed with the 1 day Mekong Tour - operating company was bad and the trip in general was ridiculous. (If we went again, we would try to do it independently and stay for 2-3 days). The hotel staff handled our complaints about the tour quite competent and got even got us a discount. Breakfast was ok, but not over the top.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathijori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This mini hotel is in one of the few little lanes off Pham Ngu Lao St that are quiet particularly as it is in close proximity to Bui Vien St which is the heart of the backpacker district. It is newly renovated and the rooms all have en suite. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are clean and well appointed. There is ample hot water, good air conditioning and cable TV. I stayed in four rooms in this hotel as I moved in and out of HCMC and I think I prefer the rooms at the back of the hotel. The staff all speak good English and are incredibly keen to make sure that their guests are happy. The breakfasts are fine with juice, eggs, baguette, fruit, tea or coffee. When I was living in HCMC, this mini hotel was one that I recommended to friends who were coming to visit so I am well pleased that it lived up to my expectations.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are cheaper, quieter and bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craigpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 km away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#68 of 444 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.3 km away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#71 of 444 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.1 km away
Nguyen Khang Hotel
Nguyen Khang Hotel
#103 of 444 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#24 of 444 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 km away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#59 of 444 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 km away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#33 of 444 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River Hotel

Property: Blue River Hotel
Address: 283/2C Pham Ngu Lao Street, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#41 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#52 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,225 - ₹ 2,111
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue River Hotel is a newly built and refurbished hotel which combine Vietnamese hospitality with international and welcome atmosphere. All room offer a choice of queen or twin beds, window with nice view, air conditioner, flat screen LCD TV, free wifi, in-room safe, private bathroom, hair dryer.Whilst the room rate is budget, the facilities are clean and definitely comfortable, with a light breakfast included and friendly staff who are always willing to go the extra mile to help with tour bookings, hire cars, taxi’s and any other help you may require.Every room has a private bathroom, hair dryer, mini-bar, air conditioner, flat screen LCD TV with international channels, wireless internet access, IDD telephone and in-room safe.Blue River Hotel take pride in pampering our guests with service such as safe deposit box, luggage storage, laudry, DVD players as request and airport pickup & transfer service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Blue River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue River
Blue River Hotel Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing